We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good healthy option”

Falafel Bar Medetirenean cusine
Ranked #16 of 191 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good healthy option”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good meal at this small cafe on a back street in Tamarindo. Sensibly priced it's a good option for those who want to eat out on a budget.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James-the-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    172
    46
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST FALAFEL EVER TASTED”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Little Falafel bar near centrum.
I never tasted such a good falafel before in my life. If you go to Tamarindo- IT IS A MUST!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicolemarguerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Backpackers get away”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We found this restaurant and wanted to try it out. The service is inexistant, the food taste quite good, but when it came to the bill, we were surprised the prices raised from 4$ to 7$, when you can eat in the whole town for 3 to 4. Definetly not a place to go if you are with a small budget.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldway M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Deeeelicious”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My friend and I were visiting Tamarindo for a few days and the last thing we expected to eat in Costa Rica was falafel, but if you're going to be there, please do!! My friend and I are falafel fanatics and this was delicious. We got the hummus and the falafel, both of which were fantastic. This is a small family run business and it was traditional and authentic. Reasonably priced and a great deal for the amount of food you get. If you're around the area, I definitely recommend going here for a meal (or three...)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I've been around the world...”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well, at least the Western world, that is. Okay, fine, I've travelled a bit, but I have had falafel in a few of those places. This place is no joke. Nobody comes to Tamarindo to find falafel and yet here is is in all of it's savory splendor. I like the pita for the value. It's stuffed with five balls and is more than enough for one meal. The Shawarma is nothing to complain about either, pita, or plate.
They have board games you can play, indoor and outdoor seating, and make their own lemony drink which I swallowed in one gulp. This is how you eat affordably, without compromising your budget or diet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank damonre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falafel Bar Medetirenean cusine also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Falafel Bar Medetirenean cusine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing