We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza in Tamarindo”
Review of Pizzeria La Baula

Pizzeria La Baula
Ranked #23 of 191 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Una pizzeria con una atmosfera unica, un ambiente acogedor,casual y de entorno agradable... el mejor lugar para cenar en Tamarindo!Nuestro menu es especializado en pizzas a la carta, ensaladas, variedad de vinos, postres y nuestros famosos gelatos.Ademas contamos con mesas al aire libre, columpios y tobogan para ninos.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“great pizza in Tamarindo”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I were here roughly a week and we knew that we couldn't eat Costa Rican food everyday so La Baula was our fix for good comfort food during our stay.

La Baula serves up really good thin crust style pizza with all your standard pizza flavors and toppings that just can't go wrong. I would also recommend getting their smoothies which were very refreshing!

I also really enjoyed the ambiance of the place which I found very comforting. La Baula has open exposed seating with no walls and tables are communal and family styled. The place does get crowded during busy dinner times so I would recommend arriving a bit earlier.

The staff is also great and extremely friendly, and the prices are very reasonable. All around a must-go in Tamarindo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    310
    68
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had pizza here twice, while visiting with our young kids. La Baula offers a wide selection of thin-crust pizzas, and between the three adults and two kids, we sampled a variety of them. All of the food is very good and reasonably priced.

There is a small playground area, which the kids absolutely loved. Each night, it was packed with kids, so they made some new friends (at least until the food arrived!). The main dining area is covered, but there are some additional seats located closer to the playground for those who want to keep a closer eye on their kids.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sacleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find, a neighbor said it was good....”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The service was outstanding, the pizza delicious and the entire place showed the staff is in love with their job and the boss is in love with the staff. That kind of attitude really makes dining a nice experience.

We ordered a combo and a couple things are items I usually will pick off...didn't need to this time! The mushrooms were flavorful and nicely sliced and the olive were not overbearing.

Great food, great place!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tamarindoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Thin crust pizzas”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I did not go for probably 6 months
Now they open at 5.30 and not 6.00
We arrived at 6.00 and waited 50 minutes for pizzas
Normally the service is quick
We left at 7.00 and we noticed the service was faster
The quality is all the time good service very friendly and we forgot
About the waiting time
Nice option for Tamarindo very good thin crust pizzas

Helpful?
Thank Jcbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Dining Option in Tamarindo”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The pizza was very good. Thin crust with very good cheese. The dining area is open. You can order pizzas to go as well. Friendly people, good service. Prices are very reasonable. Kind of hidden on a dirt road back behind the main part of town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mick3504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Baula also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pizzeria La Baula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing