We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Tamarindo Villa”
Great Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Room
Great Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Great Room
Great Room
Dining Room
Great Room
Great Room
Master Bedroom Suite
Master Bath
Guest Bedroom Suite
Kitchen
Covered Outdoor Dining
Pool Area
Home and Pool
Outdoor Living
Pool Pergola
Colibri Courtyard
Your Private Cabanas
Your Infinity Edge Pool
Your Pool and Bar
Your Pool, Bar and Pool Deck Restuarant
Your Pool overlooking the Pacific
Your Beach Club
Beach Club Fitness Center
Beach Club Infinity Edge Pool
Beach Club Bar
Beach Club Tropical French Restaurant
Beach Club Beach
The Point Looking South
The Point and Capitan's Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian H
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Great Tamarindo Villa”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at the villa for a week and couldn't be happier with our choice. The house was spacious, well-appointed, and exactly as described in the listing. The kitchen had everything we needed in hardware to prepare and cook our meals. The air conditioning and internet worked perfect, and the private pool was refreshing after a long day at the beach.

Bob and his staff were friendly and professional, taking time to make sure everything was taken care of and to our liking. The concierge provided us with a cell phone loaded with all the necessary contacts in town (his number, car service, food delivery, etc). This was a great touch and very helpful. I highly recommend this property, you will not be disappointed!

Traveler Tips:

* Grocery store(s) 10 min walk / 5 min bike
* No need for a car unless planning on leaving Tamarindo
* Bikes are recommended. Make sure they work before renting.
* Road between villa and town can be muddy after a rain. Take the beach and avoid it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Professional service. Very clean and comfortable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkesea5
Bellevue, WA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

1.Villa was in pristine condition….very clean and all amenities (other than second TV) were exactly as described. Very well stocked kitchen! Towels were plentiful!
2. Staff: Everyone (from owner/manager to staff on site) were fabulous communicators via email, pleasant, informative and just terrific to deal with. In turn, the “staff” they hired, from the drivers to and from the airport and excursion escorts to the lovely women who came to clean our condo (that was pleasant mid week surprise!) were also very nice and very informative.
3. The Villa is really special for a family. The small backyard is very private. The ensuite bathrooms were so cool, taking showers outside every day was an experience! Having the shower in the backyard was also great..to wash the sand off before entering.
4. Location: The villas are a bit farther from town..but worth it for the quiet and outdoor space.
5. Langosta Beach Club: If for no other reason to rent from puravida properties, this one is IT! We were treated like visiting royalty by the staff at the Beach Club. All amenities described are delivered, from the terrific happy hour to the free cabanas. We took surf lessons on site, were never hassled by vendors, food was great and treated ourselves to dinner and the levitation show on our last night. Worth every penny!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wutnik
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A perfect home away from home”
Reviewed December 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our first VRBO rental was an outstanding success with this lovely home in Tamarindo Preserve and Pura Vida Luxury Rentals. We were lucky to be able to spend 12 glorious nights at the property.

While booking all inquiries were promptly replied to and the financial transactions were conducted through secure paypal. Prior to arriving we were in touch with the concierge team who answered our questions and arranged transportation transfers.

Our driver met us on arrival and made a stop on the way for groceries at the Auto Mercado. It was great to be able to have food and drinks right away.

The property manager, Bob met us at Casa Colibri 52-2 to give us the keys and a tour of our temporary home. It was nice to get the lowdown of how to work the door locks and receive information on the area. He also took us for a drive to point out the path to the beach. We would never have found it otherwise!

The home was clean, beds comfortable and had everything we needed. The showers, outdoors as you will see in the pictures are spectacular. The two bedrooms and two bathrooms are upstairs. Each room has its own air conditioning so you can control them accordingly. I found the air conditioning loud and didn’t run it at night. Soaps and shampoos are provided.

We didn’t watch much TV but there was only the one on the main floor and it had English channels as well as a DVD player. There is a stereo system which you could play throughout the house, but bring CD’s if you want to use it.

The pool was great for cooling off in. Although it is not heated it was never too cool. We used it a lot in the evening and it was still comfortable (disclaimer – we are Canadian though so it has to be really cold before we would notice!). There is also an outdoor shower to rinse off sand and salt. The loungers are a nice touch as well. The landscaping is really pretty and it is a joy to chill out in the yard with a coffee in the morning or something stronger later in the day. The house is set back from the road so you do not get noise or dust from the road.

The kitchen has all the pots, pans, utensils and gadgets you will need for cooking. There is a nice table outside as well as the large table inside. The blender is top notch and great for making your own smoothies with all the wonderful Costa Rican fruit. We used the oven, stove and BBQ as we ended up eating in more often than we had originally planned.

The membership at the Langosta Beach Club is a nice perk to have a place to hang out beachside. The service at the beach club is good. Food and drinks were a bit pricy. There are cabanas that you can reserve for either the morning or afternoon. They have boogie boards available for use and you can also rent surf boards or paddle boards. Use of the gym is also included. Try the ‘surfset’ class for $15, it is the most intense core workout on a surfboard looking contraption. The Langosta Beach Club is about a 10 minute walk down the beautiful beach.

We only had a car for a portion of our stay. We are an active family so the walk to town wasn’t an issue. There are 3 grocery stores within walking distance. We loved the location being out of the noise and traffic of Tamarindo but still close enough to dining, groceries and entertainment. Check out Waterman’s across the street for ice cream, cake or help booking taxis or tours. Nearby restaurants are Matty’s Deli in Langosta and at Capitan Suizo. Make sure to check out the farmers market Saturday mornings by Buccaneer’s starting at 8 am. You can get coffee, goodies, fresh fruits and hand-made items.

The home is situated in such a great location that you will find more to do than you will possibly have time for in the nearby area. A few of the activities/tours we took and would recommend are:
-Stand Up Paddleboard Yoga & SUP tour with Pura Vida Ride in Las Catalinas at Playa Danta
-River Float arranged with Rincon Corobici Restaurant
-Congo Trail Canopy Tour
-Diving with Pacific Coast Dive Center
-Day trips to nearby Playa Avellanas & Playa Conchal
-Catamaran Sunset Cruise with Marlin Del Rey

Our only concern, a small one but important is that the owner has disconnected all smoke detectors from the house. I am unaware of the reason for this but I would suggest installing at the least battery operated detectors in the bedrooms.

Our usual vacations have been all-inclusive, cruises or Disney resorts so the whole trip was a new experience. We were not disappointed in our choice to stay in the Tamarindo/Langosta area and this home away from home was a perfect fit. Thank you to Bob and his team for all your contributions to our wonderful stay in Costa Rica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor Showers and Plunge Pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc S
Virden, Manitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Condo.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this condo after much research into places in Tamarindo. Having never been to Costa Rica (usually rent in Mexico) we were pleasantly surprised that we had made a good choice. The booking was done by pay pal or credit card which made things easy. We are Canadian so took a hit on the dollar. We were met at the airport by a shuttle that was booked through Bob WIlson and the concierge service that is provided with the condo. We were met at the condo by Bob even though it was late at night. We had asked for some groceries to tide us over for breakfast, they were waiting in the fridge. The next day we were driven to the super market by Emma (concierge) and she waited with us and even helped us out with what to buy ETC. Excellent concierge service from Michelle, Emma and Karla. I would recommend that anyone staying here use them. Over all the experience was great with some issues that were beyond the managers control. Nothing serious. We had problems with the coffee machine and toaster but they were replaced right away. The private pool was what made the stay for us. Just being able to relax in or beside it. I have reviewed the beach club seperately. some negative things I would like to mention are that it is a little bit of a walk to the downtown, about 15 minutes. But for $5 a cab ride back was in order. The beach access could be better. Make sure you explore around as there some really good short cuts to both beaches. We saw a tarantula and a scorpion during our stay outside on the road access to the condo(so be careful walking around). The queen size bed in the second bedroom is small and squeeks a lot. Overall i would recommend this place to anyone who has never been before and wants a safe experience and lots of help from the concierge. I hope to be able to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: THe private pool and peace and quiet.
Liked least: Distance to down town
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djdoughy
Santa Maria, California
1 review
“Comfortable house in safe, quiet community”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Amongst many rental options to choose from in beautiful Tamarindo, we went with this property as the location was walking distance from town and within minutes from the beach and the Langosta Beach Club. The walk to town is pretty far (about 15 mins or so). We just walked the whole time in our ten day stay. Didn't really think a car was necessary as we spent most of our time at the beach club. You can reserve a cabana for free at the club which comes with sofas and chairs so you can read and relax or go for a swim at the beach and not worry about your belongings. Had we known that Bob rented out bicycles, we would have rented the bikes for the entire stay (I believe it was $50 for the duration of the stay or $10/day). We also took advantage of the airport shuttle, zip lining, estuary tour and a day trip to Nicaragua that Bob and Karla arranged for us. All the drivers were punctual and on-time. The prices that Bob and Karla charged were comparable, but they only pick tour companies that provide the best service and make all the arrangements for you. Just ask them what you'd like to do and they'll make your stay enjoyable. I would have rated this five stars as the house looks exactly like what's in the pictures with the nice appliances and furniture. However, I wasn't too thrilled about the low water pressure in the house nor was I thrilled to see small crabs and lizards in the house (I'm not an insect/reptile person). It's the tropics, so what do you expect? Besides, that the house was very clean and lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Private pool and beach club access
Liked least: Low water pressure and crabs/lizards in the house.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhileUWer...
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Beautiful home close to the beach”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We loved this place. Fairly new construction with copious use of native wood and stone. very private yet close to town. Bob Wilson was great to work with. He arranged a shuttle from and back to the airport for us. Upon arrival, he offered to take us shopping to stock up the kitchen (and the liquor cabinet) and gave us a quick tour of the town on the way to the store. If you are arriving late, he will stock the place for you. Bob also booked a couple of adventures for us and made it easy to get to and from the tours.

The private outdoor space was a great place to hang out and decompress. It's a little bit of a hike to town, but you can make the trip walking along the beach as long as it's not high tide, so it is a pleasent walk. It's is a short walk to the Tamarindo Beach club where you are a member if you stay here. This place is a big bonus. Try their cheesburger when you get there.

Tamarindo beach is an easy walk and the Beach Club is right on the beach. It can get a little crowded. Langosta Beach is equally close to this condo and has better surf and fewer people. Both have great sunsets.

I recommend this place and highly recommend Bob as a Host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and close to beaches - not one of those condo complexes stacked on top of each other.
Liked least: Tamarindo population has apparently stressed the municipal water supply. You may be out of water for a period - but you have a pool, so enjoy it.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing