We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice start to a "too short vacation"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of FT's Tamarindo Restaurant - CLOSED

FT's Tamarindo Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, Mexican, Thai, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located 100 meters from the beach across from Witchs Rock Surf Camp. FT's has great food, with large portions for a great price. There is something for everyone. We offer a pool table, fooseball, and darts. With having 3 big TV's there is always a game to watch.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice start to a "too short vacation"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I's first meal after arriving in Tamarindo was at FT's. After reading all the other reviews on Tripadvisor, and craving some Casado, we decided to give it a try. I had the Pescado Casado and my wife had the Camarones Casado. Both meals were very generously portioned, and seasoned and cooked to perfection. To start the meal we each ordered a smoothie. I had the Guanabana, a sweet delicious treat, and my wife had the pina colada. again, and excellent choice. After the meal, we had a dessert that was a tropical banana split. This had watermelon, papaya, mango, and pineapple chunks with two small scoops of vanilla ice cream and chocolate drizzled over the top. Taste of dessert was excellent, but portion was kinda small. All in all, an excellent meal at a good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandRoseStefka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    73
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Yummy Burritos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My family and I ate here upon arriving in tamarindo. It is located on the main drag and is not on but near the beach. These burritos were huge and delicious and only $6. The quesadillas were also good. Their margaritas are made with a bottle of mix, so they were decent. The guacamole was pretty good as well. Overall we liked the place and will probably return for the burritos. Another good thing is they have Costa Rican and Mexican food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We loved FT's. We got lunch "to go" from here 2 out of our 7 days in town. If I returned to Tamarindo again, I'd probably eat here everyday. The fish tacos are amazing. Large in size, with generous amounts of guacamole, slaw, and white fish that is well seasoned. We also had a chicken burrito that was good, but I wish I could get these tacos in Denver!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachaelDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Burrito and Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Outstanding ice cold Imperial after a surf. Beer was kept in a cooler on ice. Got a custom made fresh shrimp burrito. Excellent...great price, very convenient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surferjdbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and awesome value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Unfortunately, we went to FT's only once during our trip. Whenever I'm in Tamarindo I always order fish and/or casado. I think FT's has the best in Tamarindo! My husband got the fish tacos, and they were amazing as well with a healthy sized filet in each taco. Very delicious and will definitely be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanneS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FT's Tamarindo Restaurant also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing