We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff, food - everything!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

So many good things to say about Cala Luna! We stayed here for four nights during our honeymoon after spending time in La Fortuna. The hotel we stayed at in La Fortuna was ranked one of the best hotels in the world, so we assumed that Cala Luna would not be able to measure up and were ready for disappointment. We were so wrong! It completely exceeded all our expectations! We were greeted with delicious fresh juice by a friendly employee, who make us feel so welcome. We were given a tour around the property and taken to our room, which was just around the corner from the pool. Our room was fantastic! I love the driftwood fixtures and decorations and beachy feel. The “shower” is a large, beautifully tiled bathtub in pretty blue, green, and teal colors. I will say that one of my only complaints here was the water temperature in the shower. It would be scalding hot one second then freezing cold the next – very inconsistent. But not anything that ruined our great experience here.

We didn’t have any tours planned when we got here, so the first night we went to the front desk and sat down with Carlos. He was amazing! He gave us so many options of things to do and really listened to what we were interested in. He helped us so much planning things and taking care of us while we stayed there – thank you so much Carlos! Some of the fun experiences we had were the jungle boat safari with Christian, stand up paddleboarding, and sunset cruise on the Antares. If you do one thing while you’re here, you must go on the sunset cruise! SO much fun! I also cannot say enough great things about the food at Cala Luna. Just an FYI - Both the pool lounge and main restaurant serve the same food with the same menu. Everything we had was absolutely delicious! And the breakfasts!!!! YUM! The breakfast is included, so don’t let the menu fool you. You can order as much as you want for breakfast at no extra cost. The coconut pancakes were sooooo good we had them twice! And the wait staff is excellent!

One of our favorite things about Cala Luna was the sunset happy hour. Every night from 5-6 they have free cocktails at the beach for the sunset. Don’t miss it!!! We experienced the most magnificent sunsets I have ever seen. And just because the sun goes down doesn’t mean the “show” is over! We would stay until it was almost dark because the sky became more and more beautiful each minute. We saw so many people stay for only 15 minutes then go back – you must stay and watch! A couple nights we grabbed a six pack of beer in town and brought them down to the beach in an ice bucket and just marveled at the sky – those are some of my favorite memories from the trip! The walk down to the beach only takes about 2 minutes max. If you want to go to the beach during the day to lounge and swim, the walk to Playa Langosta is only about 10-15 minutes. We walked it every day with no problem. You can also walk to the main beaches in Tamarindo, but we found them to be so saturated with annoying street vendors, that we preferred the quieter beach of Playa Langosta.
Another exciting part of Cala Luna was the howler monkeys! Not only was it the craziest thing waking up to their “howls” every morning, but it was common to find them in the trees around the pool or beach just hanging around. We didn’t see any monkeys for the first half of our trip, so we were so excited to see them up close here.

Thanks to Cala Luna and the excellent chefs and staff – especially Carlos - and Joshua and Orlando!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
There are newer reviews for Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great location. More on the romantic side, but still super nice. The ambiance is very mellow the service is phenomenal. It secluded, but still near enough the town of Tamarindo. The property is still very nice for a family and friends, but it is great for honeymoons or romantic getaways. The only small draw is the beach. It is small and you are not that close to it. There is a small path you have to walk through to get there, but once there is gorgeous. Again, small and secluded. To compensate, the property offers guest their own pools if they stay in the villas. The rooms are nice and spacious and call me silly, but I loved how they were decorated! :) Highly recommend this property whether it's the rainy or dry season in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJ13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We booked Cala Luna for the beach portion of our honeymoon. Since we were staying in a value hotel in Arenal for the first half of our trip we figured we would splurge for the second/shorter half of our vacation.

The decor of the hotel and rooms is very chic and modern, similar to what we're used to in the US. I loved the decor of the rooms, and the tiled bathtub/shower looked absolutely stunning. Only downfall of the rooms was that we saw several of the larger ants around the room; that might just be typical of this area though.

Our stay was short (2 nights) and during that time we were jam-packed with activities, so we didn't get to explore the grounds too much. Having the connected private beach was very convenient, although it was a little rockier than I imagined. Plenty of tide pools to explore, though! The pool was very beautiful as well, the howler monkeys must have thought so too because they hang out in the trees above it! That was a very cool experience to see one that close.

The front staff was welcoming when we arrived (even though I was sick as a dog upon check-in, unrelated to our stay). Daniel was exceptional in making us feel at home, whether we saw him in the lobby or the restaurant he always wanted to make sure we were happy. My husband ran into an issue with his food and Daniel made sure to comp our next meal and ensure that we were taken care of. Thank you Daniel! (PS all the food we ate there was very tasty, we really liked the restaurant).

It is a short cab ride to town (about $5 each way) which is a bit of a downside. We were a little spoiled because our much cheaper Arenal hotel included a free shuttle into the nearest town.

All in all we liked Cala Luna. Was it worth the extra splurge? Sure, I guess.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm# 307 and we really liked it. It was about equidistant from the beach path and the ma...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

every small attention was amazing! its the best costumer service I ever saw! we stayed there 1 night for my boyfriend birthday. At the check in we got cold towels to refresh and the best welcoming cocktail ever. I booked with expedia and we also got 50$ credit to spend on the restaurant/drinks! Just before dinner they came to our room with a bottle of champagne and chocolate cakes! It was an amazing gesture! You also get one free drink on the beach to wath the sunset. The resaurant is very good with a lot of variety and the included breakfast is amazing :) the only thing that is not perfect was the location. we were in town before and its a little far from all the restaurants, bars, shops and beach. (5$ cab to get to tamrindo) we were there 1 night so it wasnt a problem!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loukadeziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Cala Luna for a friend's wedding. It was amazing-- from the welcome drinks- to the staff - to the tub-- we loved everything about this place! The "Tor-tu-ga" quickly became my favorite cocktail! Our room was very close to the pool and walkway down the the beach. Our friends were married at a home across the street (Sueno Del Mar), so it was very convienent for meeting up with friends! Our room was beautiful, spacious, and had the most amazing shower/tub! We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning, delicious watermelon juice (among many others) served with fresh baked breads! A homemade jam, typically strawberry, also came with these delights and a full menu! Believe me when I tell you it's worth the breakfast alone, but the pool is also amazing; and the staff is some of the friendliest people we've encountered! Our favorite bartender, Orlando, mixed many "tor-tu-ga"s for me. We loved happy hour by the pool for a little monkey show and good music! There was literally not one thing we didnt love about this hotel, so if you are looking for the perfect Costa Rican getaway, Cala Luna is Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We wanted a more intimate experience for our family than the large properties found along the Pacific coast in Costa Rica. Cala Luna was perfect. We had a family of 7 in the 3-bedroom villa. Some of us enjoyed the private pool, others, the elegant public pool. The beach was fantastic for shelling, lazing in the shallow water and exploring the tidal pools. Everyone enjoyed it! The property was close enough to activities that we didn't have to spend precious time in transportation.
We had several lunches and dinners at the restaurant and found the food was wonderful...fresh ingredients and enough choices for us all. The best part of Cala Luna was the service staff. To a person they were well informed, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapergirlTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My extended family of 10 recently stayed at Cala Luna for four nights. We stayed in three rooms near each other, which were also near the pool and restaurant/bar. The grounds are beautiful and lush. The staff was wonderful - very friendly and accommodating. We especially enjoyed the service from our servers Oscar and Josh, though all of our servers were excellent. Josh even played a song I requested and gave us an informal salsa lesson one evening at the bar/lounge. Carlos at the front desk went the extra mile, finding my family at the pool when I needed to reach them from town. Breakfast was amazing! Everything on the menu was delicious. The fruit plates were excellent. There were different fresh juices to choose from each morning. And smoothies were always available. Lunches and dinners were excellent also. The monkeys that live in the trees were fun to watch. We had an excellent view one day around lunchtime when they came to the trees by the pool to eat. I got some great pictures. The rooms were very nice and clean. We had a few ants in the bathroom each day, but nothing to complain about. The water temperature in our shower did switch from hot to cold and back, which made it a little hard to relax. The other rooms didn't seem to have this problem. No complaints, other than that. We enjoyed the beach at the hotel, even though it isn't really good for swimming. There were great waves to watch and you could enjoy the free evening cocktails and see the sunset. There were also tide pools which kept the kids (and adults) quite entertained. The beach was also great for finding seashells - they were everywhere. It was a short walk around the point to get to beaches for swimming, surfing and boogie boarding. We also walked into town several times.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 24 in Tamarindo
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range: $164 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing