We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panaromic view, refreshing pool”
Review of Soles y Margaritas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soles y Margaritas
Ranked #31 of 45 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent two weeks in one of two upstairs apartments equipped with a queen bed, ensuite bathroom, and kitchen with refrigerator and propane stove. There is a fabulous panoramic view of the ocean from the deck, and a wide variety of tropical birds fly by or rest in the nearby trees. Owner Kurt warned us to shake out towels and clothes as small scorpions find their way in, and sure enough, one morning we did find one underfoot. The rooms are basic but Kurt responds well with anything you need by way of kitchen utensils, fresh towels, or advice on local events or attractions. There is also a delightful small swimming pool on the grounds – a welcome feature on a hot day! Soles y Margaritas’ only drawback is that the shortcut from town to the hotel is up a steep dirt path (flashlight essential after dark) – although by the end of our stay we were climbing it without needing to catch our breath. There is a road but it winds around the hill and would be a much longer walk; of course taxis are plentiful as an alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room for the best view. Bring a flashight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just a 5 minute walk to the beach, with a great view of the beach. The rooms are large and clean and come with an equipped kitchen. The bed was comfortable. We felt very safe there. There is a nice pool and hot showers. There is AC, but we never used it, since we got a really nice breeze by opeing the windows.

The owners were warm, friendly and very helpful. Kurt, the owner is a fabulous surf teacher. He also rents boards for just $5/day (half the next cheapest place).

Occasionally, the water pressure in the rooms went down, but as soon as we mentioned it to the owners, they had the pump on and water pressure was back up in a few minutes.

If we return to Tamarindo, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CptAdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Very clean, very large room for a great price. Full kitchen and bath, a pool outside and friendly hosts. I'll go back to Tamarindo only to stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great place, great location, great price, and great people. Kurt was our host, our tourist informant, surf teacher, and friend. The rooms are clean, comfortable, equipped, and secure. Wouldn't come back to tamarindo unless I could get a room here again. Awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDavis1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Booked this place after the reviews on trip advisor and was not dissapointed. Kurt has a great place and is every bit the laid back surf dude!! It is only a 5-10 minute walk from the main area yet you have all the peace and quiet of being out in the middle of knowhere, its perfect if you dont want the noise,dust and party scene of Tamarindo. The rooms have everything you could need to cook in, and even though its not the newest of poshest of rooms it is clean tidy and more than adequete, the best bit is the sliding doors out to a gorgeous pool with views out to sea. A great place to sit and chill. Kurt is really lovely and helpfull, he rents boards for only $5 a day which is a great price and the boards are good. He reccommended nice places to go yet was never in your face, he just lets you get on with it and come and find him if you need anything. And it is a bargain. $40 for an apartment like this, you dont get any better value for money. Would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We used them 3 times in our trips through Costa rica. They were reasonable prices, on time and polite.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneejo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

As long as you're OK with a 5-7 minute walk to town and beach this place is great. We found it by chance as we were looking for hotels. We were about to pay $45 for a regular hotel room when we bumped into Kurt who offered us a studio apartment for $30 a night for 2 weeks.

The place is a 4 room building up a hill behind town and is very quiet. There was a great ocean view for checking surf conditions from our balcony. The room was a large studio with full kitchen, couch, cable, A/C, WIFI, good bed and private bath. And there is a nice pool.

Kurt and Yessica were very nice and we felt like friends when we left. He gave me good advice on where to surf and on buying a used board in town (the trailer where they repair boards had a nice selection of used shortboards and fish, but no longboards)

Highly recommended.
http://www.tamarindosurfhotel.com/www.tamarindosurfhotel.com/Home.html

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streetdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
5.5 mi away
Casa Mapache
Casa Mapache
#1 of 1 in La Garita Nueva
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soles y Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soles y Margaritas

Address: Behind Botella de Leche, Up the Hill From Papayitas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing