We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay at in Tamarindo!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FT's Tamarindo Cabinas
Ranked #35 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to stay at in Tamarindo!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners are really friendly and make you feel like you are at home. If we ever return to Tamarindo we would love to stay here again! Good food and excellent location near the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belliz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTSTamarindo, Owner at FT's Tamarindo Cabinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We appreciate the great recommendation! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We got into town late and were having trouble finding a reasonably priced hostel when we found FT's. The owners are really nice and they went out of there way to make us feel comfortable. Im very picky about where I sleep but the rooms where recently remodeled and are super clean. The sheets were silky soft, the mattresses were nice and firm and I slept like a log. They have AC, a fan and private bath. I especially liked the hooks for hanging towels and the large shelf to organize all our stuff. They also have a restaurant. The food was great and so was the service. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the center of town. For the price... you can't beat FT's in Tamarindo!! Cheers to Jay and Allison.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTSTamarindo, Owner at FT's Tamarindo Cabinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Cheers to you for such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it! Thanks for choosing FT's Cabinas, we really enjoyed having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

FT's is a great restaurant / Hostel style accodations in the core of Tamarindo.
After some other travelling mishaps, we arrived at FT's and the owners were extremely friendly and made us feel at home. The location is very clean, the bed and sheets are much closer to what you would expect at a resort, and the food is fantastic. Less than 100m to the beach, you can hear the waves at night. The rooms have a circulation fan, as well as an AC unit, private bathroom, and a television.
At lunch/dinner time, FT's is a happening location, with free fuseball, pool, and professional sports on large screen TVs. While we were there, everyone (even in other places around town), kept raving about the Burritos at FT's. Not particularly liking burritos, I was reluctant at first, but once I caved and tried one I began to eat them daily for the remainder of our stay.
If at any point you run into any issues, Jay and Allison are more than accommodating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trevorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTSTamarindo, Owner at FT's Tamarindo Cabinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks so much for the recommendation, we really appreciate it! Having guests like you guys make this an easy job! Thanks again for all the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at FT's, and had a blast the whole time! Jay and Allison are amazing owners and really made us feel at home. The sheets on the bed were super soft, and we even got clean bath towels. Don't forget to enjoy a burrito, or many at their restaurant!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTSTamarindo, Owner at FT's Tamarindo Cabinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are thrilled you felt at home here; we really want people to be comfortable here! You guys were such awesome guests, thanks so much for finding us (and for all the laughs) :). We appreciate you taking the time to post such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I was in tamarindo for a couple weeks, attending the witch's rock surf camp across the street and staying at a hotel down the street. Due to some unforeseen circumstances, including I wasn't quite ready to leave the beautiful beach, I spent a single night in the cabanas above FT Burrito. I had already enjoyed many, many fantastic meals there, and Allyson and Jay had treated me like family,..
The room was clean, and felt secure. It's in a great location, especially given the more than affordable price! No problems encountered with TV, AC, toilet nor shower. Yes, toilet paper is disposed of in the bin not the toilet, and yes this is common in Costa Rica. The shower was lukewarm rather than hot, which is also pretty common, and I was pre-informed of this as well.
Overall, I was happy with my short stay there and would not hesitate to return :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank bonniebaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTSTamarindo, Owner at FT's Tamarindo Cabinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Such a fantastic review from one of our most fantastic guests! Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review, we really do appreciate it. Hope to have you stay again should you find yourself on this beautiful beach again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been traveling throughout Costa Rica and Panama for about a month and this is by far the best place I have found and payed about the same as everywhere else. It is a perfect split between hostel and hotel with private rooms and en-suite bathrooms. The new owners have put in so much work to make the place supremely comfortable, clean, and bug-less. Soft sheets, new pillows, and nice towels along with an a/c that would turn you into an ice cube overnight if you wanted, are all extremely rare luxuries to be found here in Central America. There is a big front gate that they lock at night which adds complete security, but they provide you a key to let yourself in after a long night of dancing to latino music at The Monkey Bar. They are extremely hospitable and make you feel at home and a part of their family. We stayed a total of 5 nights and were so sad to leave them.
The restaurant and bar out front is also full of nice people and the food is also the best I have found for the price. They have a huge menu offering a few different types of food, but I highly suggest ordering the shredded chicken burrito with everything in it! I have been missing my Mexican food from home, and the huge burrito fulfilled my withdrawals so much that I ate 1 of them almost every day I was in town. They also sell "gorditas" which is a huge beer the size of about two and a half beers for 1500 colones (the price of 1.5 regular beers). Cheers!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTSTamarindo, Owner at FT's Tamarindo Cabinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I enjoyed this review almost as much as I enjoyed having you guys stay here! You guys were such a fun, awesome group!! Thanks for such an amazing and positive review, we really do appreciate all the great comments. We love what we do because of wonderful guests like yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had the best stay at FTs, the rooms were super clean, the owners were accommodating, funny and great to hang around, the location is directly across from the beach (100meters) and one of the best surf shops. Not only was the hostel great but the restaurant in front has the best burritos and probably the cheapest you can find especially during high season! if you're in tamarindo definitely see if they have room!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 498Lauren94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTSTamarindo, Owner at FT's Tamarindo Cabinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the great post and for the recommendations! We are glad you enjoyed your stay & appreciate all your kind words! Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Marielos
Cabinas Marielos
#47 of 78 in Tamarindo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Zullymar
Cabinas Zullymar
#45 of 78 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Aura
Casa Aura
#18 of 49 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsunami Surf Hostel
Tsunami Surf Hostel
#18 of 78 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Amarilla
Hotel Villa Amarilla
#7 of 49 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FT's Tamarindo Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FT's Tamarindo Cabinas

Property: FT's Tamarindo Cabinas
Address: Main Beach Road | frente a Witchis rock, Tamarindo 11111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FT's Tamarindo offers 6 great rooms, right across the street from the best surf break in Tamarindo. Rooms include A/C, TVs and private bathrooms. It's by far the best deal in town and best location for your money. Once again, you're across the street from the beach and just steps from all of the shopping, clubbing and dining that Tamarindo has to offer. The rooms are extremely clean and completely secure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing