We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Marmora, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Check in was fine and then it went down hill ! The room was nice 319, but the shower water would not stay at one temperature. It would get really hot or really cold . So you would have to stand on the side of the water ! and try to get it warm again ! They said they were having problems with this ... And the bed only has only has a sheet and a paper thin spread over it , which with the a/c on we were cold at night .So they gave us another sheet ! And there is also many problems with the Internet. It doesn't work in the room and hit or miss in the hotel ! We moved on to playa flamingo ! We are happy with our new hotel , flamingo beach resort and spa !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teenut36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calaluna M, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered while staying at Cala Luna. We strive to give each guest the best possible service, but once in a while Murphy's law is unavoidable.
We are very sorry for our water heatsystem that temporarily failed in your room while you were staying with us. We have been able to fix it and the water temperature can be controlled again as before.
Throughout the hotel, we offer free Wifi. Unfortunately, we cannot control the signal that we get from the national company and a partial fall-out of the signal in Tamarindo or in Guanacaste is beyond our control.This does not happen often, but once in a while it occurs (as could happen with the telephone lines as well), and all internet connection throughout the hotel and the area in Tamarindo is out of service. This never lasts more than one day, the company is quick to repair this.
It is a coincidence of circumstances and we are very sorry this happened during your stay with us. However, we are glad you really enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country.
Sincerely, Ann Vervoort, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    161
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
336
464
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked two single units and a villa. The villa served as the family gathering spot with its spacious kitchen and living/dining room areas for the two younger generations, and single units for the grandparents .The villa's outdoor porch and pool sat in the middle of a private garden, and was perfect for lunch, the occasional dinner, and a place to chat and do art projects while the youngest one slept The single units were modern and confortable with individual air conditioning units. We enjoyed dining out in the open air restaurant overlooking the main pool with its excellent food and its superb service. (Hats off to Wilbert who took such good care of us at meal time!) And also enjoyed family meals at the villa pool side.
The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. It was a restful and enjoyable week capped off by long walks on the beach, surf board lessons , and evening cocktails watching the spectacular Pacific Ocean sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The customer service was outstanding, rooms clean and tidy. the resisdent dogs are nothing short of awesome. The pool was very clean the food was nice and breakfast was included and wonderfull. Close to the beach but the only downside it's a very rocky beach not to nice if ya want to go swimming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uberkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms.
Very clean very nice place to be.
Staff extremely helpful, pool is spotless
Good restaurant with reasonable prices for quality food.

This place is a bit far from town. 5min drive 20 min walk. But we'll worth it compared to some of the other places on the strip

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonnydixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Luxurious hotel, gorgeous pool, beautiful bathroom, incredible food, great location just steps from a secluded beach and beautiful rooms. Of the three places we stayed in Costa Rica, this was by far our favorite! The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Dinner was delicious and the setting -- right by the pool - perfect. Both mornings at breakfast (free and yummy!) these beautiful blue birds came and sat near us looking for morsels, seems that's their usual spot! I would very highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spain2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Despite the humidity, I would return to Cala Luna in a heart beat. Staff is there to make sure you are satified and we were! The rooms were exceptional, the grounds were beautiful and the staff delightful! I can't find anything to complain about! We had a wonderful experience snorkeling and a night tour of the sea tortoises laying eggs and then wondering around on our own looking for the monkeys which we finally found, heard, and recorded on our last day and night. Fabulous happy hours on the beach at sunset made every evening a delight. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy38969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

These hotel in Tamarindo is my favorite, nice beach almost private due to the isolated location. The rooms are spacious and the staff is helpful and friendly. These plase is excellent for weddings, families. They offer free wifi for guest . These is a beautiful plae

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing