We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lifelong memories”
other travelers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
195 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Front Entrance
Front of the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Water Feature as You Enter the Villa
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Enjoy the Fresh Air
Outdoor Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Most Comfortable Beach Chairs in Costa Rica
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 195 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mitch S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lifelong memories”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I had been talking about going to Costa Rica and discovered Pura Vida House through word of mouth. After looking into it and reading all of the fantastic reviews, we decided we would give it a shot. Of course we both wanted to enjoy our vacation and experience a country that neither one of us had been to before, but it was even more important to me for this trip to be special because I wanted to propose while we were there.

Jorge and Steph were outstanding hosts, but they were also genuinely thrilled to find out that we got engaged and even had a candlelit dinner with champagne for us one of the nights. After the second or third day, it felt less like a bed and breakfast and more like we were visiting friends. I went into the trip with high expectations and it was still so much better than the vacation I was hoping for. For an authentic Costa Rican vacation with beautiful beaches, sunsets, waterfalls, mountains, and rain forests; plenty of activity and adventure; delicious home-cooked local cuisine; and much more, there is no need to look elsewhere.

Thanks to Jorge and Steph for a wonderful time and memories we will have for life.

Pura Vida,
Mitch and Amanda

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
It was genuinely our pleasure to host you guys and show you around down here. You two make an adorable pair, and we really hope we can get together when we head back up north! We feel like we made two new friends as well :-) Thank you so much for the kind words, and for taking the time out of your busy lives (now wedding planning!?) to write us a review.

Pura Vida!
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snuba_Mik...
Minot, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing Hosts!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I can not say that I actually stayed at the Pura Vida House, but I can say that if you were to be a guest here, you will leave as family. I had the wonderful privilege to meet the owners, Jorge and Stephanie because they contacted me through my Snuba diving business for some of their guests. They came on a Snuba and fishing tour with us and we had the most amazing time. We caught some mahi mahi that day and were invited to the Pura Vida House for dinner. This is a true Costa Rican property. The perfect mix of relaxation and entertainment. Dinner was wonderful and I can not say enough about the two owners. They are truly exceptional people. If you are at all interested in having a Costa Rican vacation, YOU MUST STAY AT THE PURA VIDA HOUSE! The only problem is you may never want leave. Thank you so much Jorge and Stephanie! You guys are awesome!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Hola!

So sorry for the late response, for some reason we didn't get a notification about this review from a few years back :-)

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We had a great time having you over then, and were happy to share our place with you!

Pura Vida amigo,
Jorge & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresate...
1 review
“Wonderful vacation at the Pura Vida House”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The accommodations were excellent. The house was very clean. The hi light was Pastora's cooking and the amazing coffee. Jorge, Stephanie and Barb were great hosts and guides. This was a unique Costa Rican experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
Thanks so much for the kind review :-) We enjoyed getting to know you, and had a great time your week! I hope we see each other when we come to visit your area this summer!!

Pura Vida,
Jorge & Stephanie :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M
1 review
“Pura vida!”
Reviewed January 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It was a amazing time that my boyfriend and I spent in Pura vida house. We had a lot of fun with Stephanie and Jorge,they are the best! They know everything from the area and took us to the best places. The house is so nice, confortable, calm and very clean. I love the local food, so we had the delicious breakfasts and dinners. Everything home made and fresh. When we were at the house we really felt we were at home. The other thing that we really appreciated was the fact they speak English, Spanish and Portuguese. It was so helpful in order to explain everything we expected from our vacation,so we did it easily with no language trouble. However,our trip was beyond our expectations, it was incredible!!!
Thank you so much Stephanie Jorge and also Barbara to be so nice with us:-)
I know from now I can really call you guys friends!

Pura vida!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2015
Obrigada for such a kind review :-) We had a wonderful time with you, of course! And we hope we see you again very soon; here in Costa Rica, in the US, or in Brasil! Or maybe all of the above.

Pura Vida!
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
630Steve
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“5 Stars aren't enough!”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a magical week at the Pura Vida House - absolutely one of the best vacations of our lives! I really wish TA allowed me to choose a rating of 15 stars, five each for the following...

1. The Hosts
-------------
Jorge and Steph are arguably two of the nicest people we have ever met. From the moment we met them at the airport, they treated us like family. They both possess a positive energy and a love for life, nature and Costa Rica that is simply infectious. To say that they made us feel welcome and did everything possible to make sure that we enjoyed our visit is a gross understatement.

Whenever the cold winter at home gets me down, I'm going to picture Steph sprinting across the yard, flapping her arms to chase the roosters away, or Jorge pulling an Oreo apart after dinner so he can attack the creamy filling with more enjoyment than I've ever seen from someone older than 7 or 8, and I will smile!

Jorge and Steph - you have definitely made two new friends!

And, of course, there's Pastora - the lovely lady who cooked our wonderful meals, cleaned our messy room, washed our sweaty clothes and brightened each day with her smile. Pastora, if you ever need a change, you are always welcome to come live with us. Bring some of those plantains that you fry to perfection, ok?

2, The House
--------------
Pura Vida house is the place to stay if you truly want to experience Costa Rica.

The house is fairly modest. If you're looking for the luxury experience of marble floors, gold-plated faucets, Egyptian cotton bed sheets with a 1500 thread count and so on, this isn't the place for you. But if you want to stay in a ridiculously comfortable, clean, spacious home nestled among the mountains, countryside and local wildlife, this is it.

If you do stay here, I strongly recommend spending at least one night sleeping outside in one of the hammocks, feeling the warm breeze while listening to the birds, monkeys and roosters in the distance. And if you happen to wake up around 3 am, like I did, look over the mountains that face the front of the house to catch a glimpse of the Southern Cross constellation. Awesome!

3. Costa Rica
--------------
What an amazing country. Gorgeous beaches, waterfalls and mountains, an abundance of fascinating animal and plant life, countless local places offering great food and low-cost drinks, and some of the friendliest people you will ever meet.

I know that we would have enjoyed visiting CR under any circumstances, but having Jorge and Steph as our guides, sharing their vast knowledge and obvious love of the country made it even better.

Thanks, friends. We'll see you again very soon!!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2015
Wow, thank you for such kind words, and for taking time out of your busy life to write us a review!

We feel the same way about meeting you guys, and enjoyed spending time with you both, and especially you as you weren't on the tennis court all morning. We are so happy we were able to show you some of the real, un-packaged Costa Rica, and found you some sugar cane fields :-)

We definitely hope to get together with you guys this summer when we're back up north.

Pura Vida, and please, please, please keep in touch,
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinaBTenn...
1 review
“The vacation of a lifetime.”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just returned from my trip at the Pura Vida House and already wishing I was still there. Jorge and Stehanie are amazing guides and they do everything to make sure your stay is wonderful. My group played tennis, went golfing, horseback riding, visited a waterfall,got massages on the beach and much more. Playing tennis with Jorge was priceless. The food served at Pura Vida House prepared by their chef Pastora was the most amazing food I have ever had. The trip is worth it just for the food! I highly recommend a trip to the Pura Vida house with Jorge and Stephanie.

Dina B.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2015
Hola! So great meeting you the other week; we had a blast with you all, and you definitely bring a great energy wherever you go! We missed you guys as soon as you left, and sincerely hope we can all get together if and when we visit this summer! We will put you in charge of organizing everyone :-)

Thank you so much for the kind words and review, it really helps us, and gives prospective guests a good idea of what a week with us is all about!

Pura Vida,
Stephanie & Jorge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate Costa Rican vacation”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our family had a spectacular vacation at Pura Vida House. Jorge and Steph were perfect guides and hosts. Some of the highlights were zip-lines, whitewater rafting, hiking, horseback riding, visiting beautiful waterfalls, experiencing a cultural festival in Santa Cruz and taking advantage of the Hacienda Beach Club facilities. We loved playing tennis with Jorge who is a patient and encouraging instructor. The property is beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed experiencing the real Costa Rica and learning about the culture from our hosts who are obviously passionate about what they do. They were great at engaging our college-aged kids who may not always enjoy being trapped with their parents while on vacation. Pastora's wonderful food was a highlight of the experience. This week it was hard to be back at work in cold Chicago but more than that, we missed our new friends. Thank you to Jorge, Steph and Barb.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2015
Thank you so much for the kind words and review. We genuinely had a wonderful time with you all, and were sad to see you all go back home. We are so happy that you all enjoyed your time here, we know most people get maybe one vacation a year, so we want to make sure you have a good time.

Please be in touch if you're ever in Ohio while we're there, or of course, back down here in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida, we miss you guys,
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing