We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Cook(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Mono Loco(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zullymar Hotel(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Hotel Nahua(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveler rating
959
185
54
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
185
54
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolbedroom villasunset cocktailscomplimentary sunsetfree cocktailhowler monkeysthree bedroomcosta ricamain poolcocktail hourrocky beachfree bikesminute walkvolcanic rockwelcome drinkbottle of champagnewatch the sunset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica! Spent seven heavenly days there! Thanks to Matt our trip coordinator ! There were eleven of us in our group and everyone from front desk, maintenance, Transporter, pool, security to landscaping crew; Thank you! Enrique and Marlin were very very attentive to our needs. Sasha is one of a kind! Always a smile and taught us all how to surf. Everyone always greeted us with a smile & pleasant. all of them went over and beyond the call of duty.
We did two days of fishing and the chef there prepared an exquisite meal with our catch of the day not once but twice. We are avid fish eaters and I have never experience a meal like this!!!
We had two Villas that were tucked away from everything. Loved the howling Monkey and the sounds of birds in the morning. The walk to the beach , tide pooling, lounging on the beach ! Happy hour at the beach every night with a tropical drink to view the sunset was majestic!
Oh ! I don't know what else to say other than it was wonderful!!! Definitely going back!!
Captain Miikel of the Salsa and Captain Jose of the Outcast made our fishing excursions exciting and rewarding!!!

Room Tip: definitely a villa!! Even if you don't use the ktchen it was great having our private pool to swim in the morning, after a day of fishing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing staff - friendly, knowledgeable, attentive. We loved staying here! Carlos, our favorite staff member, turned us on to "Tico to go," a delivery service for the local restaurants - after early morning treks to ziplining or ATV touring, we were able to kick back for a few hours in our villa, enjoy our private pool, and lunch on great food. The sunset cocktails on the beach were a great touch, as were the beautiful "animals" created from hand towels and flowers, left on our beds each day.

Room Tip: Villa 6 had great wifi connection; our first villa (#5) did not.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

There are many other hotels around Tamarindo, however is not easy to find a place that has high end standards regarding cleaning and service, this place has it. The villas are very well decorated, big rooms, great bathrooms, full equipped kitchen, nice terraza to chill out, and a private pool. You could notice they pay attention to details as the type of pillows, bed sheets, mattress, bath amenities, towels, etc.
Food was surprisingly good and reasonable priced, room service available which was great for a sunday with a little hang over, just order a delicious burger, a little swim and you will be ready for more, of the many out door activities and rides their concierge offers.
I work on the same industry, so have a good judgment on this, definitely this hotel; Highly Recommended!! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

In our first vacation since our honeymoon, my wife and I stayed at CalaLuna. What a romantic place to stay! Each room is tucked away down a jungle path. Carlos treated us like royalty and helped us plan our later trip to Arenal. While relaxing in the pool, you’re sure to catch a few exotic birds or a howler monkey. The private beach is quiet and serene. The tide recedes out so far, that the volcanic rock is exposed, creating endless tide pools full of crabs and fish. We spent hours discovering each one. The hotel bar is not to be missed. Sasha was a lively host each night kept us laughing with her stories. During the day, Danny made terrific Piña Coladas.

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are fortunate enough to live in Costa Rica and get to enjoy these wonderful places. Cala Luna was great! Loved the customer service, the room, lay out of the grounds and really like the spa although I did not get a massage there, I would certainly like to next time! The beach was beautiful and the town was certainly interesting enough and a good variety of restaurants and bars! Nice weekend!! I would certainly go back and highly recommend this hotel!!
My only critique this that the breakfast was not as good on the second day as the first. However, it was still very good. I don't know why, but it just was not as tasty. Loved the fruit juices!! and cocktails!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnie615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews