We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed in June 2009 and thought Cala Luna was wonderful. It is short drive or walk from downtown Tamarindo. Since we were not in the heart of the town, it was very quiet and felt very safe. We usually walked into town, but you could also take a cab for about 6 dollars. We usually walked during the day, but took taxis at night.
I booked a 'double room' on Travelocity, but when we got there, we were upgraded to a villa. It had two large rooms, a kitchen, and a large living room. It also had a private patio and swimming pool. Everything was clean and the hotel was nicely decorated. The villa was cleaned each day and staff would leave behind little homemade goodies. The hotel also had a restaurant, larger pool, and poolside bar with amazing drinks made with fresh ingredients. I ordered a mojito and they went and picked the mint fresh for my drink! They also served sushi at the poolside bar.
Everyone who worked there was friendly, kind, helpful, and professional. It was not peak season, so the hotel was very quiet. The villas are very private and at times we felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. While the hotel itself did not have a happening nightlife, it was a wonderful place to come home to at night after a long day. At night, there are candles lit and there is always calm, beachy music playing. So relaxing!

Since the hotel is close to downtown, we were able to walk into town and book surf lessons and excursions. The hotel can also help you with this, but it is slightly more expensive. We took surf lessons at Iguana Surf because they were the only place we could find that had lockers to lock up our stuff. (You do not want to take anything valuable to the beach in Tamarindo because it will get stolen. ) We booked the lesson the first day in town and went back the second day for a two hour lesson.
The hotel also offers a shuttle from the airport that you can arrange in advance. Ours showed up on time and was extremely curteous.
The staff at the Cala Luna was wonderful and the hotel was very pretty. I am glad I picked it for my first trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelgal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed in a villa - the pool was essentially a large bathtub, room service menu selection was poor and the food average at best. Furnishings in the room were cheap, and the "beach" that was nearby was rocky and uninviting. Much better value-for-money to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subpardriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalaLunaManagement, General Manager at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Dear Subpardiver,

We would like to inform you that unfortunately Cala Luna Hotel & Villas was closed in July 2010, and has been for a almost two years, we are reopening the Hotel in October of this present 2011, we are afraid you must be confused because, we have not had any guests in the hotel since its closing. We would appreciate it if you could correct your comment due to the fact that this gives a bad image to our hotel and it was clearly not us whom you stayed with. You are more than welcome to come stay with us in a nearby future, it would be our pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Cala Luna Hotel & Villas
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FISCHER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Geisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Spurzel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank adp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,621 reviews
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 24 in Tamarindo
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitan Suizo Beachfront Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 24 in Tamarindo
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range: $241 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing