We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Botella de Leche Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

As sOon as we checked in the lovely host said "just jump in the pool and then we will get you checked in"! It was very hot that day! The rooms are very clean and comfortable at a very reasonable price. We stayed in 2 previous hostels in town which were terrible compared to this and roughly the same price. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stagmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for La Botella de Leche Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 286 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about La Botella de Leche. I stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. I switched from a hotel on the beach in Tamarindo and legitimately preferred this location. Marianna, the host, is absolutely lovely (she even went out of her way to help me fix my bikini top) and her family is as well (dogs and all). I had an amazing surf lesson with her son, Juan, which topped a lesson I had taken a week prior from a top rated shop in Nicaragua. Great times! Great people! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! :)

Room Tip: If you have a friend to share with, get a private room. If not, the shared rooms are good too.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csoboleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed at botella de leche for almost two weeks. It's owned by an Argentinian family. I felt like I was at home most of the time. The staff is genuine and pleasent. A/C in every room, comfortable beds, pool, and big communal kitchen.

If you stay here, ask about sailing on the Antares. Its an experience you won't forget.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I started out at the Pura Vida Hostel, but I soon moved over to Botella de Leche after randomly walking inside to check it out. Tamarindo is a hot, hot place, so the fact that the rooms have A/C and they have a great pool is greatly appreciated. At first, it may seem like you're far away from the main road and the beach (5 minute walk), but I think it's better this way because the main road can get pretty noisy. I'd say the bathrooms and kitchen are just okay, but everything else is great and more than makes up for this. Also, the people who run this place are super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We found this hostel's website in our Central America guidebook and gave them a call to make a reservation. Upon arrival, we were checked into a small private room, it had 1 double bed, bathroom and a very old looking air conditioner. We found a lot of ants in the bathroom so we asked if there was another room - I am soooo glad we did!! Room #7 was a million times better. It was large, had a double bed and a bunk bed, small refrigerator, ceiling fan, modern split system a/c and decent bathroom. We had this room for 3 nights for $36USD per night. Even though it was hot outside, the room was cool. Note: A/c is only switched on after 6pm - we found the fan cool enough during the day though.

The hostel is lovely, it has a kitchen (did not use) and TV in the common area and a lovely pool in the middle. It was nice to have a dip but did get crowded when larger groups came in. There was some noise at night but everyone seemed to abide by the 'silence after 11pm' rule. I had no trouble sleeping.

We took a surf lesson from Francisco which was a lot of fun. It was our first time and Francisco explained everything for us in English and was very helpful and supportive on the water. We even managed to stand up a few times too. At $30USD it is the cheapest in the area - most of the surf shops are $45.

All in all, a great choice for Tamarindo

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back; the rooms on the right side as you walk in are smaller and older
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideTravelbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a great hostel, we met so many amazing new friends here. The cleanliness and the kitchen is what you can expect when staying at a hostel, but you have everything you need. Hammocks everywhere and every room has a little sitting area outside the door. Every room has its own bathroom (rare in hostels). The pool is a big plus, the water is very cold, which is nice after a hot day on the beach! Stay here if you want to meet new people and have fun, not if you want to relax and sleep a lot.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room for 4 people and not the biggest ones with 10.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Very good hostel, with AC, very clean and most important, for any backpacker, very secure too. They have a pool in the middle of the Hostel right in front of the rooms and the people there are extremely helpful. Summarizing La Botella de Leche its an awesome place to stay in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decio_Novaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 24 in Tamarindo
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#7 of 73 in Tamarindo
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#16 of 73 in Tamarindo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Botella de Leche Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Botella de Leche Hostel

Address: Tamarindo Beach | 50 mts from Banco Nacional de Costa Rica, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range: $25 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Botella de Leche Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first hostel in Tamarindo. In business for more than 15 years, we know what we are doing. Our objective is to help you have a problem and stress free holidays here with us. Family owned, comfortable and quiet. We are always improving to satisfy our clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Botella de Leche Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Botella De Leche Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing