We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with new Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Amarilla
Ranked #5 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I found Hotel Villa Amarillo through Trip Advisor and so glad I did. This isn't your typical hotel - it is so much more! My daughters love being by the beach so we picked the right spot - not only is it RIGHT on the beach - it is right in the middle of the main thoroughfare so we were able to walk everywhere - shopping, eating, etc. They have Diego - their own concierge sitting right inside the gate that arranged EVERYTHING for us - our transportation to and from the airport, our sunset cruise and an entire day of adventure - even calling around to find us the best price! As soon as we walked in the door we felt like we were just visiting with old friends. Cinde had a shot of tequila with us to start our week, gave us the lay of the land and we settled in. We met other guests the very first night as everyone gathers in the chairs at the end of the courtyard to watch the sunset together every night. Soon after sunset we were already having dinner with other guests - CInde and TJ make it a point to introduce you to the other guests and by the time we left we knew everyone there by name. We came and went but interacted with the guests at breakfast every morning and again at sunset. They provide croissants and quiche every day in their community kitchen. (also note they provided us with clean beach towels each day AND sunscreen so we didn't have to pack our own - NICE amenity!) Our last night one of my daughters wasn't feeling so good and it was raining off and on so I joined other guests in the little covered gathering area where people were sipping beers and playing a heated game of Jenga! They have a sign reading come as strangers - leave as friends - YEP that is exactly how we felt. Thanks to TJ and Cinde - If we happen to be in Costa Rica again - we will be back!

Room Tip: We had the Mermaid Room on the 2nd floor. We were able to walk out the door to our chairs on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaminoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 207 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks with Cinde & TJ and lots of their local friends and families. Had a wonderful relaxing, surfing, beach walking, sea shell collecting time. Waiting to see the sand dollar wind chime! So glad we choose Hotel Villa Amarilla for our stay in Tamarindo, CR. Made many new friends. Not like the big hotels, here you get to know
everyone. Many thanks for sharing your place and thirteen amazing sunsets with us!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were just passing through and too tired to drive back to our hotel in Samara, so we only got to stay one night...I wish we could have stayed longer! The owners are both super friendly and laid-back, and you get a shot of patron with them when you check in! The hotel includes breakfast, which was suprisingly good, and there is lots of fruit in the community fridge that guests can snack on anytime. The atmosphere is really social and friendly and, even though we only signed up for the night, we ended up staying the whole next day just lounging in the backyard/beach and chatting with our fellow guests, having cocktails and snacks.

Location was absolutely perfect--the beautiful backyard has hammocks and chairs and is a great place to lounge in the sun and be on the beach without having to lay in the hot sand and get approached by countless vendors selling trinkets. And plenty of space to lay down your surfboard when you're ready to take a break from the water. There is an outside shower for when you get too sticky or hot. The gate from the yard opens right onto the sand, just yards from the water.

Overall, a perfect night and day on the beach!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellieisababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Best place ever! Best people ever! Sea shells, surf, food, sunsets! Can't wait to go back! The rooms were awesome abd the morning coffee was better! Evening drinks in the back ystd over looking the ocesn and watching the sun go down was priceless!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liseth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had such an amazing time!!!! The weather was nice. The ocean was so warm. I made sure to layout everyday. And watched the sunset every evening. There was a take out menu that u can order from anywhere and it's only $5 for delivery. I loved the services that the owner Cinde and TJ gave us. (Myself,boyfriend Philip, and 6 other friends)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainmankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My 3 girlfriends and I ended up staying in at Hotel Villa Amarilla after leaving another hotel in search of a place with better atmosphere. From the moment we walked into the hotel we knew we had found the perfect place for us. Cindy was happy to show us the rooms, which were beautifully painted, clean, and had everything we needed. The view from our room was stunning, as were the grounds of the hotel. You can leave your stuff safely inside the gate of the hotel property while you go for a swim in the ocean. It is across the street from a fantastic surf shop where you can rent boogie boards, surf boards and take lessons (ask for Juan!). It is also within walking distance of everything you could need in Tamarindo.
Cindy and TJ go above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome. They introduce you to the other guests (they know all their guests by name) and invite you to watch the sunset with them each day. They make sure you have everything you need and you feel like you are a part of some special extended family. We had bought tubes so we could sit in the water and when one of them got a hole in it, TJ ran to the shop and bought us a new one. It was completely unnecessary for him to do that, but just one example of the many things they do to take care of their guests. We only stayed for four nights, but wish we could have stayed longer.
Hotel Villa Amarilla is the best place to stay if you really want to experience the laid back, friendly, fun, atmosphere that is Tamarindo. I can hardly wait to visit again and wouldn't stay anywhere else! Thank you Cindy and TJ!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Amazing atmosphere, very relaxing and chilling experinence... Prime location downtown tamarindo with excellent surf right in the hotel's backyard.
Friendly and helpful owners and staff.
Cant ask for better!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Amarilla

Address: Calle Central | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Villa Amarilla Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range: $113 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fun friendly hotel. Right on the beach with tropical gardens. We have a Rancho with day beds and hammocks. The Rancho has a chill vibe. It's where you can mingle with other guests from all over the world. There are games and books in the Rancho. Our sound system always has different genres of music playing or you can put on your music. We have a pingpong table, frisbees, paddle boards, soccer balls or just kick back and relax. We have a fully stocked community kitchen if you feel like cooking. Free Breakfast which includes Muffins, French Pastries, Quiche, Papaya, Mango, Pineapple, Bananas, Watermelon, Milk, Juice and of course Costarican Coffee. We have a massage palapa, the masseuses are amazing. We have a salon palapa, if you need blow dry or cut/color. Amenities included in the price of your room are AirConditioning, Flat Screen Cable T.V, Ceiling Fan, Free Wi-Fi (throughout the hotel), Hot Water, Hair Dryers at your request. Need a snack late in the afternoon, In the Community Kitchen you will always find Fresh Fruit. At the reception desk you will find Beach Towels, Sunscreen and Bug Spray. We also carry a First Aid Kit. Free Parking in Front and We offer Free Laundry Service. The fun begins at check-in with a shot of tequila.... "Come a strangers, leave as family" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing