We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Tamarindo.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Amarilla
Ranked #5 of 47 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Tamarindo.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our favorite place in Costa Rica. The location is perfect, right on the beach, amazing sunsets. TJ and Cindy were brilliant, so welcoming- there are hammocks in the garden area, a small kitchen you can use, and coffee and pastries are provided in the morning. It's walking distance to everything. The rooms are clean and we thought very reasonable in price.Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: It's a small place, I think any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
49
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Full disclosure, I've known TJ for about 15 years, and came down to visit. And I've been following all the upgrades that they've made, and reading the rave reviews. And it's a beautiful location, and there are flat screens, and new beds, and massages on the beach, and A/C, and someone to help you pick out your tours, and gorgeous sunsets, and breakfast, and the beach as your backyard, and all sorts of wonderful things. But that's not what makes this place special. What makes this place is the welcoming atmosphere, not just to me who they knew, but to all the guests, who, at the end of the day, just chill together, laughing, talking, and, really, end up becoming friends. My only problem was that one week wasn't enough.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived in Tamarindo planning on staying one night only before moving on but we found that once we checked into Hotel Amarilla it was just too hard to leave! We ended up staying right until the end of our trip as we fell in love with the place...and the owners...and the dogs!

Not only is the location amazing - right on the beach and within easy walking distance of loads of restaurants and bars - but as soon as you get there you feel like you are at home. The garden is full of loads of hammocks and deck chairs making it the ideal place to chill out in the sun or to have a few drinks in the evening... which we found to be one of the best things about the hotel - its set out to be a sociable place with everyone getting together for drinks in the evening. The owners Cinde and TJ are amazing and so welcoming (not many places where you get to check in with a shot of Tequila!) and more than prepared to go out of their way to help you plan trips/recommend places to eat or drink.

The rooms are all great and amazing value for money. Cant recommend this place enough! Thanks guys we will be back! Rosie & Will

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Rosie & Will,

We are glad you decided to stay until the end of the trip! Thank you for your kind words and feedback! Please come back any time and we will have a shot of tequila waiting for you two.

-TJ and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Don't even know where to start! My son first stayed here while travelling alone along CR coast. TJ and Cinde were kind enough to send messages on how he was doing. My daughter and I went to visit during the holidays and meet up with my son. The moment we arrived we felt at home. The room was large, and had everything we needed. The yard area was my favorite! Out door kitchen, hammocks, lounging areas, beachside massages and the hotel dogs. Being right on the beach made relaxing effortless. It is very secure and you are able to book any excursion you are interested in there at the front desk. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

With no real plan once we landed in Liberia, we headed down the coast and stumbled on this fantastic hotel in Tamarindo. Cinde & TJ were superb hosts, making us feel right at home. Relaxed, laid back vibe was my favourite thing about the hotel. Direct access to the beach, ocean view, and amazing sunsets made this a memorable experience for us. Clean rooms, comfy bed, and no shortage of after dark fun, sitting with other guests, enjoying drinks & laughs with new-found friends.

You really do arrive as a guest and leave as a friend!!

Room Tip: Ask for #6 - beautiful ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Kelly,
It was so nice meeting you and Brett.
Next time we hope you will bring the rest of your family.
And don't forget to bring some of the new beer you're brewing.
See you soon.
Tj and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I went to Costa Rica for the first time with a group of friends. My friends were the ones who researched places to stay and they chose Villa Amarilla. Where do I start..... The location was perfect for everything. I loved being able to walk everywhere. The hotel owners Cinde and TJ were the nicest most gracious hosts I have ever met. They made us all feel so comfortable and right at home. We had a blast being on the beach everyday. The water temp was perfect!!! The hotel was clean, beds comfortable and the flat screen TV's a nice touch. We loved getting together at the end of each day and having a cocktail watching the sunset and talking about what we did during the day and what the plans were for the following day. It really was like being at home. We are looking forward to going back and staying at the best hotel in Tamarindo... We love Hotel Villa Amarilla!!!! Thanks TJ and Cinde!!! You ROCK!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was amazing. It has direct access to the best part of the beach. The rooms are very clean and have good A/C. The best part about this place are the owners, Cindy and TJ. Lovely people who go that extra mile and it makes a world of difference. The place has a very laid back and social vibe to it. Cindy was like my 2nd mum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fessaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
fessaries,
Thank you so much for the great review.
We loved having you here and hope that one day
you will come back and see us....p.s. thanks for the great
compliment.
Cinde and Tj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Amarilla

Property: Hotel Villa Amarilla
Address: 152 | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Providence of Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Villa Amarilla Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fun friendly hotel. Right on the beach with tropical gardens. We have a Rancho with day beds and hammocks. The Rancho has a chill vibe. It's where you can mingle with other guests from all over the world. There are games and books in the Rancho. Our sound system always has different genres of music playing or you can put on your music. We have a pingpong table, frisbees, paddle boards, soccer balls or just kick back and relax. We have a fully stocked community kitchen if you feel like cooking. Free Breakfast which includes Muffins, French Pastries, Quiche, Papaya, Mango, Pineapple, Bananas, Watermelon, Milk, Juice and of course Costarican Coffee. We have a massage palapa, the masseuses are amazing. We have a salon palapa, if you need blow dry or cut/color. Amenities included in the price of your room are AirConditioning, Flat Screen Cable T.V, Ceiling Fan, Free Wi-Fi (throughout the hotel), Hot Water, Hair Dryers at your request. Need a snack late in the afternoon, In the Community Kitchen you will always find Fresh Fruit. At the reception desk you will find Beach Towels, Sunscreen and Bug Spray. We also carry a First Aid Kit. Free Parking in Front and We offer Free Laundry Service. The fun begins at check-in with a shot of tequila.... "Come a strangers, leave as family" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing