We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and amazing staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarindo Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great atmosphere and amazing staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hostel is fab, the staff are all super friendly and helpful and it has a great relaxed atmosphere.
I stayed for over a week whilst at spanish & surf school and had a great time.(and they always helped me with my homework). It's clean, nice rooms and comfortable beds. And well equipped kitchen. Swimming pool is a nice added bonus.
Wish I could go back now!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    27
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
31
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Tamarindo Backpackers is the perfect hostel! Nice, spacious dorms with A/C included in the price, clean bathrooms and very nice kitchen. The best part is the beautiful outdoor swimming pool surrounded by deckchairs. The staff are so nice and play really good music all day. I only stayed 3 nights but I wish I could have stayed 3 weeks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This Hostel is very nice. Great people and very clean! I stayed there one week and I had a lot of fun! There is a big kitchen so we can cook there, the rooms are clean and there is possibility to have AC. There is a pool which is great when its very hot! The beach is at 5 minutes of walk and you can have surf lesson! The Main Street is near so you can go to the restaurant and go out at the bars by walk!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile du Cap aux Meules, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Would go back there anytime, one of my best stay in Costa Rica. Great place, close to the beach (about 3 minutes walking), clean, friendly, and with a pool.. What else do you need really? The dorms was good too, and with AC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NouumD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in a private room for 3 nights, and at first glance everything was great. Everyone who worked there was super chill, friendly and ready to party with you.

Unfortunately there was a bat stuck in the ceiling of my room, and would flap around like crazy at night which kept me up (not to mention freak me out!). The shower was less than desirable -- the water pressure was so weak that you literally had to stand against the back wall to catch a dribble of water. The screen was broken on the window, and bats would fly in at night, so in the morning the shower was covered in bat droppings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PermanentSabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annietamarindo, Owner at Tamarindo Backpackers, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Tamarindo Backpackers has new owners and we are on site almost all the time. We have hired a new cleaner, who works full time at the hostel as we are committed to having the cleanest and most comfortable hostel in Tamarindo. Please come back and visit us again so we can show you how much we've improved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The guide book describes this as a hacienda and it is exactly this. Go surfing in the morning and then chill in the afternoon to tunes and beers by the pool in the sun: perfecto.

OK, so there's a little walk to get here but we're talking 10 minutes here so it's nothing any of us haven't don't before. But your reward is a safe, friendly and well above average hostel.

If you need another reason to choose here then the staff are the real gems. They will look after you and help you with anything you want - beer; surf instruction, doctor, fishing, restaurant recommendations - they could not have been more friendly or accommodating.

I'll be coming back here when I hit Tamarindo again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RippedNipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked for 3 nights here over New Year's Eve months in advance through the hostel's website, and was told a week before that they wouldn't honor my reservation. I was in Tamarindo early and luckily decided to check on my booking. The guy on reception when I asked to check told me that "Hoselworld didn't send the reservation through" (the hostel uses Hostelworld as their booking portal). This was obviously not the case, as I got an email from them later telling me they had a problem with a dorm and couldn't take my booking, and needed to return my deposit.

Their suggested alternative of somewhere to stay was not a realistic option as it was 3 times the price and required a 5 night minimum stay. They offered no other assistance, despite leaving me with nowhere to stay at the worst possible time of the year. I had to scramble to find somewhere at the last minute, which was not an additional stress I needed.

Also, the hostel is just about the furthest place to stay from the beach. I would recommend finding somewhere closer and more reliable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilithangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annietamarindo, Owner at Tamarindo Backpackers, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

I'm so sorry about what happened to you. Tamarindo Backpackers has new owners and we are on reception all day to make sure things like this never happens. We have a new system for tracking bookings and try to always be as helpful and happy as possible. Please come back so we can make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 78 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#4 of 78 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
#9 of 78 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Backpackers

Property: Tamarindo Backpackers
Address: West of Supermarket 2001, turn left at Kahiki then 2nd road on the right at the end of the cul-de-sac, | Tamarindo, Guanacaste 50309, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarindo Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Backpackers is a boutique beach hostel. Anne the owner works very hard to improve the hostel on a daily basis. Tamarindo Backpackers is a small, friendly place to stay just minutes from the beach. Get to know fellow travelers in the communal kitchen or chilling by the pool. Its a super friendly and fun atmosphere. We are the Lonely Planet Guide recommended hostel in Tamarindo for several years running! Here's what Lonely Planet has to say about us: "Our favorite hostel in Tamarindo, this intimate, all-star backpacker spot, in a gorgeous yellow hacienda is big enough to make new friends . . . small enough to feel more like home. The common kitchen area has a large, full-stocked shared Kitchen, cable TV and FREE coffee. Dorm and private rooms are clean and comfy. Outside, you will find lovely tropical gardens, small pool and hammocks, all surrounded by woods where you'll hear howler monkeys every morning".- By Lonely Planet 2011. The author's choice from ALL hostels in Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tamarindo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing