We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bar in town!!! great atmosphere !!”

Surf Club Sports Bar
Ranked #4 of 11 Nightlife in Tamarindo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Surf Club Sports Bar in Playa Langosta has a family oriented atmosphere and is located within walking distance of the beach in beautiful Playa Langosta. Pool tables, ping pong, darts, horseshoes, board games and jigsaw puzzles are availble for your entertainment. A bar food menu is available and wi-fi is free. Multiple televisions as well as a big screen show sporting events and surf videos which you can view from comfortable rocking chairs. The Surf Club Sports Bar is open Thursday to Monday starting at 5pm, and during football season is open for all NFL games. Only cash is accepted and all ages are welcome.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bar in town!!! great atmosphere !!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The best bar in tamarindo, great atmosphere and nice owners! pool table, sports on tv and cold beer! what more can a guy ask for

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connorriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surfclub Sports bar is the BEST spot in Tamarindo!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I were so excited when we moved to Langosta and found Sportsbar around the corner. It is our favourite place to hang out in Tamarindo/Langosta by a MILE! Mike and Wendy the owners are totally awesome. Mike will challenge anyone to a game of ping pong. The drinks are cheap are their burgers are great! Its only a one minute walk from Langosta beach so after surfing you can enjoy a beer and some food while catching up on sports. They also have an awesome Sunday Funday where everyone comes and plays all of the bar games and bocci ball and horseshoes. If you're staying in Langosta, you MUST stop by Sportsbar !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank annietamarindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven Ct
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO CHILL”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Mike and Wendy are awesome. Rarely have bar owners in a foreign land, made an impression, where I think of how they're doing several years later. Four years ago, my wife and I spent our anniversary at Barceló across the street. Being huge Steeler fans we needed somewhere to watch the game on Sunday. This little hidden gem is awesome. The owners treated us like family from the first minute we walked in. We were back every day they were open after that. Just a fun and friendly place. You want to get a little crazy? .. go for it. You want to chill? Sit back and chill. I left them a signed limited edition Steeler hat. Hope it's still there. Can't wait to be back someday. John and Peggy .. Ct.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa langosta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A local favorite!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food, great drinks, great prices. Pool tables, ping pong, foosball and darts. Neighborhood atmosphere with very accommodating hosts!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmlangosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place rocks!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

What would make a bar that offers video games, pool, ping pong, good food with the nicest people we met during our travels?? A place that allowed my kids too! Thank you Alex, Mike and Wendy for the amazing hospitality and accommodating our family traveling crew! Pura Vida!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Club Sports Bar also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Surf Club Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing