We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Tamarindo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Best place in Tamarindo”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a blast at Blue Trailz. Location was the best, with the beach across from the hostel and bars and restaurant all close by. Staff was super friendly and knowledgeable and the place was clean and safe with a night guard. The dorm was very nice, and they just had put in new beds and with the ac in there it was really comfortable. There was a great vibe and we hang out with the other people in the common area. Definetely the best place to stay, and I hope I can go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    31
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
29
82
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this place for a night after looking up some reviews on here! We stayed in a multi-share room which had 6 beds, but there was only 3 of us that night. The room featured a nice mini-split which kept the room really cool at night, sometimes even too much :-)
The common area was a great place where we could hang out and meet other people staying at the hostel as well.
The only downside of the hostel was that the shower in the shower barely had any water coming out of it. Maybe it was a minor glitch at the time, but couldn't get the sand from going to the beach!
Would still come back to this place if I was ever in Tamarindo again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location and super friendly. Julio at the front door was a legend! the only thing that kind of sucked was the security dude at night, if your friends wernt staying at the hostel he wouldnt let them in even if it was like 9am and it was just drinks over dinner. but besides that awesome hostel really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my girlfriend came down from Leon, Nicaragua with no expectations, but were very eager to try surfing. Julio the surf instructor was the perfect man for the job, he is the most enthusiastic, fun loving, nicest people I have ever met. The dorms were nice, and it was one of our favourite destinations in our three weeks in central America. I strongly reccomend this hostel to anyone, and to get surf lessons from Julio!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontigoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Myself and my good friend Dan, just spent 8 days in Tamarindo at Blue Trailz. Our main purpose of the visit was for surfing. Bt 's location was my main reason for selecting it. Centrally located, short walk to Pico Pequeno and also Tamarindo Rivermouth. We also based out of here for boat trips from Playa de Coco to Ollies Point and witch's rock. We also traveled by car to Nosara and Marbella. We had a one bedroom private efficiency unit upstairs. Excellent accommodations. clean and comfy . Koen and Alex are excellent accommodating hosts. Marta the housekeeper kept everything neat and tidy. Ramon the night watchmen helped us find direction and load the boards for our early am travels. Julio gave us much good info on surfing, restaurants, surfing and where to find anything we needed. BTs has an excellent selection of rental boards, very convenient. ( although better prices for board rentals can be found at many of the numerous surf shops in town)

The price for the value at BT's cannot be beat. If you want to party with other travelers, BTs is it.

Very stoked trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferjdbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our group of 4 stayed here for 2 nights. Julio, the staff we dealt with was friendly, informative and super helpful in general. Our room was clean, the only issue came at the end of our stay when the toilet began to drain much more slowly. We told the staff and they said they'd take care of it ASAP. Cool atmosphere, chill vibe, easy to travel in Tamarindo. The hostel also arranged a shuttle pick up from the airport which was convenient. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuattroBurros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Blue Trailz Surf Hostel and it remains one of my favorites in Costa Rica. It's not huge like some of the other hostels in town, the dorms are very clean and have A/C (!), as a solo female traveler I felt safe and the place has a really chill vibe, and you can't beat the location. I also took a surf lesson with them, and had a blast. Definitely worth a stay if you're in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Property: Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Address: Main street next to Alamo Rent a Car, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, is a vacation experience for budgets of every level. We offer; stays in our intimate hostel, surf lessons under the guise of our local bilingual instructors, board rental from our extensive range at our our surf shop, tours of the local area (if you stay with us) and package deals incorporating all this (and more!) with our value Beginner Surf Camp, Yoga Surf Camp or Luxury Surf Vacation. We’re located just steps away from the crystalline sea, on Tamarindo’s main street, near the buzz of all the best bars and restaurants. And both our private and dorm rooms offer unlimited air-con, hot showers, kitchen facilities and orthopedic mattresses. Making friends and chilling out comes easily too, thanks the hammocks and speakers we’ve kitted out our common area with. Book with Blue Trailz today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing