We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great drinks, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chillerz Bar and Grille - CLOSED

Chillerz Bar and Grille
Cuisines: Bar, Central American, Costa Rican, American, Latin, Seafood, Pub, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great drinks, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stopped here on our recent trip to Tamarindo. The happy hour specials were great - we ordered a variety of drinks and everyone seemed to be happy with theirs! Great appetizers, very fresh. For dinner I had the mahimahi and it was one of the better dishes I had during our stay! We tried to take advantage of the seafood while there and this seemed like the best mahimahi dish I encountered. The prices are reasonable, good atmosphere and great service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OzarkSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my most favorites spots in Tamarindo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently vacationed in Tamarindo and was introduced to Chillerz through a friend living in the city. It quickly became one of my most favorite places in town - the food was amazing, the drinks were plentiful, and the staff was friendly!! By the end of the trip, Chillerz felt like my own neighborhood bar and I will be sad that I won't be able to stop in again soon. Guess I need to plan another trip so I can go back!

It's definitely worth a trip in - day or night, for food or drinks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Great local spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed in Tamarindo for about a week, and became a regular at Chillerz for that time. The staff is really friendly and the food is great. Drinks are fairly priced and their blended drinks are delicious and refreshing on a hot day. Great place for night or day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our group of eight visited chillers for dinner. The restaurant was not very crowded. Half of our group got their dinner about 15 minutes before the others....we were told the kitchen was overwhelmed. When the rest of the dinners came they were cold! Certainly not worth the money or the time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went to this place at the advice of our surfing instructor. They had an advert at the entrance promoting $2 beers Fridays so we thought cool today is Friday.
We sat down and asked the waitress about the promo, she told us only until 9 pm. It was passed 9 of course. The meal was decent and when we asked for the bill we noticed one extra beer on our tab. We told them about it, they apologized and removed it. While leaving we looked again at the advert which clearly stated 8pm - 2am $2 beers. I pointed this out to our waitress, she looked at me and said, ok so you want the extra money you paid for the 5 beers back. I said forget it and left. A bunch of crooks!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillerz Bar and Grille also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing