We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our loss is Tamarindo's gain!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LongBoards BBQ

LongBoards BBQ
Ranked #26 of 182 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Our loss is Tamarindo's gain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We haven't visited the restaurant, but we've known Jeff for almost 30 years back in the US! Sounds like he's doing a great job with the place and being his friendly, outgoing self. Miss you, Jeff! Maybe we need to come to Costa Rica!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alysia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    280
    102
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Newly renovated!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Happened to be in Tamarindo when Longboards had their grand reopening. Great atmosphere w/ nice bamboo and teak wood. Great bbq for a good price and excellent service as well. The tropical slaw and mashed potatoes were our favorite sides and all of the meats were delicious. Will definitely be back next time we visit Tamarindo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bkopec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A catalogue of errors followed by Amazing BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went on our final night of our 3 week holiday and it took a bit of arm bending for me to get my girlfriend over the door as she had fancied the smarter looking wok and roll a few doors down.

To make matters worse they were unable to make up any of the cocktails she requested off the menu and had to settle for a rum and coke, I told her if when she ordered they did not have the sweet potato fries we could go to her choice luckily they had them, although they did not have any sweetcorn which we had agreed to share.

When the food turned up there was none of the homemade sauces, no fries and no buns so it started off as a bit of a disaster on top of the drinks issues, however within about 5 mins they had resolved the missing parts of the meal.

The food itself is fab, my girlfriend had the brisket and i had the mixed bbq plate, which had brisket, pulled pork and chicken. All the meats are smoked beautifully and the homemade sauces are stunning, the brisket however was the standout meat.

All staff were very apologetic the owner seemed like a nice guy taking time to chat with guests, I was sorted with a beer for mix up with meals. I am glad we only went on our last night as i would have wanted bbq every other night of my stay.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlynCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but beware being overcharged for drinks.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went here on our first night in Tamarindo. Food was very good, but the waitress charged us double the posted prices for drinks. Didn't catch it until we were back at the condo. Unfortunately for Longboards, we didn't go back again and we were in Tamarindo for an entire month.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
322 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice set up good service
The BBQ are good the burger decent you can relax while watching a game now that the road is paved you won't have the dust during season it was some
Time annoying

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongBoards BBQ also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to LongBoards BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing