We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Ranked #29 of 191 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Come and do us the honor to be part of our family.Enjoy a nice and a frendly relaxing experiance in harmony with our natural environment in front of the sea as much as possible..."LA PALAPA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent and atmosphere is very memorable. The service was slow but friendly. We loved the tapas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kashawink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    246
    76
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
twinsburg, ohio
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“breathttaking views great food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

dining in paradise- had breakfast and dinner -both were outstanding. The fish at dinner was incredible and so was the beef tenderloin. They actually cooked fish that some guys in our group caught earlier in the day- best fish we ever had, thanks to their skilled seasoning and cooking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pauliepalmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and setting”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate here with a group of people. We all loved our meals - wonderful fresh seafood cooked perfectly. It was the best meal I had on our trip to Costa Rica (I had the Mahi Mahi Scampi). The setting is great, right on the beach, with your feet in the sand. There was a fire show during our meal. And service was friendly. We had a great time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seafood Smorgasbord!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I had one of the best seafood dinners of our lives here. We had the special which was a GIANT platter of seafood. A whole grilled red snapper (the best I ever had), Mahi Mahi, Tuna, muscles, calamari rings, and shrimp. Sitting on the beach at sunset, eating amazing seafood, and the portion was huge! It was so good we went back for a second night and had the exact same thing. And that giant platter for two was only 60 or 70 dollars, so no complaints there. Like Anthony Bourdain says "There's nothing better than a good meal with your toes dug in the sand."
Only negative I have is the service. You have to flag your server down for any refills or anything thing else you want. But that seems to be everywhere in Costa Rica, so it was nothing unusual here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, very good food”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Right on the beach, your feet in the sand! What could be better? Good food and creative drinks. We had a lunch ere and dinner on our last night. Our party included 2 young teen boys who are not easily pleased but each found something they really enjoyed. The Mahi dinners were excellent, as was the civiche. Delicious!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing