We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stingray for dinner”
Review of Lazy Wave - CLOSED

Lazy Wave
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stingray for dinner”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a small place. The food was great. I had Stingray for dinner. It was very good, but I felt it had a little too much garlic on it. The service was great and I will be back again to try something else..... or have the Stingray again (I have not seen it at any other restaurant)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Tamarindo”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've had our best dinner of our trip to CR in this restaurant. Absolutely delicious food and great wine selection! The waiters are kind and very service oriented. And leave some space for the deserts.

I am bit surprised that it's on #21... it deserves a higher ranking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 74flyingdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish done well.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a quiet respite on a busy corner. The staff were all really nice. It may have been our fatigue from a day of activity, but we didn't enjoy our meal as much as the other reviewers did.
I think the problem for us was the extremely long wait between all elements in the meal. I fully appreciate "pura vida" , but this extended far beyond what is reasonable. So, while the food was ample and good, the service was a little too slow in my experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lughsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere, delicious creative food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Apparently there are only 2 restaurants in Costa Rica that serve sting ray, and Lazy Wave is one of them. So, we went to try it out and were beyond impressed.
The waiter first offered us a herb-infused rum that is made in house. It was so delicious, we had several of them!
I highly recommend trying the sting ray. I had the beurre noir style, which was perfectly cooked and the seasonings were excellent. It was rich, smooth and overall a great way to try an exotic meal.
A friend had the chicken wings. They had a big selection of sauces and the wings were big. Probably not the best we've ever had, but top 10 anyway.
The night we were there, Thursday, I think, a really neat band was playing, which really added to the atmosphere. They were really friendly despite their quirky no-speaking shtick. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank familyfromitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Vibe. Amazing Food.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I love this restaurant - and here is why:

- Best chicken wings in Tamarindo hands-down!
- Delicious specialty drinks
- Super chill vibe. Fridays and Tuesdays they have live music
- The rest of the food is fantastic as well

The speed of the service is hit and miss.....but I think that is the same anywhere in Costa Rica.

It's not a cheap place to eat - but in my opinion totally worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissJamieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Wave also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing