We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfats - good value.”
Review of Nogui's

Nogui's
Ranked #27 of 191 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfats - good value.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very nice beach front seating so a beautiful view with pretty good breakfast options. Can't speak to other other meals as we only ate breakfats here. A breakfast fruit sandwich (raisin bread with cinnamon spread, mixed fruit and a flavoured cream on the side) plus a breakfast croissant with scrambled egg, cheese, and bacon inside and a couple of big fresh fruit smoothies was about $25-30 with tip and tax in). Great value and flavour for the money and a view to die for!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    489
    151
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stop, recommended by a local”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to eat after getting rained out of the beach, a local recommended Nogui's. The atmosphere was great, (aside from the occasional "salesperson", they just walked through, didn't harass us) a great view of the beach, and cool shops nearby. The food wasn't the best, but was good enough I would go back. Your best bet is to go for fish, or the shrimp tacos. They're tortillas are fantastic, as well as the potron margartia. Service was fantastic, and I can't say it was more or less expensive than anything else. Pretty much everywhere we ate was expensive. I think we spent $50-$60 for two people; margaritas, water, shrimp tacos, fish, and pie. I also can't say it was the best pie...ever, but the apple pie a la mode was pretty scrumptious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank co30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to watch Sunset!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great Happy Hour specials and an amazing location for sunset. The staff and owner are some of the friendliest people in town! Whether you are looking for a great meal, cocktail and sunset or the best Pie around, Noguis is definatley the place to be!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKFitLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Pie in Town”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We came, we saw and we ate the best coconut cream pie...ever
The menu had much more and our dinner was outstanding but we really came for the desert.
We were not disappointed.
The area at night can seem alittle seedy but stay in well lit areas and off the beach. No problems.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MapleLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff and view, average food”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Location is great especially for sunset. Food was just okay and expensive. Expected better at that price. Our waiter was great and very friendly.

When parking bypass the random dude in the circle. When you make it around toward the end of the circle there are spots in front of a surf shop usually open (in August at least) and they have free parking written both in english and español. It is actually all free parking but you can dodge this guy who truly believes that they are his spots.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hagotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nogui's also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nogui's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing