We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Serenity”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fourth Dimension Resort
San Jose, CA
1 review
“Complete Serenity”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

The Fourth Dimension Resort is an absolutely perfect place to be immersed in Costa Rica's natural beauty while still enjoying the comforts of a clean, cozy lodge. Each room displays furnishings handcrafted from beautiful local woods and a private outdoor shower. It is reminiscent of an open air hotel in Hawaii, from which you can enjoy a view of the jungle and listen for the sounds of monkeys in nearby trees.
Steve and Nance Budd welcome each of their guests as friends in their home, encouraging you to relax into the rhythm of the culture and the landscape, to enjoy the simple pleasures of Costa Rica's Guanacaste region. In less than fifteen minutes you can find yourself surfing world-class waves, or learning to surf for the first time on the beaches of Tamarindo. There is horseback riding, hiking through the jungle, ATVing, canopying, and overnight trips to Volcan Arenal or snorkeling in Samara.
Despite all of the activities, the most memorable and precious times of my trip included going to AA meetings in Tamarindo and sitting out on the patio chatting with Nance. The Fourth Dimension Resort truly offers an all-inclusive spiritual experience for sober adventurers like myself.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I cannot recommend the Fourth Dimension resort highly enough. I had no connection with Steve and Nancy Budd before my trip to Costa Rica but was recommended their place by someone I met on my travels. I needed somewhere to recharge my rather run down batteries before heading to New York.

Steve agreed to pick me up from the bright lights of Tamarindo one evening and I woke up in the morning to the sound of silence disturbed only by the surrounding wildlife. My bedroom was top knotch. The bed was very comfortable and the room was bright and airy, with pretty touches provided by Nancy. The bathroom was the best i had used in my three month trip. The outdoor showers rate right up there as my best shower. EVER. Interiors magasines love showing deep baths with low lights, candles and rose petals, but until you have had a hot power shower under the stars with the moon lighting you just enough to find the soap you have missed out. Big time!!

Breakfast was eaten by the pool looking over the jungle from the terrace. There is always something to catch your eye be it iguanas or the monkeys that seem to view Fourth Dimension residents as little more than curiosities as they pass by on their daily rounds to gather fruit. They are enchanting and if you are quiet you can watch them and their babies for ages, particularly if they have found a tree with plenty of fruit to interest them.

A word on the food. Katia looks after this and she is incomparable. She is full of sparkle, energy and warmth, and she transmits this into everything she produces in her kitchen. Everything I ate was fresh and had the power to lift me.

Much of the three days i spent with Steve and Nancy at the Fourth Dimension was resting up and taking it easy around the place with a bit of pool time as well. Both Steve and Nancy were delightful hosts - the perfect balance of attentive and discreet. If you want to recharge and revitalise your spirits I would not hesitate to recommend Fourth Dimension.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2009

For me, this trip recharged me. The serenity of sitting poolside gazing off at the vistas, seeing the monkeys in the trees, watching the butterflies, being catered to by the staff was what I needed. The rooms were immaculate. The private outdoor shower was delightful under the moonlight. The fragrant breezes were relaxing and restorative.
The staff were knowledgable of the culture, they knew where to go to have some adventure, from horsebackriding on the beach, to Zip gliding through the canopy, to hiking trails and catching glimpses of the 4 footed residents. I only wish I can get back there sooner.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridafunnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The perfect get away. Clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent food (love the fresh fruit smoothees) Lots of tranquility, nature and fellowship. We will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Beautiful resort nestled in the heart of the jungle. Amazing place to disconnect and recharge natually. Full service spa and yoga center on adjacent property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sffitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Your Hosts Nancy and Steve Budd of the FOURTH DIMENSION LODGE, are just wonderful. They can arrange many of your needs for the most relaxing and or invigorating vacation in all of Costa Rica. There knowledge of the country side and local interests will keep you with filled days and information.
If your needs are simply to rest, unwind and soothingly calm your mind this hidden treasure tucked away in the jungles will rejuvenate your morning senses and your afternoon poolside visions. The service staff are warm, friendly and knowledgeable in Costa Rican ways and traditions. Most of all they are always attentive to your needs with a caring smile.
"Leave the laptop, the cellphone and any other noise making, vibrating device and unplug and recharge yourself at the FOURTH DIMENSION".
Angelo Rivera III - Photographer
[--]

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelophoto2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This tucked away retreat, that is set in the jungle, monkey's in the tress...a cool breeze by the pool...just lovely.

Great food and service, wonderful hosts.

This is a place for relaxing, quiet, meditation, serenity...a sober place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellajacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo
0.0 mi away
Casa Mapache
Casa Mapache
#1 of 1 in La Garita Nueva
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourth Dimension Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourth Dimension Resort

Property: Fourth Dimension Resort
Address: 1.5 km S. El Sabanero, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing