We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The comfort of home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The comfort of home”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

after a month of hot dorms in nicaragua we where so happy to find this place! take the private appartement (6 places) its it awesome!! we were 3 we paid 15$ each for AC, best bathroom, confortable beds, full kitchen and it was 1 minute from the beach! you can also rent surfboards at the hostel for 8$ (4 hours) or 10$ (all day)! we had an amazing time it felt just like home! very clean place! the only thing is the staff that is kinda rude but forget about them!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loukadeziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetrailz, Manager at Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had in Tamarindo with others on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that you felt our staff was rude to you, could you perhaps take a minute to tell us a few more details so we can fix any issues with our staff members to ensure it doesn’t happen again?
The fact that you had an amazing time even with this unfortunate encounter, and that it felt like home, means a lot to us! We love to read that you enjoyed all our facilities and location, as this is what we want all our guests to experience. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    31
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
29
84
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in the private room with a group of friends and it was absolutely fantastic. It has pretty much everything you want, the a/c is an absolute gem, especially in Tamarindo where I swear it is hotter then most other places in CR. Staying here was essentially like having your own beach front apartment for a week, the rooms are great with a balcony. It was also very social, and we met a lot of people in the common area in the afternoons. Kitchen was great. From a surfing perspective, Tamarindo is a beginner wave, however the rivermouth is very fun when the tide is right and serves up some great right-handers. They also offer daily surf trips out to the neighbouring beaches, in our case we went to Playa Avellanas which was such a good day. Our guide Gretel (I think her name was) was really nice and a lot of fun, and made our experience so much better. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitted4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetrailz, Owner at Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, so thank you! We are so pleased that you and your friends thought Blue Trailz was fantastic and had everything you all wanted. We are constantly looking at ways we can improve the hostel, or look at what is already working for our guests, so we can maximise everyone’s experience here. We will make sure to tell Gretel your lovely comments about her. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My first ever stay in a hostel, but what an amazing experience. We stayed in a private room, that came with an a/c, hot shower and fully equiped kitchen and even a safe. By far better than many 3 star hotels I stayed at on my previous travels. Very helpful and friendly staff and the cleaning lady was a sweathart, making sure we had our room cleaned daily. With a night guard on duty, a very safe place to stay. We had a loads of fun hanging out with the other guests. The location topped it off, with the beach just across the street, and all bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. Can't agree more with all the other reviews, the best place to stay and worth every recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetrailz, Manager at Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent stay at Blue Trailz, we are delighted that your first hostel experience was an amazing one! It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. It is wonderful to hear you thought it was better than many 3 star hostels you had stayed at, and that our staff were helpful and friendly, we are obviously doing something right which is great to know! We very much hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturtevant, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My first hostel stay ever and I must say, I don't know how it can get much better than this! I had a blast and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Thank you and Pura Vida to Kurt my surf instructor for teaching me how to surf and gave me some valuable life lessons in the process! Nothing but good vibes and great waves at Blue Trailz! Tamarindo 2015!!!

Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Tamarindo is a busy toursit town...but if you want to surf, it is a great starting point in Costa Rica. Blue Trailz go out of their way to be helpful and make your stay as comfortable as possible. Aleksander is very helpful indeed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettComley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Blue Trailz was great place to end to my Costa Rica trip. The staff, location, and fellow travelers made me feel welcomed from day one. The other hostel guests were very friendly and a blast to hang out with. The owners and staff were awesome! They were friendly and helped me with any questions I had. Plenty of board rentals for a whole crew ranging from short boards to long boards.

The rooms were much more than you could ask for in a hostel experience. Nice clean small kitchen, tiled walk in shower with hot water, and clean sturdy bunks to call home for your stay in Tamarindo. Location was perfect on the main st. right across from the beach.

If you in Tamarindo and want a relaxing, central location, with great staff and fellow travelers to share experiences with, I definitely recommend staying at Blue Trailz.

~Pura Vida

Room Tip: Stay in the dorm and make some new friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylark27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

First and foremost, Kune (not sure I spelled his name correctly) and Aleksandar are extremely helpful with anything you need. Their help went a long way to making the most of our time surfing and hanging out in Tamarindo.

This is a small hostel and the sort of place that makes it very easy to make new friends. We made several new friends and felt very comfortable here. The rooms are basic, clean, have good a/c and are very reasonably priced. Next time I am in Tamarindo I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Stay in a dorm, meet new people, rent a surfboard and have fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskeyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 74 in Tamarindo
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Property: Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Address: Main street next to Alamo Rent a Car, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, is a vacation experience for budgets of every level. We offer; stays in our intimate hostel, surf lessons under the guise of our local bilingual instructors, board rental from our extensive range at our our surf shop, tours of the local area (if you stay with us) and package deals incorporating all this (and more!) with our value Beginner Surf Camp, Yoga Surf Camp or Luxury Surf Vacation. We’re located just steps away from the crystalline sea, on Tamarindo’s main street, near the buzz of all the best bars and restaurants. And both our private and dorm rooms offer unlimited air-con, hot showers, kitchen facilities and orthopedic mattresses. Making friends and chilling out comes easily too, thanks the hammocks and speakers we’ve kitted out our common area with. Book with Blue Trailz today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing