We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mixed bag”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Inn
Ranked #35 of 47 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a mixed bag”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

we reserved a week here and was somewhat suspicious based on the low price. Federico - the operator- did a great job communicating and was as friendly/helpful as could be expected.

however, there were too many physical defects in our apartment for us to stay more than one night. this may be partially attributed to it being our first time/night in Costa Rica. but the things we needed changing were beyond federico's ability to correct.

most of the reviews written previously are accurate - both the good and the bad. i believe it just depends on the reviewer's standards.

great for surfers and folks on a tight budget. not so much if you can afford the trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashcombls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at the Sunset Inn last week with my boyfriend. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the property, even without a kitchen we managed to cook up some meals on the hot plate supplied in the room. There is a supermarket next door so it is easy to get groceries. The room was clean and exactly what you needed. Trust me, you won't want to be in your room once you've seen Playa Langosta, the room is purely for resting and showering. The town of Tamarindo is only 5 minutes away where there are shops and restaurants all over the place. All of the food is good, coming from New York I was a bit skeptical but never left a restaurant disappointed. Overall, the Sunset Inn was amazing, the garden is beautiful, pool is clean, there's a grill and fire pit. What more could you ask for? Please be aware that this is not a chain hotel or a resort. Understand that the Sunset Inn is exactly what it is, an inn. You are renting a room with hotel like accommodations. There is one maid who will change your sheets, tidy your room and supply you with towels. Don't be surprised if you need to ask for some of these things throughout the week, seeing as it's just one person caring for each room. If you are into excursions, ask Federico to introduce you to Maurice. Maurice is awesome, ask him to take you kayaking in the Estuary. It's absolutely gorgeous! He's also a great surfing instructor, if you would like to learn to surf, Maurice is a great teacher. Bottom line, ignore the bad reviews. It was an amazing place to stay, I plan on staying at the Sunset Inn every time I visit Costa Rica, you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jguarneri2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very disappointed in the accomodations. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite - NO HOT WATER for the 8 days we were there. The bathrooms smelled like sewage. The dishes in our kitchen needed to be washed before we could use the.The beds are old and hard - linens were stale smelling and our comforter looked as if it had not been washed this year. Vey run down, doors were difficult to open & to lock. The pool deck boards were all loose and coming up, and had to share the pool with an iguana who used it as a bathroom - yes there was feces in the pool every day and no one to clean it. All the deck furniture is old rusted and falling apart. Not charming. Very little outside lighting.
Very close to the beach. The help was very nice and friendly as were all our neighbors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Sunset Inn is literally our home away from home when visiting Tamarindo. It is an excellent option when traveling with family and in our case, even DOGS. The staff is extremely friendly and the location is super safe. The inn is a block away from the beach with a convenient supermarket down the street. The suites are spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped with utensils. The pool deck is a nice hangout area at all times of the day; overall I would totally recommended this inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here for a month and loved it! The hotel has a cozy feel and the people were very friendly. It is a smaller hotel and you really get to know all your neighbors. I made so many great friends during my stay. The manager is very hands on and will correct any issues you may have and is always very happy to accommodate. He helped me on a dime when my dog was sick and needed to go to the vet. He was there within minutes. This place is taken care of and has a great vibe! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great little place with fully equipped suites. You'll make new friends and you're a short stroll to a world-class beach!

The owner is hands-on and will make sure that you are comfortable and happy to be a guest at his cozy Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by a shirtless guy with bloodshot eyes and a flee covered dog. The pool was filthy and the whole place reeked of sewer. The stove and fridge were covered in grime and the bed sheets had cigarette burns. There was a hole in the bathroom floor. The window by the shower was missing and replaced with a paper bag that did not fully cover the window. With our 16 and 17 year old daughters, we knew staying here would be miserable. There were about 6 men hanging around the courtyard who made us feel very uncomfortable. We decided to find a new hotel even though we had already prepaid $500 (which we never saw a penny of even after talking to the owner on the phone for 30 min). We ended up staying at the Barcelo resort just down the street which was amazing! Thank goodness we switched!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlyDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fede007, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I should start by saying that this guest made several false statements (the pool is always in great conditions, there's never been any smell whatsoever in our aparthotel, the only whole in the bathroom is the shower drain) My friend Morice was helping me out the day this client arrived, he is a surfer and probably was coming from surfing and yes, he has a nice german shepard, with no fleas, I should add. The broken window of the bathroom is the only true comment (coincidentally is the only picture he shows in his review) The previous guest broke the window of the bathroom and we had to replace it.
Even though there were no basis for a full refund I offered a 50% refund to this client which he was supposed to come to pick up and he never did.
Ours is not a 5 star resort, it's a nice and casual apartment hotel complex, but I can assure that the place is very clean and well maintained, which is what you will find in most of our reviews.
Probably not the right place for people who enjoy All Inclusive Resorts, like this gentleman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casa Mapache
Casa Mapache
#1 of 1 in La Garita Nueva
37 reviews
3.3 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: Playa Langosta | 50 mts north, 125 east from Barcelo Resort, Tamarindo 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa Langosta,Tamarindo less than one block away from the beach. 8 units for up to 6 guests with A/C, Cable TV, WIFI and kitchen. Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Laundry room. All surrounded by beautiful multicolor gardens and the constant ocean breeze! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing