We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best/cleanest in Tamarindo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarindo Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
“The best/cleanest in Tamarindo”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

When my buddy and i got to Tamarindo we asked around which hostel we should check into. The first answer we got was Tamarindo backpackers. As soon as we got to this place, we were greeted by amazing staff and friendly travelers. Within days we were well in our comfort zone, having close friendly relationships with all the staff members and other guests. I have not needed anything during my stay but any want/need/question a guest might have is immediately seen to by smiling faces. The vibe here is like no other, walk 5 minutes to the beach, or lounge around all day listening to music of your choice in the comfy hammocks or by the pool. I couldn't ask for better service and when i did experience some personal issues, the staff members took me as one of their own and made sure they did everything they could to help me out. Anne (the owner) and Chris are some of the most genuine people i have ever met. If you're lucky you will meet Daniel, a cool Venezuelan dude who works at the hostel and brings nothing but smiles to everyone. Not to mention his cooking, if you buy the ingredients he will make you a meal unlike any other food you've tasted. I haven't seen a single insect in the sleeping quarters, and the place is cleaned top to bottom daily by friendly cleaning ladies. Everything is within a short walk and you can expect to see monkeys playing in the trees above every morning. Weather you're staying for a night or a month, you can't beat this place. We will be returning for sure. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    27
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
31
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Booked to stay here for 3 nights in January and ended up staying 2 weeks!

When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Chris and shown around, the dorm we had was spacious with fresh sheets and comfortable beds also good air con at night. The kitchen, pool area and common area were clean and well maintained and outside there were plenty of hammocks, chairs and sunloungers to relax on.

The location of the hostel was a 5 minute walk to the beach, supermarkets and bars and restaurants. Nice to be close enough to walk to all the amenities however far enough away to not get any of the noise and bustle.

Whats so great about TB is that it draws such a diverse group of people, It's very rare to find a hostel that feels so much like a family. Aswell as having great owners who are very friendly but also give good advice. Ann arranged our transfer onto Montezuma for us and everything went to plan which is not always the case in Costa Rica.

Only small negative is the pool which is very small however with the hostel being less than 5 minute walk to the sea it is not really a problem.

Having travelled for 4 months, this is our favourite hostel we have stayed at so far. Although it is hard to put your finger on, there is something special about the hostel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint hostel in Tamarindo owned by a young couple. It's a short 5 minute walk to the beach and pretty much walking distance to everything in Tamarindo. My wife and I rented the private room with the bathroom. The rooms were tidy but, could use a little updating. It was clean and affordable and the staff were super friendly and helpful. Every single recommendation was awesome. They took care of all our bookings, surf lessons, airport transfers, scuba diving. Told us where to eat, best spot for sunsets and were just generally all around cool people. This hostel offers a vibe that can't be had at other spots. Travelers young and old from all corners of the world mingle in the common areas. We were a little skeptical when we arrived but, it was a great experience and an awesome vacation!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank waldo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending a month at this wonderful hostel in beautiful Tamarindo. Directly on arrival you feel welcomed and involved in Backpackers family. Which makes it a perfect place to stay if your traveling on your own like I did. And regardless if you travel on your own or with friends or family you will make new good friends at this Place!

The hostel location is perfect with walking distance to both Tamarindo and Langosta beach or downtown to the bars and restaurants of Tamarindo.

Anne and Chris are wonderful hosts and will help you with any needs to book tours, surfing lessons or shuttle service, etc. I'm already looking forward to go back "home" to Tamarindo Backpackers.

Jonas Burenius/Sweden

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragoncito76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Tamarindo Backpackers is the place to be if you want to enjoy your time in Tamarindo, whether you travel with your friends, your family, or alone !

The team is welcoming and will make everything possible for you to feel at home, and provide you with advice about the different activities you can do ! You will make a lot of new friends there !

The location of Tamarindo Backpackers is perfect : close to the most beautiful beaches by day, and to the main bars by night !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Tamarindo itself is heaven, but Tamarindo Backpackers provides you this wonderful family while you're there. The hostel is clean (and cleaned thoroughly every day), super safe, and has comfortable beds. We stayed in both the dorms and a private room, and both were great options. Both options have air conditioning; the private has a flat-screen tv. The kitchen is fantastic, and fully loaded with everything you need to make your own meals. The location is about a 10 minute trek into the main town of Tamarindo, but is perfect as there are two beaches within walking distance (Tamarindo and Langosta). The staff are incredible (ask Daniel to make you an arepa!), and the owners Chris and Anne are so welcoming, helpful, and jovial. After a long day of surfing or sailing, it was so delightful to come back to a relaxing, refreshing pool and napping in the hammocks. Amazing spot to rest your head combined with the best people you'll meet in CR makes this hostel unforgettable. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtc109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A hostel should be a place for travelers to meet and share their stories, and make new stories.

This place does exactly that. Cricket on the beach, drinks at the bar (own bar, own drinks) and diner at Langosta Beach Club. Best place, where you will find even better company!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjoerrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#4 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
#9 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Backpackers

Property: Tamarindo Backpackers
Address: West of Supermarket 2001, turn left at Kahiki then 2nd road on the right at the end of the cul-de-sac, | Tamarindo, Guanacaste 50309, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarindo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Backpackers is a boutique beach hostel. Anne the owner works very hard to improve the hostel on a daily basis. Tamarindo Backpackers is a small, friendly place to stay just minutes from the beach. Get to know fellow travelers in the communal kitchen or chilling by the pool. Its a super friendly and fun atmosphere. We are the Lonely Planet Guide recommended hostel in Tamarindo for several years running! Here's what Lonely Planet has to say about us: "Our favorite hostel in Tamarindo, this intimate, all-star backpacker spot, in a gorgeous yellow hacienda is big enough to make new friends . . . small enough to feel more like home. The common kitchen area has a large, full-stocked shared Kitchen, cable TV and FREE coffee. Dorm and private rooms are clean and comfy. Outside, you will find lovely tropical gardens, small pool and hammocks, all surrounded by woods where you'll hear howler monkeys every morning".- By Lonely Planet 2011. The author's choice from ALL hostels in Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tamarindo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing