We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect buisness retreat!”
other travelers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
194 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Front Entrance
Front of the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Water Feature as You Enter the Villa
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Enjoy the Fresh Air
Outdoor Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Most Comfortable Beach Chairs in Costa Rica
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 194 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mike K
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect buisness retreat!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Let me just say that Jorge and Stephanie were amazing guides in a beautiful country. I took my employees along for a relaxing get away and a chance to become a closer team. We got much more than expected. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery, wonderful cuisine, and time spent relaxing on the beach but what we valued most was the team building exercises put together by Jorge and Stephanie. There was never a dull moment whether it be riding the zipline, horseback riding, rappelling, or the riding on the ATV's. We even took a pottery class! There was also plenty for us to see. Costa Rica must be where all of nature decided to get together to display itself in full glory. We saw mountains, went hiking, went to several beaches and enjoyed the local festivals. The only complaint I have about this place is we had to leave eventually. I would highly recommend Pura Vida and Jorge and Stephanie to any one who is looking to take a business trip or who is planning a family get away. I will certainly be returning as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike Y
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time on our trip to the Pura Vida house. As someone who likes to play a lot of golf, I was very happy with the entire trip. We played the Hacienda Pinilla Resort Ocean course which was in great shape and was very fun to play. It was a nice mix of fun and challenging holes, and helped make this a great vacation. Jorge and Stephanie were the icing on the cake, they are truly great hosts with great energy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Spent a very fun week with my wife and friends of ours at the Pura Vida House with Jorge and Stephanie Morera as our hosts and guides. They were great, very friendly, and know Guanacaste well; they took us to all the popular spots, but also the places and beaches that are off the beaten path. The whole town knows them so you feel like a local. This is truly an authentic vacation, we have never experienced this before, being part of the community and being welcomed by everyone the way we were, fantastic.

Highly recommend this vacation for anyone who wishes to be immersed in the Costa Rican culture, while experiencing a bunch of fun ecotourism activities/adventures.

Thanks Jorge and Stephanie for a truly unique and unforgettable week, we all hope to come back again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Costa Rica”
Reviewed April 20, 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The most authentic vacation destination we've encountered yet--not your typical, touristy trip. Jorge and Stephanie's love for the Costa-Rican landscape as well as their zest for life and extra-friendly disposition definitely made for an incomparable experience. My husband and I stayed with 2 other couples, each had our own private bedroom and bath, and shared meals together daily. We did various activities together as a group, but also had time to spend on our own if we had different interests for the day. Activities we enjoyed included hiking and mountain biking the beautiful hill-sides of the local Paso Hondo village, horseback riding with the guide of a local neighbor, enjoying local Costa Rican cuisine, soaking up the sun on several different postcard beaches, boating, jet-skiing, zip-lining (a definite MUST!), and even sharing libations at the local cantinas. We also ended our stay by taking in a local rodeo which really made our trip extra special. Jorge and Stephanie acted as our hosts and personal guides the entire trip (which made us feel extra comfortable and safe--especially if you don't speak the native language). Overall, the trip was amazing, one that we will cherish our memories of forever. And we are happy to call Jorge and Stephanie our new friends for life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2013
Thanks for the very kind words Meg! We both had a wonderful time with you all, it really was our pleasure having you here. We will definitely look you up when we're back to Ohio this summer.

- Jorge and Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyS855
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Vacation!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment that Jorge picked us up at the airport, my 11 year old son and I knew that we were in good hands. En route to Pura Vida House, Jorge recommended that we stop along side the road at a street-side stand to pick up some delicious coconut water (not the supermarket kind, but a real coconut that is cut open while you wait, with a straw then inserted inside of it). In less than an hour, as we sipped water from coconuts and viewed sugar cane fields in the distance, we were already living Costa Rican style! Jorge and Stephanie could not have been more accommodating or thoughtful and their local expertise is not to be underestimated. They are not only familiar with Guanacaste, but they are basically part of its fabric. Locals trust and respect them and as their guest, you benefit from this relationship. For example, when we visited a zipline one afternoon, we really got the sense that we were not just another pair of tourists to the people who ran the zipline. Instead, we were treated as Jorge and Stephanie’s guests. Another time, when circumstances changed and my son wanted to go jet skiing last minute, despite the high demand on the jet skis that day, Jorge miraculously made it happen. The tennis is also fantastic (my son played every day). The food, the landscape, the activities – all amazing. A truly memorable and great trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2013
Sandy, thank you for the very kind words. We were honored to host you and Nathan at our Pura Vida House, thank you for letting us be a part of your vacation, you will be missed. I hope we can see you both in Washington, DC very soon! Warmest regards, Jorge and Stephanie Morera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Five stars all around. This was a trip full of all the activities we wanted to do in Costa Rica, Jorge and Stephanie coordinated everything to perfection from start to finish. All we had to worry about was having fun. We played tennis, golf, went horseback riding through the mountains (waterfall included!), snorkeled, took a surfing lesson, visited beautiful Arenal Volcano, did the zip lines, tried out paddle boarding (loved it!), typical hand pottery lesson from the neighbor (Rosa), went mountain biking, visited five different beaches, and met many of the locals from Paso Hondo. They were all really nice to us and as friendly as anyone could be!

We highly recommend this vacation to Pura Vida House to anyone who loves nature, biodiversity, and wishing to immense themselves in the local Costa Rican culture. Plus, Jorge and Stephanie are high energy and will treat you like family, they know everything there is to know about Guanacaste and Costa Rica; they both made our vacation wonderful, THANK YOU, we will come back very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blake S
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots to Do, Great Local Guides, Beautiful & Quiet Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, what a trip. My wife and I stayed at Pura Vida House with two other couples. We had a fantastic time. I am sure that Jorge and Stephanie could accomodate you if you wanted to lay around and do nothing all week; but if you are looking to skip the resort, and instead see and do fun things during your stay, Pura Vida House is a great pick. You can hike, bike, go to the beach (several gorgeous beaches in fact), go deep sea fishing (near shore too), take day trips to a volcano, play golf and tennis, eat great local food, and truly soak up Costa Rica. All this without the typical, pushy sales pitch that you generally get as a tourist. Jorge arranges everything, adding value by not only helping you pick the best activities but also by negotiaing on your behalf. The importance of his local expertise cannot be overstated.

The house is a great place to stay, each bedroom has its own private bath, and the property is surrounded by mountains, exotic fruit trees, and wildlife. Meals are prepared with local. fresh foods, primarily provided by neighbors. Staying in an area where you experience the local community and meet neighbors was a great aspect of the stay. We have stayed at 4-5 star resorts in other tropical places, which is nice, but Pura Vida House was a great way to experience Costa Rica.

We had a great time, a nice mix of adventure and relaxation. Incredibly accomodating and flexible hosts who can arrange just about anything you would like to try during your stay. I highly recommend checking out the local rodeo as well is the timing works out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2013
Blake, thank you very much for the kind words. We had an awesome week with all you guys, and were honored to host you at Pura Vida House. We look forward to seeing you and Kelly again in Columbus sometime in May. Pura Vida amigo! Warmest regards, Jorge and Stephanie. PS: Steph and I have been playing Glowing Ladder Toss in the evenings, our new favorite game … many thanks for the gift!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing