We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool filtration system did not work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We spent a month at the Sunrise in unit 112, the unit was very nice, the pool waterfalls
stopped working the second week, the pool was not clean and too warm.
The maintenance people turned the filtration off on the pool at night, why I have no idea
no wonder the pool was dirty, it was so bad I would not go in the pool at all after the second week. Their was also a sewage smell around the pool that was a little unnerving.
Our condo's airconditionig was broke, and fixed quickly, the unit #112 needed a good cleaning, remove the dirty carpets (throw them out) their is too much traffic in these units
to have carpets if they are not going to be regularly steam cleaned.

All in all the unit itself was one of the nicest in the complex, too bad about the pool, Tamarindo is very hot, and if the pool isnot clean it takes away from the entire experience.

I would not go back to Costa Rica due to the extreme heat, we moved to a hotel for the last few days and the pool was so clean and beautiful it was a lovely end to a month long vacation

If your looking for a quiet place, this was quite noisy due to many families with small
children thinking they were the only ones there, they shouted from unit to unit, they were
asked to stop screamig for their friends and just go find them. so loud that you could not read around the pool when the families were in the pool

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank MarianneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmalavasi, Manager at Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

Thanks for your review.

First of all I would like to explain you that when pools get so much people as Sunrise's pool did in the month of January, it is neccesary to apply
flocculants on the evenings and this implies sutting-off the filtration system. After that you remove the particles and sediments from the bottom of the pool.

Also keep in mind that you came in the busiest month of the year. There was an all time peak of 51.000 arriving into Liberia airport and the complex was at a 100% occupancy for almost the entire month.If you were looking for a more realxing/quiet vacation it is obvious that a 52 condos (130 rooms) building was not going to meet your expectation.

Most of the clients come to Sunrise for it's great location, right in the middle of town and not because of being the quitest place in the area.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2010

The Sunrise Condos are well situated within the town, close to beach and you can walk anywhere in the town within 5 to 10 minutes. We had a toilet that leaked and had to be fixed. The next evening we went to sleep only to wake up at 3am in an oven b/c the A/C stopped working. They came the next day to fix it, but didn't have it fixed by 5pm, so they packed up and went home for the day and left us to spend another night without A/C. We spent the last night with the windows open listening to dogs howling and swatting mosquitos. When we tried to get some money back for the major inconvenience, they had ZERO accountability. -----Regardless of this, don't pass up on an opportunity to go to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveCostaRica9634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I stayed at Sunrise Condos after booking it online. I was nervous because the pictures were so nice but it actually lived up to expectations. The apartment was nice with comfy beds, air conditioning, ocean views, and granite countertops. The pool was nice and clean with its own waterfall and security was 24/7. It was across the street from the beach. If you are going to Tamarindo for a week, it's better to rent a condo and also cheaper!
Also, Angelica, the property manager was willing to help us with anything we needed. We booked a tour and a car through her.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Rented four condos over Christmas 08-09. Great complex, well run, nice pool. Be aware all units are individually owned, so outfitting can vary greatly. Would recommend avoiding unit 41, deck has view of parking lot, no dishwasher, sparsely furnished. Unit 16 is a great penthouse unit, well outfitted, very comfortable, good view of ocean. Tamarindo is a fun town, recommend Eat at Joe's for breakfast and sushi,wok and roll has great pad thai.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank idshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We just returned from a week trip to Tamarindo and already want to return. We rented a unit at the Sunrise Condominiums which are centrally located in the heart of the town and just across from the beach. The Condo we stayed in was very attractive and very roomy with a lovely view of the ocean. These condos are run extremely well - they have security and a management office where everyone is so very pleasant and so very helpful as far as arranging tours, transportation if needed, etc. We had vacationed in Ixtapa the year before which was very nice; however, the waves were very unpredictable and safety was a concern. Here you could enjoy the ocean without that worry - it is a great surfing beach!

We ate at several restaurants that I would highly recommend - Dragonfly, Panchanga, Vita Bella and Noguis.

We did the day trip to the Buena Vista Lodge where we did the horseback ride to the hot springs, the canopy tour, and the waterslide. This trip is well worth the money and is a terrific adventure.

The only downside of the trip was our ATV ride with Hightide Adventure Tours. They require you wear helmets; however, they offer you goggles but do not tell you that you have to wear them. Be sure to wear them because it was so dusty that 75% of the trip we had difficulty seeing because there was so much dust in our eyes. Also, our guide left a member of our party with faulty equipment after the ride began (this was an ATV with tread worn off on the tires which made steering more difficult) instead of switching ATV's.

We were a party of six and all agree we would like to return next year. The weather is perfect, there was not a language issue since many of the locals could speak English (in fact, several restaurants had English along with Spanish on their menus), and you feel very safe. Last of all, it truly is a beautiful area!!!

4  Thank jmegg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank geraph31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank Mikel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 24 in Tamarindo
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luamey
Hotel Luamey
#2 of 46 in Tamarindo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
0.2 mi away
Casa Aura
Casa Aura
#12 of 46 in Tamarindo
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marielos
Hotel Marielos
#47 of 73 in Tamarindo
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo

Address: Tamarindo Main Street | Right in Front on Tamarindo's Beach Access, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range: $184 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Resort welcomes global visitors to the very heart of Tamarindo, Guanacaste's top tourist destination. There is simply no more convenient accommodation to enjoy the area on foot. From its location on the main street, guests are just a few minutes from virtually every attraction and service offered in Tamarindo, and literally seconds from the Main Beach (across the street) with swimming, surfing, fishing, cruises, estuary tours, and other ocean sports. Leave your condominium "barefoot, bathing suit, and board under your arm", and dive into the surf. Sunrise Resort guests enjoy one of Tamarindo's largest resort pools, and an interactive cascading pool waterfall feature. Both are surrounded by a wide pool deck and landscaped gardens. The complex offers private parking, 24/7 security, gated entrance, and perimeter wall. Come and enjoy being at the "center of it all" at Sunrise Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Condos Of Tamarindo Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing