We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service,Food and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copacabana

Copacabana
Ranked #99 of 182 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent service,Food and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I walked in sat down at the bar and felt welcome!.
great food great staff and Corentin (carlos) the owner was very hands on helping with all aspects of looking after his customers.
Mahi Mahi was excellent.

I would highly recommend this restuarant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steponeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    85
    36
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice setting food ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

It's in a nice spot. The food was good. Nothing spectacular but a decent place to go for lunch if you don't mind spending a little more than usual.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Slow service, menu items not available, rude owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was really looking forward to eating at this beach front restaurant. Employees at the front entrance hawked us in with friendly reassuring greetings. Upon review of the menu displayed at the front entrance, the employees said they had the best in town. So here we go, ready for a wonderful seafood dinner. But wait, not so fast! The items that were our first choice on the menu were not available. We were not told of the unavailability until after we had waited a considerable amount of time after placing our order. The service was slow and the owner was rude. It was a disappointing evening on our last night in Tamarindo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abracadebra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“20th anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The fish was first rate cooked perfectly. The staff was frendly and attentive. We planned to try a different resturant each night in Tamarindo. This was by far our favourite . If we did not dine there we would end with coffee and desert at Copacabanna.
Grilled Sea Bass, Surf N' Turf Serloin/lobster Tail/ Shrimp
Jumbo shrimp flambe in a Coconut sauce
Dessert: banana crepe with amaretto
Cheer's Corington (Carlos)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvaina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tiny loves it !!! Mahi mahi with shrimps are to die for !! So fresh !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife love this place !! We always go there first when we arrive to tamarindo!! We come to tamarindo every march !! The ceviche is to die for !! Sooo good !!yummy!! We also love the mahi mahi cut fresh in the kitchen to order !! So fresh !! We get it prepared with garlic butter and shrimps !! Yummy !! Can't wait to have some this march!! Plus the views of the ocean are breathtaking!! If you lucky the marinachi band will sing for you !! How romantic !! So in tamarindo this place is a must go to for some great food !! Tell um tiny sent ya !!! Pura vida!! Get there soon !!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrkingcobra38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copacabana also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing