We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Costa Rican Visit”
other travelers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
195 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Front Entrance
Front of the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Water Feature as You Enter the Villa
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Enjoy the Fresh Air
Outdoor Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Most Comfortable Beach Chairs in Costa Rica
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 195 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jim G
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Authentic Costa Rican Visit”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A very well-run establishment! Jorge and Stephanie are tremendous attentive hosts, who are always trying to make your trip more enjoyable. We've often stayed at all-inclusive resorts, where, other than the weather, you may as well be in the U.S.. This mini-resort offers authentic Costa Rican food, prepared by Pastora, a very fine Costa Rican cook. The area is not a resort with hundreds or thousands of tourists. You can walk around and see the simple approach to living in the neighborhood, These Costa Rican homes have 20-30 chickens each, along with ducks, geese, turkeys, cows, pigs, etc. They have papaya and mango trees, along with their gardens. I really enjoyed just relaxing in one of the well-shaded hammocks. For adventure, we rode horses, that were very well-trained and guided by one of the locals. It was the best horseback riding I've ever experienced. We played tennis. We snorkeled at at an incredibly beautiful nearby beach. We got professional relaxing massages at the beach for only $20 for an hour. We cooled off in the small, but well-maintained pool. We visited the farmer's market at the nearby city of Santa Cruz. Did I mention that I often layed in the hammock and relaxed? I'll miss that hammock.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2015
Thank you very much for the kind and descriptive review, I'm sure those especially show potential future guests what it's like here.

We had a very great time meeting you guys and spending time with you, such amazing and interesting people. We hope our paths cross again - our your way, if you're ever in Ohio, or down here again in CR!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjcook9
Havre de Grace, Maryland
2 reviews
“Abslolutely incredible experience!”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Absolutely fantastic trip. First time at a Bed and Breakfast and it exceeded all expectations - Jorge and Steph are such wonderful hosts and really made it all about making sure their guests were happy. Tennis, beach, turtles, SNUBA, ziplines, horses...would love to bring my kids to experience it. Home Costa Rican cooking - just FANTASTIC!!!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2015
Thanks so much for the review, we had a wonderful, wonderful time with you, and we're so happy you had such great adventures while you were here :-)

We hope you're doing well and it's not too cold up there yet!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great place to relax and have fun at the same time”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you are looking for relax, adventure and nature this is the best place to be. This is a great place for a getaway from the city life and feel home at the same time thanks to wonderful hosts Jorge and Stephanie. They are very knowledgeable about everything and they do everything and beyond to make you feel at home. Great location to be in contact with nature and local people; you can experience the country in a special way. Accommodations are spacious, clean and with beautiful surroundings. The food is authentic and simply delicious. Had the chance to see beautiful beaches and relax at the pool at the Beach club. Enjoyed horse back riding and zip lining. They offer a lot of different activities to do, the fun is for sure included in the package. If you want to experience real Costa Rican life this is the place to be. Highly recommend!!!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Hola! Thank you so much for your review. We hope you're doing well, and hope to cross paths again!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_a...
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slice of Heaven! Pure Vida House is Pura Fun!”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family absolutely adored Pura Vida House- the simple, clean accommodations and the breathtaking environment are only the tip of the iceberg. The true uniqueness of Pura Vida house is the 5-star hospitality of its proprietors', Jorge and Steph. Our family wanted a lot out of this vacation: global experience, local "feel", beach time, exercise, adventure and nature, rest and relaxation, and activities for our sons (9 and 12). We got it all at Pura Vida House. And sleeping every night in the same place rather than running from hotel to hotel was a true delight. A fun "bonus" was spending time with their able advisor, Barb, and their neighborhood cook extraordinaire, Pastora. We came feeling like friends, stayed feeling like home, and left feeling like family- and my sons have already started saving money to return!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2015
Thank you so much for such a nice review, I really think this will also help future guests as you describe so well how our trips go/what type of vacation we are for people who are seeking that type of adventure :-)

We had a wonderful time with you all, it was a true pleasure hosting you. We look forward to getting together soon when we're back up north!

Pura Vida,
Jorge, Stephanie & Barb!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent spring break 2015 at Pura Vida House with Steph & Jorge. It was the best vacation we have ever had together! Jorge, Steph and Barb showed us parts of Costa Rica that we would have never experienced on our own. We shared experiences with locals who were warm and gracious. Our boys (age 13 & 10) were at home and comfortable and can't wait to return. We experienced the rain forest, waterfalls, river boat tour, horse back riding in addition to a few days relaxing on the beach and at different pools. Pura Vida House was more than a bed & breakfast. We felt that we were leaving friends after our week together. Highly recommend!!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and share about your experience with others, we really appreciate it. We had a wonderful time with you all, you are not incorrect in that you have new friends down here, and back up north when we're there :-) We're so happy you all enjoyed your time so much, we know people don't have many opportunities for vacations each year, so it's so important to us that we make it the best possible for those visiting us.

We hope to see you again soon when we head back this year.
Pura Vida,
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best week ever!”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Pura Vida House is like staying with family . . . only stress free! :)
Jorge and Stephanie are great hosts and go out of their way to make your holiday the best it can possibly be. Best of all, you can tailor the experience depending on your preferences. For me, it was a perfect balance of relaxing and adventure. Thanks for a great week Pura Vida House!

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
Ha ha, your first comment cracked me up! :-) Thank you very much for leaving a review, and we're very happy you enjoyed your time down here! We hope the trip back went smoothly, and that you're nice and thawed out up there by now! We hope to see you again soon.

Pura Vida,
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMackMA
Topsfield, MA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go to Pura Vida House to experience the "real" Costa Rica”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were lucky enough to choose Pura Vida House for our first trip to Costa Rica. We made our choice based upon reviews in Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. We were looking to experience the "real" Costa Rica, but did not want to deal with car rental, trip planning etc. Basically we wanted to be "lead around by the nose" and shown the best of what we were interested in. Stephanie, Jorge (and Barbara) sure delivered. After discussing our interests they took care of all of the arrangements. At times they were our guides, and when they were not, they made sure that we were with best local guides around. Because they are such a part of the community, we were very well looked after. They were amazingly organized (making sure that each guest got exactly what they wanted/needed). Whether it was time on the beach, surfing, tennis, or park tours - it was handled with seemingly little effort!! We loved staying away from the tourist areas, and being able to take beautiful hikes right out the back door of the property. We met neighbors, lazed by the pool and enjoyed the company of other guests. Oh - and then there was the food .... amazing. Thank you Pastora. We made new friends on this trip and hope that we will see them again. For a vacation of a lifetime, you NEED to experience what Jorge, Stephanie (and Barbara) have to offer.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. We can't tell you how happy we are that you enjoyed your time so much, and so happy we delivered :-) You guys were a pleasure to have here, and to get to know. You definitely have new Ohio and Costa Rica friends :-) We will definitely be in touch if we are ever up your way, and hope you do the same if you're in the Ohio area when we're around, or of course, down here in Costa Rica again.

Pura Vida!
Jorge, Steph and Barb :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing