We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, ok but not authentic”

Wok N Roll Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Ranked #50 of 189 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 2000, "Wok N Roll" has been serving authentic Asian cuisine (Korean, Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese) in Playa Tamarindo to locals, friends and visitors. Resently remodeled, it's bigger and better. Now offering : Raw oyster bar, steamed mussels, Gourmet Hamburgers and chips. We focus on consistency, healthy, and delicious food with generous portions at a reasonable price. Pad Thai, Bibimbop, Shabu-Shabu, Original Sushi menu and Personalized Wok dishes are just a few of our many "hits".
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Meh, ok but not authentic”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Any restaurant that tries to be pan Asian has its work cut out, as the foods of China, Japan, Korea, Thailand, and Vietnam are all very different (all of these countries and some more are on Wok n Rolls menu). Some restaurants pull this off well, but many stumble and just serve what might sell well and "pass" as Asian food. Wok n Roll sells perfectly acceptable food, but anyone who enjoys good Chinese, Japanese, Korean, or Vietnamese food might be disappointed, especially given the high reviews. In our group, we generally liked the sushi, but everything else left us scratching our heads. For example, my pho tasted ok, but it was pho only in resemblance. The good news is that prices are reasonable. Just go in there with curtailed expectations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    128
    52
    25
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I visited Tamarindo over Thanksgiving and happily stumbled upon Wok & Roll on my second day and tasted real kimchi! I ate here several times during my vacation and was impressed by the service and quality of food. This isn't some greasy spoon Chinese restaurant; it's quality pan Asian cuisine. Proprietors are very nice, too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladedah1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, CR
2 reviews
“Thanks for serving excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I recently visited Tamarindo with several students from the U.S. The food and service was excellent, as was the conversation with locals and the aesthetics of the restaurant. I recommend this spot without any reservations whatsoever. They are real asset to the Tamarindo experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryCrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo_Chef, Public Relations Manager at Wok N Roll Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We take all of our reviews very seriously and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Your review makes our job easy. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great asian lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Menu was nice collection of various styles of asian food. Wife and I shared the fried rice and Mongolian stir fry. Also had the egg rolls, which were obviously handmade and very delicious. When I found out the co-owner wife was Korean, I lamented that I was sorry that I didn't get the kimchee 'cause it must be great, we were brought out a sample -- it was great. Very nice lunch and the Tsingtao was a nice compliment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mobiushorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal with lots of veggie options”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was good to get some variety in cuisine and this place has great Asian options. We're all vegetarian and they were lots of options for dishes filled with veggies and tofu. Good service and solid food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok N Roll Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Wok N Roll Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing