We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
184
31
14
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
31
14
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room super chill costa rica surf lessons super close to the beach place to stay good vibes nice pool moment you arrive air conditioning communal kitchen second home swimming pool is quiet location pura vida other guests in town
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 252 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Big thanks to all the staff at backpackers for the amazing hospitality! The place is clean and comfortable and all the people were super nice! I had an unforgettable 7 day stay in Tamarindo and will definitely be back in the future :)

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017

I stayed at the Tamarindo Backpackers for 1 week with my boyfriend and our best friend in the 10 person dorm. I thought 10 people in 1 room would be crowded and potentially hectic but it was the complete opposite. Everyone was quiet and respectful, not to mention that they were all great people inside and out. Hostels are great for meeting people from all around the world who have similar interests to you. This hostel is very well kept and the staff is AMAZING. We gained so much knowledge and insight from our late night chats with Lucas. Everyone here is so open and friendly, you immediately feel like you're a part of their big happy family. Shout out to Alex, Camille and Pratt for being equally as awesome! Thanks again guys! We'll definitely be back :) xxx

Room tip: All the rooms are great, even in the 10 person dorm you don't feel privacy invasion. Really depends on what you're looking for. :)
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

My stay was short but it was so cool, the staff is super chill everybody is so relaxed and gives out that good vibe next time I go to Tamarindo I will not even think of staying anywhere else, it is a fun relax hostel, stay here!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

10/10 Tamarindo Backpackers was like a home for both myself and my girlfriend. We went for a tour around Costa Rica and ended up loving our first stop (Tamarindo Backpackers) so much that we changed our vacation plans around so that we could come back at the end of our trip for round 2! Also if you're in the mood for learning how to surf, ask about SALT (Surf As Life Therapy). Elias runs an amazing surf school!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017

Tamarindo Backpackers is a cozy and clean place where everyone feels welcome. The positive vibes spread by the fantastic staff crew just makes you stay longer than you ever thought! It's guaranteed that you will meet great people with inspiring stories to tell. The crew is more like a big family that welcomes you to their home which makes the Hostel absolutely unique. Everyone has ones different special quality and will help you with any kinds of needs you have. Going out taking a surf class with Elias, check out the sunset at langosta beach and enjoy the barbecue made by Elias family is absolutely fulfilling and something you just have to do during your stay. Thanks to the amazing staff and chapeau to Dan, the very best manager who never gets tired on helping you out! It was just incredibly amazing to get stuck in this beautiful vortex with you guys! Gracias por todos,
Ayla (Cologne, Germany)

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews