We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dinner”

Dragonfly Bar & Grill
Ranked #11 of 189 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Dragonfly Bar & Grill, a Tamarindo institution since its opening in January 2005. Highly touted as one of the best dining establishments in the bustling tourist town of Tamarindo, Costa Rica, Dragonfly consistently delivers exceptional cuisine, fantastic wines, cocktails and craft beers with gracious and knowledgeable service. Sourcing fresh local ingredients and seasonally adapting our menu options, Dragonfly Bar & Grill offers creative culinary cuisine and exceptional value in a charming and romantic atmosphere. Tucked away a short stroll from the town center, we are able to create a unique ambiance for our guests and are thrilled to share with them our little piece of paradise! We do not have an actual street address - We are a short stroll for the town center on Corona Street, after Pizzeria La Baula and just before Bolas Locas Mini Golf, behind Hotel Pasatiempo.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had dinner at the Dragonfly our very first night in Tamarindo and it was wonderful. We both had the Crispy Fish Cakes with cucumber and curried corn and my husband declared it the best fish he's ever had. It was out of this world delicious. The atmosphere here is lovely with a nice breeze. We both like this restaurant a lot, although it is rather expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Go4Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    185
    46
    22
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Great Dinner in Paradise”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Walking up to the Dragonfly we stopped to take a picture. The open air restaurant has small white lights lining the perimeter of the restaurant and large green and white globe lights throughout the building, very pretty. The restaurant is spacious allowing visitors to sit at tables well spaced apart. The servers at Dragonfly were very attentive and friendly and the menu is diverse and sure to please.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggy dyer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Dragonfly Bar and Grille. All of our entrées were delicious and the service was great. The restaurant is set back from the main action which creates and peaceful outdoor setting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank peggydyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a great change to the traditional Costa Rican dishes we were eating at local cafes. More upscale for the area, the atmosphere was phenomenal. I loved that they served local brews. When we went it was owned by an American woman. We met her when we took a walk over to see if we could make a reservation and she was more than happy to accommodate us. She stopped by our table when she say us there that night and said hello! The food was excellent. My father still talks about the Mahi Mahi a year later. The service was great (very American style). Yes, the food was a little pricey, but it is a nicer restaurant in the area and it was expected.

I have since heard that this restaurant is under new ownership and have not been there since so please note that this review is based on the owner that was present in February 2012.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freemindd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis-St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our tenth year in Tamarindo, and until this year, Dragonfly was our favorite. It's under new ownership, and the changes aren't an improvement. The Tamarindo margarita is no longer on the menu--it was totally unique. My favorite spicy pasta dish isn't available either. Our service was mediocre--tables who arrived after we did were served before we were. Worst of all,
three of four entrees were substandard: fish cakes were burned, not just overcooked; chicken entree was lukewarm when served,
pork tenderloin was dry/overcooked. Only the beef tenderloin daily special was good. So disappointing to have a favorite place decline.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hastings4681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Bar & Grill also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dragonfly Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing