We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place in town”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location, almost on the beach, cool people and great staff. Stayed with a friend in the dorm which has a/c and warm showers!!! Definitely good value for money, clean and safe. Staff gave some great recommendations for food (go to Baulas for pizza) and nightlife. Really convenient that they also rent surf boards and can organize shuttles and tours. Will be back soon guys!

Room Tip: dorms are pretty good value, the privates are huge with 2 queen beds, so if you can spare the money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    31
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
29
83
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The positive: this place attracts some amazing travelers, and I would recommend it for that reason. There was a constant flow of interesting, very friendly people that made our two nights really fun and engaging (even during the rainy season). The staff was also friendly. I wouldn't say better than other places that I've stayed, but nonetheless helpful. They will heavy sell you on the surf lessons, however, and I did find better instructors elsewhere in town.

I liked Blue Trailz, but the cleanliness factor was tough. The shower and kitchen both being in the room meant that the room was always a mess. And squeezing 6 beds into an already messy room was too much for me. The clear plastic roof of the hangout area made it have an undesirable greenhouse effect - HOT. Finally, the noise factor is way up there. There are several nightclubs close by so getting to bed early for an early morning surf or yoga lesson is tough. So, we ended up going elsewhere and finding a cheaper option that was cleaner, quieter, and also had coffee ready in the morning.

I would agree with some of the other average reviewers here. This is a solid option, esp if you are really into surfing, but you can find better deals in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetrailz, Owner at Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we welcome all reviews, which help us to further improve the Blue Trailz experience. However, I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the points you made.

You stayed with us for 2 nights as you had planned and opted for a dorm room. Although the dorm rooms are not huge, they provide ample space for the 3 bunk beds. Sharing a room also means that you might end up staying with other people who are a bit more messy than you are. Our rooms are cleaned daily, however, if you would have informed us that the room needed an additional cleaning, we could have arranged this.

During check-in we provide our guests with information about the hostel and the services we offer as well as the discounts available, including the discounts on board rentals and surf lessons. I am sorry to hear you feel this was too pushy. However, since you did not take a surf lesson with us, I am not sure how you are able to say that you found better instructors elsewhere.

Tamarindo has a lot of night life on offer, which could lead to some disturbance. A bar has recently opened near Blue Trailz and we are pleased to inform you that measures are in place to avoid disturbing our guests sleep. We have also recently completed replacement of some of the windows to further insulate the rooms.

I am happy to hear that you met a lot of interesting people at Blue Trailz and enjoyed your stay in Tamarindo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Blue Trailz has the hostel gig down pat! Between the location, staff, accommodations, surf activities, and did I forget location (directly across the street from best waves in Tamarindo), you'll be ALL SET staying here.

Location:
-as I said above, directly across from great surf break with gorgeous sunsets every night.
-next door to Alamo rental. Very convenient as my friend and I rented a car for a road trip to Nosara.
-next door to Mandarina Juice Bar: thirst quenching coconut water drinks and fresh fruit smoothies after a day of surfing
-small market with basic produce and good across the street.

Staff:
-friendly, professional, trustworthy, fun, and helpful. Good vibes all around
-shout out to Julio and Mauricio who greeted everyone with a smile and provided great recommendations for places to eat, shop (we bought our own food and cooked quite a bit at the hostel), go out for drinks.
-my friend and I went on a surf trip with Julio and had a blast. The excursion included ride to and from Playa Avellanes, snacks and drinks, and a solid surf session with one the best around! Julio is an incredible instructor and gave us solid tips on how to improve our form and technique. While the day we went out was particularly windy with strong currents, Julio worked tirelessly to make sure we caught as many waves as possible. The beach sits in front of a national park-the variety of wildlife and flora were amazing!
-got to meet Aleksandar (co-owner) who was very nice and found a conditioner bottle left behind after we left for Nosara. thanks again!

Accommodations:
-great AC in all the rooms. Felt SOOO good coming into a cool room after surfing. For my friend, it was a bit too cold but an easy fix by opening the door to cool room down.
-clean sheets, hot showers, and comfy bunk beds
-chill common area where fellow hostelites gather at night to decide where to go out or just lounge around in hammocks at any time of the day
-Superb selection of surf boards for all levels- good daily rate. Ask Julio or Mauricio for their recs on when to catch the best waves and the type of board suited for you.
-little kitchen with clean, stainless steel pots and pans. oh the little things you appreciate when traveling!!

As the says, One-Stop Shop! highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kibaleebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just left Blue Trailz and had such a great time meeting everyone staying there and checking out Tamarindo. Beautiful beach, great waves, and out of this world sunsets all right across the street from Bluetrailz. We were surprised by how many fellow NYers are out here. (Represent!). I've been to Bali and Barbados, and this is such a great place to learn with its sandy bottoms and consistent breaks.

The Hostel:
-huge selection of boards to choose from
-hot showers
-fun common area where everyone gets together after surfing w/hammocks
-bring a lock with a key to use the lockers at the hostel (or buy one for $5).
-rooms: cleaned every day; common area: not as clean

The surf:
- great breaks just across the street
- we came in June and were worried there would be too many people but it was not the case
-if you are interested in lessons, we didn't end up needing one, but everyone at our hostel had great things to say about Julio.
-fellow surfers from around the world staying at the hostel that are fun to surf with.

Tamarindo:
- For eats, go to Chillers for local CR food and wild panda for fresh juice cocktails, La Bodega for organic coffee and breakfast.
- beware, we inquired about board rentals/surf lessons at a few shops in town and found that there are some real sharks out to prey on tourists. Shop around but I would stick to the instructors at Blue Trailz. As a general rule, be careful who you trust in Tamarindo. Especially after the sun sets. Watch your bags and all your things.
- Shout out to Julio! If you have any questions about the town, Julio is the person to ask. He knows Tamarindo and everyone in it. He was so generous with his help and recommendations getting around town, and even gave us couple surf tips while he was in the water giving a lesson to a fellow hostelite. Stood out at the hostel and in this little town and made us feel so comfortable in our short stay.
- If you want to rent a car, there is an Alamo right next door- I recommend getting a 4x4 only- esp if you plan on driving to Nosara (don't follow the GPS and ask locals about road conditions for your route, there are a lot of river crossings). Beautiful drives in the area.

Fun town, great surf, lots of options for places to stay, Blue Trailz is a solid option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o_trip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a blast at Blue Trailz. Location was the best, with the beach across from the hostel and bars and restaurant all close by. Staff was super friendly and knowledgeable and the place was clean and safe with a night guard. The dorm was very nice, and they just had put in new beds and with the ac in there it was really comfortable. There was a great vibe and we hang out with the other people in the common area. Definetely the best place to stay, and I hope I can go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this place for a night after looking up some reviews on here! We stayed in a multi-share room which had 6 beds, but there was only 3 of us that night. The room featured a nice mini-split which kept the room really cool at night, sometimes even too much :-)
The common area was a great place where we could hang out and meet other people staying at the hostel as well.
The only downside of the hostel was that the shower in the shower barely had any water coming out of it. Maybe it was a minor glitch at the time, but couldn't get the sand from going to the beach!
Would still come back to this place if I was ever in Tamarindo again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location and super friendly. Julio at the front door was a legend! the only thing that kind of sucked was the security dude at night, if your friends wernt staying at the hostel he wouldnt let them in even if it was like 9am and it was just drinks over dinner. but besides that awesome hostel really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Property: Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Address: Main street next to Alamo Rent a Car, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, is a vacation experience for budgets of every level. We offer; stays in our intimate hostel, surf lessons under the guise of our local bilingual instructors, board rental from our extensive range at our our surf shop, tours of the local area (if you stay with us) and package deals incorporating all this (and more!) with our value Beginner Surf Camp, Yoga Surf Camp or Luxury Surf Vacation. We’re located just steps away from the crystalline sea, on Tamarindo’s main street, near the buzz of all the best bars and restaurants. And both our private and dorm rooms offer unlimited air-con, hot showers, kitchen facilities and orthopedic mattresses. Making friends and chilling out comes easily too, thanks the hammocks and speakers we’ve kitted out our common area with. Book with Blue Trailz today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing