We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Planning the Perfect Wedding"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Planning the Perfect Wedding"”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Planning the Perfect Wedding”

My daughter and I just returned from Costa Rica to plan her upcoming wedding at Calla Luna Hotel and Villas.

We were met at the airport by driver Hugo Retana, waiting with a big smile to take us to Playa Tamarindo, about an hour away from Liberia Airport.

The reception on arrival is warm and efficient, with the smiling staff of Wiliam, Laura, Carlos and Rebecca. After enjoying a refreshing tropical drink... we were then escorted to our beautiful villa with a pristine private pool. Our villa was kept perfect daily by our housekeeper, Oldemar

The landscape and grounds are lush and immaculate... free of charge the Calla Luna comes equipped with howler monkeys, colorful birds, and continuous Costa Rica wildlife throughout the beautiful grounds.

During our 4 day stay, Alexandria Tomayko, the hotel wedding planner, arranged a totally organized itinerary for us to experience everything the Calla Luna has to offer for a perfect wedding!

We tasted delicious food with amazing presentations...our complements to chef Kevin and his outstanding restaurant staff: Charlie, Esteban, Deylin, David, Daniel, Christian and Carolina.

The beach is a short walk where the sunset wedding venue and cocktail hour take place.

Also during our stay we found time to enjoy an amazing massage at the Calla Luna Spa by masseuse, Montserrat. We highly recommend adding this relaxing experience to your stay.

What else can we say? The customer service is phenomenal, Dixie Seguar for reservations and concierge Ann Vervoot to help you plan numerous activities and tours. The grounds are gorgeous, the staff is beyond friendly and accommodating, the location is perfect, the villas and rooms are beautiful and the food's amazing.
Yes, you might have guessed... we booked the wedding and can’t wait to return with our family and friends. We thank you Alexandria for helping us make plans for the perfect wedding at the “Outstanding Calla Luna Hotel and Villas”!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very private and lovely ...the villas are exceptional, all with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tizzytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    175
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
378
504
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed beautiful garden villa with private pool. Friendly, helpful and fun staff made our stay even more enjoyable. Restaurant/bar staff was excellent in recommendations made. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Three of us stayed here for a five nights visiting Tamarindo and had a great time. The location was good for driving all over. We felt physically safe but I wouldnt recommend leaving anything of value in your room, as per usual Costa Rica protocol. We kayaked from the beach of the property and had a great time - found an oil slick out there though and that was disturbing. Great breakfasts served to order every morning. The flora and fauna are really special but the howler monkeys are so much fun - dont stand directly them or you are likely to get peed on. I would recommend this property!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneTrippyHippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Cala Luna is a gorgeous hotel close enough to the town but far enough away to relax. Having a villa with small kitchen was great so we could make a couple home cooked meals after eating out for two weeks. Also having own private pools is great. Igor was a great hotel dog and even walked us out one evening. The town is a short 15-20 min walk. I'd recommend eating at Patagonia for great food at an excellent price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKMetcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

First of all, thank you Cala Luna for making my stay in Costa Rica that much better.

This was my second trip to Tamarindo, Costa Rica. The last time I stayed somewhere closer to town but this time around I wanted to be a bit further away from the noise but close enough to walk there if I wanted to.
Upon arriving to Cala Luna, we were presented with a tropical refreshment that made us feel very welcome. The staff was more than friendly and really seemed to want to make our stay as comfortable as possible. When we stepped onto the ground, it looked just like,or maybe even better than, the photos on the website. What a treat!
Our room was spacious and had a very earthy decor. The toiletries they provide are top quality. They must have ninjas cleaning the rooms because we literally went to breakfast which probably took at most 30 minutes and came back to find our room tidied up already. And who can complain about complementary cocktails at sunset on the beach?
We walked to the beach every morning and got to just relax and swim just steps away from the hotel. They even brought beach chairs our for us. It was like being on our own private beach.
It also didn't hurt that we can walk to the main part of town via the beach when the tide went out.

The hotel offers yoga classes along with excursions and spa services. The restaurant there made some great dishes. Make sure to make reservations for dinner. The lounge area was chic and great for winding down from the day. They made some pretty great cocktails. All in all, the staff is really wonderful there.

The slogan they have on there website, "sometimes the small details make the great hotel" couldn't have been more accurate for Cala Luna!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay with 5 friends in Costa Rica and last week spent in Cala Luna. Cannot say one negative thing about the stay. The food (especially brekkie) was just great and the service to go along with it was 100%. Pool is fab and spa treatments were amazing! really special place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just completed an 8-day stay at Cala Luna. It has been an awesome time for us and our three young kids. We are really glad that we picked this resort over a few others that we checked at tripadvisor.

The resort and its villas are definitely first rate. The friendly staff is totally amazing. A shout-out to the front desk (Carlos, Laura et al), the restaurant (Esteban, Enrique, Marlon et al), the driver (Hugo), the surfing instructor (Victor) and the many others who smiled and made our stay so much enjoyable - sorry we didn't get all your names.

We did quite a few half-day tours and the kids especially loved the pools (both the main pool and the private one in our villa).

The facility is well maintained. The pools are crystal clear, much better than those in my gym. Although when we first checked in, we found out there was no hot water - a kid came immediately and fixed the furnace's pilot light.

It's Costa Rica, so there are many bugs and little critters all over the place. Every morning we could see leaf-cutter ants carry their building materials on our patio. Ants also ran about in the room but we stopped bothering with them after two days. There were lots of mosquitos everywhere we went in Tamarindo and Guanacaste, including Cala Luna. We brought ample supply of bug repellants and it turned out the resort seemed to have plenty stock of "Off!" aerosols on the premises.

In addition to tropical birds, holler monkeys, lizards and crabs we saw everyday in the resort, our kids thoroughly enjoyed the company of the resort dogs Igor and Maya.

We are no foodies, so to us the food at the restaurant was well made. The breakfast was included in our rate. Food is generally expensive here in Tamarindo for tourists. With three smallish kids, we decided not to sample many local spots but relied on recommendations from people we met here. From my experience, I would say even compared to a place that serves Costa Rican food in la Rotunda area at Tamarindo, for a family of 5, we would probably not have over-paid by a lot if we had our lunches/dinners here the resort restaurant. Rather here it was easy, clean and relaxed, and the food was good. So eating on site was still worth it. We did wish for some soup on Cala Luna menu though.

The rocky beach is near the hotel with a 1 minute walk. The stretch of Tamarindo sandy beach is about half to one mile away. It's walkable but with our kids, we asked for cabs to go to tamarindo. If I was with myself, for instance I would just jog to a surf shop and rent a board.

We liked most of our excursions. We did as many as our kids can handle (aged from 8 to 2). I never checked for prices of trips that can be booked from outside of the resort, although I assumed they could be cheaper outside.

If there's one complaint, the lighting is too dim in our villa. I would ask the resort to install something brighter. Make them dimmable if guests prefer different ambience, which would still suit its simple but elegant room decor.

Pura vida!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OceanBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
723 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing