We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but Nothing Special”
Review of Pizzeria La Baula

Pizzeria La Baula
Ranked #22 of 189 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Una pizzeria con una atmosfera unica, un ambiente acogedor,casual y de entorno agradable... el mejor lugar para cenar en Tamarindo!Nuestro menu es especializado en pizzas a la carta, ensaladas, variedad de vinos, postres y nuestros famosos gelatos.Ademas contamos con mesas al aire libre, columpios y tobogan para ninos.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, but Nothing Special”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Maybe I was just oversold on how good it would be, but I was not that impressed. Don't get me wrong, the pizza was pretty good, but compared to other places in town it didn't quite stand out enough to me in terms of taste and difference. It's getting a very good rating mainly because it's a fun place to hang out and enjoy the company of friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendanWenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    306
    65
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Tamarindo”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hands down the best place for Pizza in Tamarindo. If you are travelling to this area I would say stopping at La Baula is a must. Service was a little slow, but hey, whats the rush. It's a very fairly priced place as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great thin crust pizza!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Pizza was fantastic. We arrived before it got crowded and was sat immediately. Service was a little slow to start, but wasn't an issue after our order was taken. Had to order a third pizza halfway thru our meal, and it came out quicker than the first two. All in all, great pizza and good atmosphere. Pura Vida!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GirlLovesToTravel_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We love the very thin crust Pizza at La Baula. Service is sometimes a bit slow, but we always eat there when we're in Tamarindo.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GranadaHillsAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere, slow service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went on Saturday night early (6:00pm) we ordered drinks and pizza right away and they came out relatively fast. The pizza was great and we really enjoyed it. After they brought out the pizza no one came to our table in 15-20 min. I wanted another beer but no one ever came. We finally flagged someone down for our check and left after playing. Overall the food was great and the atmosphere was good, I'd just suggest getting your check when you get your food otherwise expect to wait for a while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdanielsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Baula also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pizzeria La Baula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing