We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Costa Rica Vacation”
other travelers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Front of the Property Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
198 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Front of the Property
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Al Fresco Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Front Entrance
Water Feature As You Enter the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Jungle Pool Seating
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 198 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TammynRan...
Hunt Valley, Maryland
1 review
“Authentic Costa Rica Vacation”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Pura Vida House is the perfect place to get a wonderful Costa Rica vacation. Our host Jorge was raised there and is a wealth of information. Jorge, Stephanie and Barbara were the best hosts ever. They ask us what we wanted to do before were got there and coordinated 12 people to get everything done everyone wanted. They spent most of their week driving us around. Tennis was great (Steve and Jorge were great coaches), the beaches were beautiful and all of the trips were enjoyable. Pastora and her daughter cooked wonderful meals for us everyday, cleaned and even did our laundry. My husband loves wildlife and we saw plenty including lots of monkeys, birds and a scorpion. We had 3 birthdays while we were there and they had 3 cakes for us, thanks Stephanie! It was a wonderful vacation with great friends. Would definitely do it again.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2015
Wow, thanks for such a kind review. We had a blast with you guys, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We miss your group already, you were a lot of fun, and definitely look forward to a potential reunion this summer out east.

Pura Vida!
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al B
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I went back & thankfully nothing has changed Jorge, Stephanie, Pastora What a team so upbeat & real. They really have the spiritual gift of hospitality. Oh I forgot & the new pool girl Barb, Great water aerobics. Thanks again for a very nice week. Very relaxing while at your place & very exciting while in the bull ring when they took us to the Rodeo. I will be back.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Thanks for the kind words, we had a great time with you guys, it was nice to be able to spend more time with just you guys your week, we really enjoyed it! Hope to see you guys this summer up north in the near future.

Pura Vida!
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaschidH
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“catch the real flavor of costa rica”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to get the a great experience of Costa Rica and not just the touristy spots then this is the place. Jorge, Stephanie, and crew do a wonderful job making sure you feel at home, from the home cooking of traditional foods to driving you to play tennis, beach, or the rain forest. We went with a large group of friends and we all had options to schedule everyday or just relax and do nothing. My wife and I are birders and had the opportunity to see plenty of them. Take binocs with you and a good camera and you wont regret it.. Pura Vida!!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Hola, thanks so much for sending a review! We miss you guys down here, and hope things are going well back home. We genuinely had a great time with you down here, and hopefully can all get together this summer out east. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and definitely hope we see you guys again!

Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa M
Fallston, Maryland
2 reviews
“Once in a lifetime trip I can't wait to take again”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just got back from Pura Vida House this week. I don't even know where to start. Wow, wow and wow. I traveled with 11 other people only 1 whom I knew well. We had varied interests from tennis and beaching to bird watching and nature hikes and trips. Jorge, Steph and Barb were able to handle all requests. They were also a pleasure to talk to, and a wealth of information. Pastora and her daughter did a terrific job of taking care of the meals and our clothes! I truly feel like I made some lifelong friends not only with my travel companions but also our hosts. We ran out of time but not activities. Can't wait to come back. Luisa

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Aww, thank you for taking the time out of (I'm sure your very busy) schedule to write us a review. It was great getting to spend time with you and know you, and we're definitely looking forward to hopefully a big reunion this summer out east! We're very glad you had a good time down here, that makes us the happiest of all!

Pura Vida,
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine728...
Elmhurst, Illinois
1 review
“Like no other vacation I've been on”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Pura Vida House was an awesome experience like no other vacation that I have been on. We were really treated like old friends from our arrival until we were dropped off at the airport. Stephanie and Jorge (and Barb) always went the extra mile to make each day special. Pastora also took good care of us with her wonderful cooking and everything else she did to make us feel at home.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We genuinely had a wonderful time your week, and getting to know you a bit. We really hope we can all get together this summer if and when we come out your way!

We hope things are going well for you, Pura Vida!
Stephanie and Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
574JoyceF
Long Sault
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We went on vacation in Costa Rica for the purpose of taking tennis lessons from Jorge Morera. But staying at Pura Vida House offered so much more than just a tennis vacation! What a unique experience! Our hosts Jorge, his wife Stephanie, and Stephanie's mother Barbara, treated us like family and truly offered us an opportunity to experience the culture of Costa Rica. They drove us wherever we wanted to go, arranged a number of nature excursions for some in our group, fishing for others, zip lining for the fearless, and a local Rodeo experience for all. They explained the lifestyle and customs of their neighbors. For those who wanted to relax at a Resort style setting, we were offered the Pinilla Beach Club. Pura Vida House is located in the countryside a few miles from a number of small towns and close to the ocean and a number of beaches. While the rooms were very basic, they were clean and comfortable. Our rooms were cleaned daily and our clothes were washed each morning as needed. Waking up to the sounds of Pastora preparing breakfast each morning was such a treat. Pastora and her lovely daughter greeted us each morning with smiles and hot coffee as they prepared a feast for breakfast. This review is incomplete without mentioning the amazing Costa Rican meals that were provided. Every meal was an event - steak, chicken, fish, a variety of salads, creamy potatoes, local vegetables and juicy fruits, salads, rice and beans - delicious! Our stay at Pura Vida was definitely one of the most unique vacation experiences I have ever had. I think I should also mention the cost of this trip - we really can't figure out how Jorge and Stephanie are making any money - so much value for the cost of the stay. Thank you Jorge, Stephanie, Barbara and Pastora.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2015
Wow, thank you for taking such time and write such a long review. Very kind words you've spoken. It was truly a pleasure spending a week with you, and we definitely wish you all the best in all of your travels (especially safe flights ;-). We hope you get lots of fun and tennis in down south the rest of this winter. You have new friends here and in Ohio!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelda
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful Trip!”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was my first time in Costa Rica. I went with my boyfriend who was there a year before and stayed at the Pura Vida House. He told me how nice and homey it was and showed me pictures, which were great. However, it did not do justice to how lovely it really was being surrounded by mountains with beautiful sunrises and amazing stargazing at night. But what made this an exceptional trip was the hosts. Jorge and Steph are such gracious, kind, accommodating people. They were happy to take us anywhere we wanted to go, including a local festival that was over an hour away, The were happy to arrange our excursions, give restaurant/activity recommendations and take pictures of crazy stunts like getting into the bull ring (but that's whole different story!). I couldn't agree more with Mitch's comment that after just a couple of days it felt less like a bed and breakfast and more like were visiting friends, including awesome Barb. Last but not least, the home cooked local cuisine was such a treat. Pastora was wonderful at adjusting to dietary restrictions and making extra of our favorite breakfast after long morning hikes :) If you go to Costa Rica, staying at Pura Vida house is a must!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2015
Well we feel the same way about you guys! We feel like we just had some good friends visiting us down in Costa Rica. Thank you so so much for the kind words, and we're happy you enjoyed your time with us!

Pura Vida, and we will definitely be in touch up north!
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing