We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a truly wonderful experience!”
other travelers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Front of the Property Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
198 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Front of the Property
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Al Fresco Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Front Entrance
Water Feature As You Enter the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Jungle Pool Seating
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 198 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Angie_Jam...
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a truly wonderful experience!”
Reviewed July 21, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Loved everything about Costa Rica and the Pura Vida House!
Jorge and Stephanie were so attentive to our requests and helped us to set up our "Adventure Day" which was a huge hit- We especially enjoyed the kayak rafting followed by the hot springs!! Spent many early mornings and nights on the patio of the house laying in hammocks and spotting the monkeys in the trees, Also loved the rocking chairs : )
Walked many times to Lolas and would spend the day there eating, drinking and watching surfers. Wonderful place!! Also enjoyed our night in Tamarindo that Jorge and Stephanie set up. Dinner outside on the beach at sunset was spectacular!

Thank you so much Jorge and Stephanie!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, greatly appreciated!

And thank you for the kind words about us, it was a pleasure interacting with you before and during your trip, and having the opportunity to suggest our favorite activities and spots!

Thank you so much for choosing us for your vacation in Costa Rica, hope to meet you all sometime soon!

Pura vida amigos!! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye10...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful base - so much to do!”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
4
people found this review helpful

The Pura Vida House is beautiful, very clean and well maintained. Sitting by the pool or lounging in one of the hammocks you can hear and see the birds, sometimes see cows in the distance, and even hear howler monkeys from time to time. The house sits in a section of Hacienda Pinilla which is a huge gated estate with pasture land that includes the Beach Club, the JW Marriott, a golf course and is so large we didn't explore most of it. Some houses are still being built so expect some construction. Back to Pura Vida House The kitchen is well equipped if you want to self-cater, and there was more room than our family needed. We rented a car, which we couldn't really have managed without. We loved going to the Beach Club, and Playa Avellana. We went on a bio-diversity boat ride, and went to the Diamonte Eco Adventure Park (fantastic ziplines and a great animal santuary / zoo). In many ways, the biggest advantage of Pura Vida House is Jorge and Stephanie, the owners. Jorge was very friendly and focused on helping us make the most of our trip from the moment of first inquiring about the house. He is ready with advice at any time, and he will help with taking care of booking anything you are interested in. I can't speak highly enough of the service he brings. He gave us some great advice on the things that would be good, and not so good to do with our 3 year old.

Word of warning - Some of the smaller roads are very potholed. Not impassable and 4 wheel drive was not needed, but it can be a rough ride. All part of the experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2018
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, really appreciate it!

We loved hosting you and the family at our villa and it makes us very happy to hear that you had a good time at the resort, as well as visiting different spots around.

Thank you for taking such good care of the villa and for the great communication before and during your stay!

Please know that you now have 2 new friends in both Guanacaste, as well as in OH :-)

Hope to see you both sometime up north! Pura vida!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elijah F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing group get away”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The villa when you walk in is stunning. Beautiful private pool and lush vegetation. We immediately hit up the Beach Club and it was just as wonderful. But nothing compared to graciousness of Jorge (the owner). I fell in love with Costa Rica and the Pura Vida House. Must see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2018
Thank you so much for leaving us a review, appreciate it!

So happy to hear that you all liked the villa and Beach Club! And thank you for the very kind words about us, it was so nice for us to get to see you and the group several times during the week, and show you our little piece of Costa Rica!

Hope to see you again soon, either in Costa Rica or up north!

Pura vida amigo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singermj
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing vacation with kids?”
Reviewed May 24, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful vacation home for families with young kids! Our group was made up of 2 families- 5 adults and 4 kids under 5 years old and it was truly perfect. The pool and fountains at the house were wonderful in the mornings and the golf carts were perfect to take us to the beach club and around the property. Would definitely recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2018
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, we know how busy you are, so really appreciate it!

Very happy to hear that you liked the villa and were able to relax with your kids and family, that's a "pura vida" vacation :-)

Please let us know if you're ever in OH in the summer!

Pura vida amigos!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnloss
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Wow... what an amazing week we had! Steohanie and Jorge were our personal concierge for the week! They took care of absolutely everything! The villa is beautiful and provided everything we needed. We wanted a place where we could all be together as a family and this villa provided just that. From the moment we finalized the booking until we were safely home, Steohanie and Jorge were there for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, really appreciate it!

We're so happy to hear that you and the family had a nice relaxing time together, well deserved!

It was our pleasure hosting you at our Pura Vida House at Hacienda Pinilla, thank you for choosing us as your villa for your vacation in Costa Rica :-)

You now have 2 new friends in both OH as well as in Guanacaste, Costa Rica, hope to meet you soon!

Pura vida amigos!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle...
1 review
“Luxury in Costa Rica”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a place! The house is new, beautifully designed and built; complete with lush gardens and gorgeous outdoor spaces. We loved swimming in the pool, eating our meals at the outside table, and lounging in the hammocks. Having use of the golf carts was wonderful…we explored all over Hacienda Pinilla. We toured the beautiful beaches, lounged at the Beach Club, and relaxed at the JW Marriott. We played tennis and pickleball, went on walks and hikes, had massages on the beach, and took some day trips for zip-lining and visiting Tamarindo. Steph and Jorge are fantastic…great hosts and lovely people!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2018
Thank you so much for trusting us with your vacation, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a kind review!

We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and Hacienda Pinilla, and we hope you are all having a wonderful spring back home!

Your new friends in Costa Rica, pura vida!!
Jorge & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet240832
1 review
“Great golf, great tennis, great beach, great food, great excursions”
Reviewed May 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2017

Not only do Steph and Jorge make you feel at home and comfortable, but all the things you dream about a home are at Pure Vida House: Golf and tennis around the corner, a world-class beach very near, great excursions to the turtle charge, exotic creatures, funny monkeys, horse riding on the beach, great zip lines and more. You can rest when you are back home. The food is (If you choose to have it fixed for you.) is Costa Rican and very wholesome as well as delicious. If it sounds like Paradise, well.......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2018
Thank you so much for the very nice review, we really appreciate it! It was great hosting you all, and having the opportunity to show you our part of Costa Rica :-)

It makes us very happy that you went on several activities that are unique to Costa Rica, and enjoyed them all!

Our doors are always open for you at Hacienda Pinilla, Guanacaste, hope to see you again soon ... pura vida!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing