We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved Our Stay in Tamarindo!”
Great Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Room
Great Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Great Room
Great Room
Dining Room
Great Room
Great Room
Master Bedroom Suite
Master Bath
Guest Bedroom Suite
Kitchen
Covered Outdoor Dining
Pool Area
Home and Pool
Outdoor Living
Pool Pergola
Colibri Courtyard
Your Private Cabanas
Your Infinity Edge Pool
Your Pool and Bar
Your Pool, Bar and Pool Deck Restuarant
Your Pool overlooking the Pacific
Your Beach Club
Beach Club Fitness Center
Beach Club Infinity Edge Pool
Beach Club Bar
Beach Club Tropical French Restaurant
Beach Club Beach
The Point Looking South
The Point and Capitan's Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bridget S
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Loved Our Stay in Tamarindo!”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Recently visited Tamarindo with husband and two teenage boys for Spring Break with other families/kids. We stayed in Colibri 52-2, a two bedroom house complete with every convenience of home and a small private pool. The house was lovely, clean, comfortable and perfect for our family. The pictures posted are very much like the real thing! It is situated in a "gated" community with security guards (which didn't seem necessary), who were very friendly, nonetheless! The house is a short walk (8 min) to the beach club and a little longer (15 min) to town. The walk from beach club to town is much better by beach vs. road. A car is not necessary, but we rented one anyway and were glad to have it as we made frequent trips into town for groceries, dining, etc. Bob was very easy to work with as well as the concierge staff. Overall, we really loved our Costa Rica vacation and would recommend this property. It exceeded our expectations! Thanks, Bob!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Nice house; quiet and relaxing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista G
1 review
“Wonderful experience in Tamarindo”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our first trip to Tamarindo and we had a wonderful experience. We travelled as a family, with two young kids. Before we booked I spoke with Bob and he helped explain the differences between a couple of the places he had available. He was really helpful. Bob and his team were great from start to finish. We were picked up at the Liberia airport and driven to our house in Tamarindo. The driver was really informative and gave us lots of good tips along the way. The house exceeded our expectations. They have a reverse osmosis system for the water and we were able to drink the water. The air conditioning worked really well and the house was always really comfortable. The pool in the back yard was perfect for the kids and for us. The house was clean and had all the comforts of home. There is a large grocery store just outside of town and another smaller one in town. You can find almost anything you go looking for.
The house was in a great location. It's a short walk to to both the Langosta beach, Tamarindo beach and the beach club. It was about a 15 min walk into town. We ended up renting a golf cart for our stay and it was a fun fast way to get around, especially with kids and groceries.
Bob's team was great. They left us with a cell phone so we could call them directly should we need them for anything. The airline lost our luggage and we had to deal with timing the delivery. The airline was not dependable and dropped it off when we weren't expecting it, but Bob's team was there to accept it for us at the gate of the condo. They saved us.
All said, we were very happy with our choice in rental and have recommended it to friends. We would certainly go back to Tamarindo and rent from Bob again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryinOt...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Location and functional house layout.”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I rented this property for the majority of February 2016. For the first 2 weeks I had guests with a baby and a 5 year old. The final week and a half was a couple, with no kids.

The layout is functional for a couple with kids. The pool was such a bonus. It isn't heated, but it doesn't need to be as it gets almost lukewarm in the mid-day heat. The covered lounge area is appreciated as it gives you relief from direct sunlight. There is a side yard as well if kids want to run around and chase geckos etc. During our stay the pool pump broke and it took a few days to get that fixed.

The kitchen. Oh the kitchen.... The kitchen comes alive with red ants as soon as the sun goes down. We were absolutely meticulous about not leaving even a crumb on the counter and all dry goods were even stored in the fridge. It didn't make a different. I understand why the counters are black granite so you don't notice them as quickly. If you went into the kitchen at night and turned the light on, there would easily be 20 red ants in the sink and dozens on the counter and crawling up the walls. I'm not an ant person, and after numerous emails to the property manager and conciereges to see if there was anything they could do, I was simply told "the ants are bad this year". In any event.... you get used to it. I also found a scorpion in the powder room on the main floor. The locals did say that when it gets really windy, the scorpions tend to head inside looking for relief. Keep an eye open for them.

I wasn't impressed with the bathroom towels (thin / old and stained). I tried washing them but that didn't seem to help. The washer and dryer are functional and do the trick. The toilet paper that they provide for the house is 1/2 ply I think. I went out and bought decent toilet paper my first day there.

There are 3 a/c units for the house. 1 services the main floor and each bedroom has it's own dedicated a/c unit. The a/c unit in the smaller bedroom broke midway through the trip and it took them a couple of days to get that up and running again. It made for a rough couple of nights.

The outdoor / open showers are an absolute delight. I will miss them tremendously. What a treat!

The shuttles that we booked to and from the airport were great, and so were the drivers. They showed up on time which was appreciated.

The Langosta Beach Club has a functional little gym which I used more than dozen times in my month long stay. It is well equipped with free weights / benches / mats / cardio machines. The gym has a/c. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool / outdoor showers in each ensuite
Liked least: The ants and mosquitos in the house
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Great Tamarindo Villa”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at the villa for a week and couldn't be happier with our choice. The house was spacious, well-appointed, and exactly as described in the listing. The kitchen had everything we needed in hardware to prepare and cook our meals. The air conditioning and internet worked perfect, and the private pool was refreshing after a long day at the beach.

Bob and his staff were friendly and professional, taking time to make sure everything was taken care of and to our liking. The concierge provided us with a cell phone loaded with all the necessary contacts in town (his number, car service, food delivery, etc). This was a great touch and very helpful. I highly recommend this property, you will not be disappointed!

Traveler Tips:

* Grocery store(s) 10 min walk / 5 min bike
* No need for a car unless planning on leaving Tamarindo
* Bikes are recommended. Make sure they work before renting.
* Road between villa and town can be muddy after a rain. Take the beach and avoid it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Professional service. Very clean and comfortable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkesea5
Bellevue, WA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

1.Villa was in pristine condition….very clean and all amenities (other than second TV) were exactly as described. Very well stocked kitchen! Towels were plentiful!
2. Staff: Everyone (from owner/manager to staff on site) were fabulous communicators via email, pleasant, informative and just terrific to deal with. In turn, the “staff” they hired, from the drivers to and from the airport and excursion escorts to the lovely women who came to clean our condo (that was pleasant mid week surprise!) were also very nice and very informative.
3. The Villa is really special for a family. The small backyard is very private. The ensuite bathrooms were so cool, taking showers outside every day was an experience! Having the shower in the backyard was also great..to wash the sand off before entering.
4. Location: The villas are a bit farther from town..but worth it for the quiet and outdoor space.
5. Langosta Beach Club: If for no other reason to rent from puravida properties, this one is IT! We were treated like visiting royalty by the staff at the Beach Club. All amenities described are delivered, from the terrific happy hour to the free cabanas. We took surf lessons on site, were never hassled by vendors, food was great and treated ourselves to dinner and the levitation show on our last night. Worth every penny!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wutnik
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A perfect home away from home”
Reviewed December 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our first VRBO rental was an outstanding success with this lovely home in Tamarindo Preserve and Pura Vida Luxury Rentals. We were lucky to be able to spend 12 glorious nights at the property.

While booking all inquiries were promptly replied to and the financial transactions were conducted through secure paypal. Prior to arriving we were in touch with the concierge team who answered our questions and arranged transportation transfers.

Our driver met us on arrival and made a stop on the way for groceries at the Auto Mercado. It was great to be able to have food and drinks right away.

The property manager, Bob met us at Casa Colibri 52-2 to give us the keys and a tour of our temporary home. It was nice to get the lowdown of how to work the door locks and receive information on the area. He also took us for a drive to point out the path to the beach. We would never have found it otherwise!

The home was clean, beds comfortable and had everything we needed. The showers, outdoors as you will see in the pictures are spectacular. The two bedrooms and two bathrooms are upstairs. Each room has its own air conditioning so you can control them accordingly. I found the air conditioning loud and didn’t run it at night. Soaps and shampoos are provided.

We didn’t watch much TV but there was only the one on the main floor and it had English channels as well as a DVD player. There is a stereo system which you could play throughout the house, but bring CD’s if you want to use it.

The pool was great for cooling off in. Although it is not heated it was never too cool. We used it a lot in the evening and it was still comfortable (disclaimer – we are Canadian though so it has to be really cold before we would notice!). There is also an outdoor shower to rinse off sand and salt. The loungers are a nice touch as well. The landscaping is really pretty and it is a joy to chill out in the yard with a coffee in the morning or something stronger later in the day. The house is set back from the road so you do not get noise or dust from the road.

The kitchen has all the pots, pans, utensils and gadgets you will need for cooking. There is a nice table outside as well as the large table inside. The blender is top notch and great for making your own smoothies with all the wonderful Costa Rican fruit. We used the oven, stove and BBQ as we ended up eating in more often than we had originally planned.

The membership at the Langosta Beach Club is a nice perk to have a place to hang out beachside. The service at the beach club is good. Food and drinks were a bit pricy. There are cabanas that you can reserve for either the morning or afternoon. They have boogie boards available for use and you can also rent surf boards or paddle boards. Use of the gym is also included. Try the ‘surfset’ class for $15, it is the most intense core workout on a surfboard looking contraption. The Langosta Beach Club is about a 10 minute walk down the beautiful beach.

We only had a car for a portion of our stay. We are an active family so the walk to town wasn’t an issue. There are 3 grocery stores within walking distance. We loved the location being out of the noise and traffic of Tamarindo but still close enough to dining, groceries and entertainment. Check out Waterman’s across the street for ice cream, cake or help booking taxis or tours. Nearby restaurants are Matty’s Deli in Langosta and at Capitan Suizo. Make sure to check out the farmers market Saturday mornings by Buccaneer’s starting at 8 am. You can get coffee, goodies, fresh fruits and hand-made items.

The home is situated in such a great location that you will find more to do than you will possibly have time for in the nearby area. A few of the activities/tours we took and would recommend are:
-Stand Up Paddleboard Yoga & SUP tour with Pura Vida Ride in Las Catalinas at Playa Danta
-River Float arranged with Rincon Corobici Restaurant
-Congo Trail Canopy Tour
-Diving with Pacific Coast Dive Center
-Day trips to nearby Playa Avellanas & Playa Conchal
-Catamaran Sunset Cruise with Marlin Del Rey

Our only concern, a small one but important is that the owner has disconnected all smoke detectors from the house. I am unaware of the reason for this but I would suggest installing at the least battery operated detectors in the bedrooms.

Our usual vacations have been all-inclusive, cruises or Disney resorts so the whole trip was a new experience. We were not disappointed in our choice to stay in the Tamarindo/Langosta area and this home away from home was a perfect fit. Thank you to Bob and his team for all your contributions to our wonderful stay in Costa Rica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor Showers and Plunge Pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing