We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Tamarindo”
Review of Soles y Margaritas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soles y Margaritas
Ranked #31 of 45 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great place, great location, great price, and great people. Kurt was our host, our tourist informant, surf teacher, and friend. The rooms are clean, comfortable, equipped, and secure. Wouldn't come back to tamarindo unless I could get a room here again. Awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDavis1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

Booked this place after the reviews on trip advisor and was not dissapointed. Kurt has a great place and is every bit the laid back surf dude!! It is only a 5-10 minute walk from the main area yet you have all the peace and quiet of being out in the middle of knowhere, its perfect if you dont want the noise,dust and party scene of Tamarindo. The rooms have everything you could need to cook in, and even though its not the newest of poshest of rooms it is clean tidy and more than adequete, the best bit is the sliding doors out to a gorgeous pool with views out to sea. A great place to sit and chill. Kurt is really lovely and helpfull, he rents boards for only $5 a day which is a great price and the boards are good. He reccommended nice places to go yet was never in your face, he just lets you get on with it and come and find him if you need anything. And it is a bargain. $40 for an apartment like this, you dont get any better value for money. Would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We used them 3 times in our trips through Costa rica. They were reasonable prices, on time and polite.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneejo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

As long as you're OK with a 5-7 minute walk to town and beach this place is great. We found it by chance as we were looking for hotels. We were about to pay $45 for a regular hotel room when we bumped into Kurt who offered us a studio apartment for $30 a night for 2 weeks.

The place is a 4 room building up a hill behind town and is very quiet. There was a great ocean view for checking surf conditions from our balcony. The room was a large studio with full kitchen, couch, cable, A/C, WIFI, good bed and private bath. And there is a nice pool.

Kurt and Yessica were very nice and we felt like friends when we left. He gave me good advice on where to surf and on buying a used board in town (the trailer where they repair boards had a nice selection of used shortboards and fish, but no longboards)

Highly recommended.
http://www.tamarindosurfhotel.com/www.tamarindosurfhotel.com/Home.html

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streetdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Coming from Bolivia, we arrived in Tamarindo overwhelmed by the gringo-ey nature of town and were unsure if we were going to stay even a few days. As we were checking out of Blue Trailz (thank GOD!), we happened to run into Kurt in their surf shop, where he teaches lessons. He told us about Soles y Margaritas and his wife Jessica met us to show us the rooms. What a sanctuary! Just a short walk from town, the place is awesome. Unbelievable views, pool, private balconies, comfortable beds/pillows, each room has its own fully equipped kitchen, WIFI, hot water, AC and 2 of the nicest owners we've met. Jessica will do your laundry for $5/load. And it was $20 bucks/night less than the run down Blue Trailz hostel we came from! We intended to stay only a few days, but it turned into 2 weeks. He's also a fabulous surf teacher. So helpful, positive, insightful and a lot cheaper than booking through the surf schools. I was having issues getting up on waves, and after 2 hours with him, my confidence is back and I'm surfing great. What a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Great location... best view and breezes, friendly owners and you can't beat the pool at your door!!!! Great value for your money!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoaminRussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

As soon as you find yourself at the entrance you will realise why you headed here as opposed to the other options in town. The distance is close enough to be close, but just far away enough to ensure a peaceful sleep. Everything else is as you would hope to find for your money: clean rooms, friendly staff and good facilities. The deal breaker here is the location and the view.

If you're in Tamarindo for the surf, these guys will be able to help you out without a doubt, too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeSetsFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
5.5 mi away
Casa Mapache
Casa Mapache
#1 of 1 in La Garita Nueva
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soles y Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soles y Margaritas

Address: Behind Botella de Leche, Up the Hill From Papayitas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing