We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end lodging without the high price tag.”
Review of The Oaks Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oaks Tamarindo
Florida
1 review
“High-end lodging without the high price tag.”
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Why is this exceptional?
Beautiful surroundings with lovely swimming pools. The cleanest pools of all the high-end hotels and resorts I've visited throughout the world.
Luxurious linens, furniture, appliances - they put out the best for their renters.
Quiet, relaxing and peaceful.
Secure and close to shopping (without being too close with all the noise and congestion).
Everything worked perfectly which is not always the case in Costa Rica.
Friendly, helpful and easily accessible staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pura_Vida_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Hello to all the future Tamagringos ;)
I have to be honest I'm an owner of one of the units at The Oaks. I rent long term to a Costa Rican family, which gives me a positive investment return. When I visit Tamarindo I rent another unit at The Oaks for the same reason I purchased a condo. A great safe location, 24hr security gated community. The construction is far above expectations. A very comfortable setting. If you are visiting Costa Rica for the first time and you wish to experience to true Pura Vida The Oaks is a good choice. A hotel near the airport . You might as well stayed home. The management is always available and happy to help. If you stay at The Oaks I recommend a rental car. All activities of interest are close by. The Oaks is not beach front but you have three great pools to choose from. A great location with all the amenities of home. nos vemos en la piscina

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2010

This is a great place to stay. However, you will need some kind of transportation so make sure you rent a vehicle.
I went to Costa Rica for the first time with my daughter and granddaughter and we stayed at the Oaks.
This was a wonderful safe place to stay. A gated community not far from Tamarindo. It had everything you could want. Fully furnished, very clean, security, air conditioning, beautiful swimming pools and lovely ambiance and setting. Everyone we met at the condo was very friendly and helpful in every way.
I would highly recommend the Oaks and if and when I return to Costa Rica I would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sabra_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Hello to all travelers,
I recently went t o costa rica with my sister, mother and three yr. old nephew (a gal getaway). It was our first time there so I didn't know much about anything. At first I was going to rent a hotel room, but luckily I saw a review on the oaks condo community. I quickly did a little research, and soon sent an email. The very next day, sunday I received a phone call from a Robert Irvin. He supplied me with information, answered all of my questions, gave me immediate pricing, and then followed up with an email . I later found out he is always was unbelievably thorough.
The oaks is beautiful gated condo community, with 3 pools, plenty of parking, and 24hr security. The condo we stayed in was a lovely two bedroom condo. It was very much the best of both worlds. The appliances were new and modern, two lcd flat screen televisions, dvd player, washer dryer, dish washer, and separate remote controlled A/C in every room. The furniture was warm and rustic, lovely dark wicker living room set, queen size bed in the master bedroom, gorgeous spacious bathrooms, believe me it was more than comfortable.
Location was just as good (if you're renting a car). We were no more than 30 mins from everything. Tamarindo was maybe 15mins away (great place to surf), 10- 30 mins from 4 different beaches (I suggest la playa de las pirates), and 6mins from 2 grocery stores (I suggest the supper compra its way less expensive). Now, if you're looking for a party spot with lots a people by the pool and loud music and drinks out front, this is not the place for you. It is the perfect relaxing place to come back to after a day of outdoor tours, or just lounging by the pool. I'm in my late 20's just thought I'd mention it.
I remember how anxious and uncomfortable I felt when sending money to another country for a condo rental, but please believe me the Oaks was well worth the risk. Robert is the most efficient person, he will always respond, and I believe he's American so he and his staff speak both english and spanish.
I can not recommend this place enough!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leecorcico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
4.8 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
5.0 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
#25 of 75 in Tamarindo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Tamarindo

Property: The Oaks Tamarindo
Address: La Josefina | Huacas, Twisted Towers, Tamarindo 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oaks Tamarindo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive gated community only ten minutes from Tamarindo, Flamingo and Playa Grande, in the heart of Guanacaste’s Gold Coast. The Oaks features spacious 2 bedroom condominium units built with exquisite attention to detail. Personally tour top quality construction that you can see and touch, surrounded by native oaks, over 70% of which have been carefully preserved, a rarity in this zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oaks Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing