We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I had an amazing time! Rooms are very clean & large. The staff is nice and very helpful. We saw very few bugs while on property. The wifi could be improved upon but the experience was great overall.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cidwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    35
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
55
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just spent 10 days at Sunrise Condos and would not hesitate to recommend it. Easy walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants but seems secluded once you enter the property. Unit was well equipped, except maybe for wineglasses, and spacious. The pool was beautifully maintained but finding an available pool chair was challenging. That could easily, and relatively inexpensively, be remedied with the purchase of more chairs. All in all, a great spot in a delightful Costa Rican town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryloumlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Mass.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I am currently finishing up a one month stay at Sunrise Condos (#19) and have been very pleased. The location is ideal....right in the heart of town but with a feeling of seclusion once you're inside the complex. Our main reason for choosing Sunrise was that there would be no need for a car, and with a series of friends cycling through for the month, we all appreciated the convenience of walking across the street to the beach and sampling all of the local restaurants on foot. The pool, though very clean and attractive, suffers from a lack of chairs...only 16 for 52 units, which is ridiculous. Other than that, the condo itself is spacious and well-appointed and perfect for families or groups of friends. This is my fourth trip to Costa Rica but my first time in Tamarindo, and I will definitely be back! Tamarindo has a great, laid back vibe, perfect weather, friendly people and a wide, beautiful beach that is perfect for early morning walks and of course, swimming and surfing.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper floor for the views. The first floor units have easy access to the pool but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just came back from spending 10 wonderful days at the Sunrise Condos. We loved it. Would definitely return again. only complaint is that people come out early in the mornings and put their towels on the pool chairs. But we just put their towels to the side and use the chairs until we left. They could use more chairs around the pool. Location is across the street from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants, grocery store, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytobemarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I am currently staying at the Sunrise Condos in Tamarindo which is listed as 3 Star Luxury Condominiums on Expedia etc. Sadly we paid Expedia up front for this experience.

We have been here 4 days (scheduled for 14). We have a spacious three bedroom unit (no complaint there) but - we have no hot water, no telephone, no safe, sliding patio doors that do not lock, a dish washer that floods the kitchen floor and 48 units of guests arguing over 14 deck chairs around the pool.

We have talked to other guests here and the ones we spoke with have similar complaints. Some are able to get an Internet connection but downloads and uploads are blocked. Free Internet is available in a hotel lobby down the street.

We talked to the people at the checkin desk here on three occasions. They said the maintenance people would take a look at our problems but three days later no one has appeared.

We contacted Expedia and they advised us they would look into changing their description of the location so others would not have the same problem. (I recommend not paying 100% up fronty for accommodation that may be based on out of date information).

By the way - Costa Rica is amazing - sorry this sounds so negative - just intended as a 'heads up'

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for a week with family in a 3 bedroom condo at Sunrise. Seeing other hotels and condos in Tamarindo, the location couldn't be beat (other than maybe by Diria which has a section right on the beach). You basically walked through the complex, across the small street and you were on the beach. You could also easily walk to restaurants, shops, and grocery stores within a block or two.

The complex and pool were kept clean and secure. I believe condos are each individually managed and rented out by owners, so commenting on an individual condo may not reflect the experience of other condos. We stayed in #17 Casa de Murales and were happy with the condo's location, amenities, and cleanliness. We did not have a view of the beach, but with personal steps from the condo down one flight of stairs onto the pool patio, it was very convienent.

Shop around within Sunrise Condos for your best deal, but the complex itself is a great spot in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: Only higher condos will have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCL_JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We really enjoyed staying in Unit #43 at Sunrise Condominiums. Our first time visit we didn't know what to expect in regarding to proximity but we found ourselves right smack-dab in the middle of the action. The condo is furnished nicely with 2 twin beds in one room and a queen in the other. Perfect for our group which included 2 adult men and 2 adult women who were non couples. The condo overlooks the Pacific Ocean. The kitchen was well equipped and the appliances worked well. We chose a condo over a hotel room for more space an privacy and were very pleasantly surprised. We received hotel quality service with the comfort we were looking for.

The condo seems very well kept, and the pool is cleaned daily. We also noticed a crew repainting and maintenancing the building.

Staff - The staff in the office was great! Very friendly, polite and helpful. I lost my contacts in the pool on the first day and the young man in the office very graciously called around to several locations to find an Optometrist that was open on a Sunday.

If I decide to spend more time in Tamarindo I would definitely stay at the Sunrise Condos again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luamey
Hotel Luamey
#4 of 47 in Tamarindo
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Marielos
Cabinas Marielos
#45 of 75 in Tamarindo
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo

Property: Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Address: Tamarindo Main Street | Right in Front on Tamarindo's Beach Access, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Resort welcomes global visitors to the very heart of Tamarindo, Guanacaste's top tourist destination. There is simply no more convenient accommodation to enjoy the area on foot. From its location on the main street, guests are just a few minutes from virtually every attraction and service offered in Tamarindo, and literally seconds from the Main Beach (across the street) with swimming, surfing, fishing, cruises, estuary tours, and other ocean sports. Leave your condominium "barefoot, bathing suit, and board under your arm", and dive into the surf. Sunrise Resort guests enjoy one of Tamarindo's largest resort pools, and an interactive cascading pool waterfall feature. Both are surrounded by a wide pool deck and landscaped gardens. The complex offers private parking, 24/7 security, gated entrance, and perimeter wall. Come and enjoy being at the "center of it all" at Sunrise Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Condos Of Tamarindo Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing