We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, service and ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Bar & Grill

Dragonfly Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 182 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: International, Grill, Fusion, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Dragonfly Bar & Grill, a Tamarindo institution since its opening in January 2005. Highly touted as one of the best dining establishments in the bustling tourist town of Tamarindo, Costa Rica, Dragonfly consistently delivers exceptional cuisine, fantastic wines, cocktails and craft beers with gracious and knowledgeable service. Sourcing fresh local ingredients and seasonally adapting our menu options, Dragonfly Bar & Grill offers creative culinary cuisine and exceptional value in a charming and romantic atmosphere. Tucked away a short stroll from the town center, we are able to create a unique ambiance for our guests and are thrilled to share with them our little piece of paradise! We do not have an actual street address - We are a short stroll for the town center on Corona Street, after Pizzeria La Baula and just before Bolas Locas Mini Golf, behind Hotel Pasatiempo.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great meal, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a fabulous meal at this restaurant owned by a San Francisco woman. Everything was absolutely delicious - including the desserts. We were a party of 7 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bman_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    177
    44
    21
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dragonfly has the rare menu in town that just gets it right, and is so obviously written and managed by someone that knows food. Nothing is out of place and everything is appropriate to the ingredients available and the climate. It is hot in Tamarindo and visiting here is an active affair and the menu reflects that perfectly. The wonderful beet and quinoa salad is a perfect example of a seamless blend of Latin food crafted with skill and perfect care that will not weigh you down for that surf lesson tomorrow. The fish cake is that rare healthy main course that is tasty enough to order again and again. All of the main courses are paired with appropriate side dishes; a nice change from the usual lunchlady mixed veg and rice that everywhere else serves with everything. The chicken under a brick is a real standout. I never order chicken in a restaurant as it normally represents indecision on the part of the diner, but this crispy skin riff on the classic is done with such perfection and care that it is the first thing that comes to mind when I think of dining out. Be sure to check out the specials on the blackboard next to the bar. Tonight I had the duck breast with a citrus cream and balsamic reduction over gratin potatoes with allumette carrots and squash finished in butter. It may not be there tomorrow, but something equally amazing will for sure. Be sure to have the full 3 courses as dessert is always good at Dragonfly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get the chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I love this place. Let me start by saying, get the chicken. You won't regret it. I never order chicken, ever. I always order steak. But I took a bite of someone else's chicken once and now it is all that I ever order. It's amazing.

Dragonfly has quickly become a weekly tradition. On top of the incredibly delicious and consistent food, the wine is phenomenal. Someone actually thought out the wine menu and didn't just buy the cheapest thing at the supermarket.

Once upon a time, Dragonfly was owned by a woman named Tish. Then one day, Tish left and someone else bought the place. They changed the menu and a bunch of other stuff and it wasn't as good. I never ate there during this period because I'd heard mixed reviews. Then in late 2013, Tish came back and now it's amazing again. Yum.

Just get the chicken. You can thank me later.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TamarindoFamilyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Our Best Meal in Tamarindo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Again under the ownership and guidance of the founding owner (Tish), The Dragonfly is definitely on their game as they work to reestablish itself as the best dining experience in Tamarindo. Before our latest visit (2013 Christmas holiday) to town we researched carefully options for our five evening dinners, selecting what we believed to be our best bets for the finest meals in town. Saving you the details, our evening experience at The Dragonfly was exceptional and definitely the highlight of our trip to Tamarindo. It would be hard to decide whether it was the food, the service or the atmosphere that made the meal so special. But it indeed was. Do not be fooled by their current ranking, The Dragonfly is definitely our top choice already. (In fact, we think it compares favorably to some of our favorite restaurants in our hometown of Dallas).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great eats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Lovely hidden restaurant with really excellent, well prepared cuisine! The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. Make the effort it find is place - it's well worth it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eurotourist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Bar & Grill also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dragonfly Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing