We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
$191
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seis Playas Hotel(Huacas)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$106
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Los Altos de Eros(Tamarindo)
$495
$325
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nahua(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$46
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
63
36
14
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
36
14
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condogreat locationspent a wonderful weekblue water propertieswalking distancehour securitynice poolwasher and dryerpatio furniturebottom flooralways felt safewould stay here againfull kitchenflat screenshopping and restaurantsthe penthousefront gate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 124 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just came back from spending 10 wonderful days at the Sunrise Condos. We loved it. Would definitely return again. only complaint is that people come out early in the mornings and put their towels on the pool chairs. But we just put their towels to the side and use the chairs until we left. They could use more chairs around the pool. Location is across the street from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants, grocery store, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytobemarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I am currently staying at the Sunrise Condos in Tamarindo which is listed as 3 Star Luxury Condominiums on Expedia etc. Sadly we paid Expedia up front for this experience.

We have been here 4 days (scheduled for 14). We have a spacious three bedroom unit (no complaint there) but - we have no hot water, no telephone, no safe, sliding patio doors that do not lock, a dish washer that floods the kitchen floor and 48 units of guests arguing over 14 deck chairs around the pool.

We have talked to other guests here and the ones we spoke with have similar complaints. Some are able to get an Internet connection but downloads and uploads are blocked. Free Internet is available in a hotel lobby down the street.

We talked to the people at the checkin desk here on three occasions. They said the maintenance people would take a look at our problems but three days later no one has appeared.

We contacted Expedia and they advised us they would look into changing their description of the location so others would not have the same problem. (I recommend not paying 100% up fronty for accommodation that may be based on out of date information).

By the way - Costa Rica is amazing - sorry this sounds so negative - just intended as a 'heads up'

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for a week with family in a 3 bedroom condo at Sunrise. Seeing other hotels and condos in Tamarindo, the location couldn't be beat (other than maybe by Diria which has a section right on the beach). You basically walked through the complex, across the small street and you were on the beach. You could also easily walk to restaurants, shops, and grocery stores within a block or two.

The complex and pool were kept clean and secure. I believe condos are each individually managed and rented out by owners, so commenting on an individual condo may not reflect the experience of other condos. We stayed in #17 Casa de Murales and were happy with the condo's location, amenities, and cleanliness. We did not have a view of the beach, but with personal steps from the condo down one flight of stairs onto the pool patio, it was very convienent.

Shop around within Sunrise Condos for your best deal, but the complex itself is a great spot in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: Only higher condos will have a view of the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCL_JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We really enjoyed staying in Unit #43 at Sunrise Condominiums. Our first time visit we didn't know what to expect in regarding to proximity but we found ourselves right smack-dab in the middle of the action. The condo is furnished nicely with 2 twin beds in one room and a queen in the other. Perfect for our group which included 2 adult men and 2 adult women who were non couples. The condo overlooks the Pacific Ocean. The kitchen was well equipped and the appliances worked well. We chose a condo over a hotel room for more space an privacy and were very pleasantly surprised. We received hotel quality service with the comfort we were looking for.

The condo seems very well kept, and the pool is cleaned daily. We also noticed a crew repainting and maintenancing the building.

Staff - The staff in the office was great! Very friendly, polite and helpful. I lost my contacts in the pool on the first day and the young man in the office very graciously called around to several locations to find an Optometrist that was open on a Sunday.

If I decide to spend more time in Tamarindo I would definitely stay at the Sunrise Condos again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

You cannot beat the location of this place, and the overall cost of staying here, vs a hotel like the Diria or Barcelo.
We stayed here for 3 weeks, ate out almost everyday, daily trips or surfing, and for all of that, we paid less than the competing hotels for just a week and a half.
Thats a deal, however, we did get robbed one evening while we were away for dinner.
We did manage to escape without too much lost, but still, it hurts to have to replace priceless memories like photographs.

Room Tip: don't stay on the ground floor, or near the pools if you want peace and quiet. Unless you have a family, then it is perfect
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews