We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Iguana Surf

Iguana Surf
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Surf Lessons in Tamarindo
Ranked #1 of 107 Tours in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamarindo's Original Surf Shop, We have taught over 80,000 Surf Lesson, We have over 150 Surfboards for Rent, We also offer Kayak Tours, Canopy Tours, ATV Tours, Scuba Diving, Horseback riding, Sailing/snorkeling Tours, volcano tours, and much more.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I spent 7 days surfing in Tamarindo, and all my lessons were done with the Iguana Surf school. The instructors are great, encouraging and also a lot of fun. Megan was great at setting up everything that was necessary to make sure that I had a great time and that I got the most out of my experience. I also booked a canopy tour through them that I enjoyed very much.
Enrique is a great instructor and very supportive.
Fabian's pictures are awesome. Absolutely worth it! I highly recommend this shop!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calator_Fericit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    31
    14
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent surf shop in Tamarindo! I surfed, see pictures!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Tamarindo Dec '12. My favorite experience was having a private surf lesson at Iguana Surf Shop. My wonderful, patient, skilled teacher, "Ki ke" instilled confidence in me, I got up each time! The shop was brilliantly run by both Christian and Roxanna. They arranged for me to have photographs taken by Fabian Sanchez, his pictures are really top notch. Photos below. Nancy "Luna".

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just for surfing!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Megan and everyone at Iguana surf was great! I contacted Megan before we arrived and she helped us with booking our catamaran tour, zip lining, and surf lessons. It was great having someone help us with all of our planning that we could trust. The surf lessons were a blast!!! The instructors make sure you have a good time and are very helpful. I did a lot of research online before deciding to book with Iguana and I finally chose them because they had great prices and were extremely helpful. Iguana surf def made our stay enjoyable!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very helpful, knowledgeable and most importantly so much fun!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was in Tamarindo for a week long vacation with my girlfriends with learning to surf as our objective. Megan, with Iguana Surf, was so incredibly helpful with booking not only surf lessons, but other activities around the area. Iguana Surf's staff makes you feel like part of the team not just a tourist try your best to get up on the board.

I HIGHLY suggest Iguana Surf as a surfing school, as well as, a great resource for all things Tamarindo!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
“Honeymooners”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I were in Costa Rica for our honeymoon. Having never surfed before we were in need of lessons! We got great lessons from the instructors at Iguana surf! They were kind and patient and made us feel like we were pro's! We rented from Iguana Surf almost everyday during our two week stay and the cost was totally reasonable. This is a completely trustworthy place to book all your adventures! Connecting with the Iguana surf team made our stay easy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguana Surf also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Iguana Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing