We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Bambora
Nearby Hotels
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$250
$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seis Playas Hotel(Huacas)(Great Value!)
$89
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
199
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenrooftop decknature trailother guestswrap around deckin townawesome hostfull kitchenhoneymoon suitegas stoveshort walkcosta ricahome away from homethird floortop floorpura vidavisit tamarindo
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 216 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

World travelling seniors we found Casa Bambora our kind of place.Joey is a great host and his casa very comfortable.Dont expect "5 stars" there is no steel and glass modern. It is like staying at a friends place with as much privacy as you wish.
In the main the other guest ( of many different ages and cultures) were fun to be around.
In all a most enjoyable experience.Thanks Joey and Teresa. It felt very much like our home away from home.
Must reinforce previous review.I was up and down those stairs for three weeks no slipping and falling but then i was'nt under the influence (well maybe a touch ) but not with wet feet.
We would definitely recommend Casa Basbora and would love to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable and welcoming. The2B room is rather special and features a larger room with balconies on 3 sides.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a seven night stay here - having done a fair bit of traveling, we decided to stay here because of the cost, location and ability to cook a few meals in, rather than eating in town for breakfast and lunch. We arrived and were pleased to discover that everything we had read in previous reviews was correct! Very clean, relaxing and well kept. Our room was was the second floor large room - the view was amazing. Many mornings were spent on the balcony enjoying the best view of the ocean in town. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed. We walked down the hill into town everyday and took a $4 cab ride home at night. There are taxis everywhere, just say "Casa Bambora...$4" and you are home in minutes. Joey pays attention to detail and it shows in the well maintained and comfortable surroundings. The location is perfect, as it is away from the noise of town - can't imagine how all that competing music and bar noise must sound at 2am in town! The beds were very comfortable - we slept very well. We felt safe in this cabina, as the doors are locked and the place is well lit. Actually, as three women traveling alone we never feared for our security at any time. There is a nice bar to meet people staying around the pool area, along with a gas grill. We bought some fresh (off the boat, Pedros at the end of the beach) fish and shrimp and grilled it one night. There are markets all over town to buy provisions and save money. We bought the freshest fruit we have ever experienced in town and woke up to fresh coffee and fruit every morning in our room. There is a sense of community when you stay here, and friendships are created. Joey was very helpful in suggesting excursions, arranging for transportation and otherwise being a wonderful host. His helper, Teresa was especially helpful and always greeted us with her sunny personality and knowledge of the town
Some tips: we flew into Liberia, bought alcohol at the duty free shop and saved $$ by creating some wonderful fruit cocktails. While there, we appreciated the openess of the hosts in wanting us to have a good time, but use common sense. The stairs are not slick when you go down them when you are dry...like stairs everywhere else in the world, they get slick when you get them wet after coming out of the pool. This is not the hosts fault, its the fault of the wet person! Dry off, respect the others staying in the cabinas, have some cocktails and Pura Vida.
Ask questions - if you don't understand how something works, they will be glad to help you. Our rooms temps were very comfortable, once you learn to use the remote controls and overhead fans. Tamarindo is very warm, so dress very casual and cool. We slept great at night using the great A/C and fans.
Enjoy some of the night life, hit up some of the good happy hours and ladies nights. Our favorite places to eat were Nabbina (sp?) and we found an amazing place across from Sharkeys called 'Enjoy". After all the fresh seafood for a week, was wonderful to have an amazing burger and fries at this charming place.
Our favorite excursion was a booze cruise on a catamaran called the "Marlen Del Ray" - we had great food, drinks, snorkeling and a world class view of the sunset on the open water. We enjoyed the estuary tour as well.
Tamarindo was all it lived up to be - Casa Bambora did as well! Six stars out of 5!

Room Tip: tell them how many are in your party - they can make accomodations for your party size. Make sure you check out the roof top balcony at sunset!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzarkSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had 8 in our party and rented the whole place. I was so thankful to stay at Casa Bambora because of all the reviews I have read on Trip Advisor. Joey had an injury that required him to leave Tamarindo part way through our stay. Our A/C went out and the room was unbearably hot for 2 days. Joey was very quick to apologize and refunded those 2 nights. That made me really believe that he cared about our stay and comfort.
The pool is just amazing. It was a cool oasis after a hot day of walking around Tamarindo. And Tamarindo is HOT!!!! The location was nice - was very quiet and up on a hill so the views were amazing!
I would stay here again. Just be careful of the stairs. Always wear shoes going up or down them because they are super slippery after they get wet. 3 in our party fell down them and it really hurt. LOL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaska_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a three week vacation with family and friends at Casa Bambora. By far the most beautiful view in Tamarindo. Rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. You can watch a beautiful sunset from the 3rd floor roof or just hang out by the pool. Very quiet, safe and relaxing atmosphere. Joey was great anything we needed, he was there to help with. One of the most relaxing vacations I've experienced. Joey made excellent recommendations on where to eat, have drinks, or to just relax. I proposed on the beach to my girlfriend of five years, the same beach where Rodney (Joey's recommendation) gave me excellent surf lessons. When I return to Tamarindo I will stay at Casa Bambora without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefewthemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Home away from home.. I'm already looking forward to my return.. If you are looking for a laid back, quiet, safe place this is your spot. I spent a week there and it wasn't long enough . The bar downstairs was a good place to kick back after surfing in the morning and ended up meeting some great people while doing so.. And the view from the top deck is just something your gonna have to see for yourself.. Short walk will put you in the prime area of town weather it's stores , restaurants , markets, or watering holes if you get thirsty.. Stay here, that's all I can say you will enjoy it.. Joeys got it all figured out.....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdohme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews