We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms.
Very clean very nice place to be.
Staff extremely helpful, pool is spotless
Good restaurant with reasonable prices for quality food.

This place is a bit far from town. 5min drive 20 min walk. But we'll worth it compared to some of the other places on the strip

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonnydixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    161
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
336
464
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Luxurious hotel, gorgeous pool, beautiful bathroom, incredible food, great location just steps from a secluded beach and beautiful rooms. Of the three places we stayed in Costa Rica, this was by far our favorite! The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Dinner was delicious and the setting -- right by the pool - perfect. Both mornings at breakfast (free and yummy!) these beautiful blue birds came and sat near us looking for morsels, seems that's their usual spot! I would very highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spain2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Despite the humidity, I would return to Cala Luna in a heart beat. Staff is there to make sure you are satified and we were! The rooms were exceptional, the grounds were beautiful and the staff delightful! I can't find anything to complain about! We had a wonderful experience snorkeling and a night tour of the sea tortoises laying eggs and then wondering around on our own looking for the monkeys which we finally found, heard, and recorded on our last day and night. Fabulous happy hours on the beach at sunset made every evening a delight. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy38969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

These hotel in Tamarindo is my favorite, nice beach almost private due to the isolated location. The rooms are spacious and the staff is helpful and friendly. These plase is excellent for weddings, families. They offer free wifi for guest . These is a beautiful plae

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was just about perfect and definitely a great place to enjoy Tamarindo. It's just slightly out of "downtown" so the only noise you hear is from the monkeys and the birds and a $5 cab ride gets you to the action if you're jonesin to get off the resort and into the real Costa Rica.

The hotel food is really, really good - especially the breakfast (which was included with our booking). This is not a "continental breakfast". It's a full-on menu of delicious eats that will have you craving more.

The service is probably what really stands out. Everyone there is super eager to help and they aren't satisfied until you are. We wanted to book transport from the hotel to our next Costa Rican destination, and the tour staff just took our info and told us to go and enjoy the beach or the pool and that they would have it all taken care of by the time we got back. They did NOT disappoint.

Only 2 things hold Cala Luna back from being perfect: 1) it's not exactly on the the beach. It's VERY CLOSE and only takes 90 seconds to walk to the water, but the views aren't there as a result and that's something we often look for. 2) the walls in the rooms are paper thin. If someone in the room next to you is watching TV or even talking, you can hear in loud n clear. That's a real shame considering everything else here is absolutely awesome.

Room Tip: Try and find a room that doesn't have anyone nextdoor. The walls are pretty thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPopinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I spent 3 days last week at this fabulous hotel. Service was excellent,employees VERY friendly & accommodating. On arrival we received a Welcome Drink, which was amazing. Staff could not do enough to assist you. I have to praise "Wilbur", who is a waiter at the restaurant. He is the only waiter that we have met ( & we have met many) that asked us if we had any food allergies. I commend him 100%. That is such an important question to ask your guest...He also explained why he does ask......Kudos to "Wilbur".......That should be a standard question in all restaurants....Aside from that, the food was excellent & room was perfect. We will definitely be coming back to Cala Luna

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramón, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

we spent a weekend last October it was just wonderful all the hotel employees are great very friendly and the service excellent, they go the extra mile for your satisfaction, the villa very comfortable , very modern and fully equipped, we had time to relax in the privacy of our villa, My children loved their pool just for themselves, the hotel facilities and the food were great, wanting to go back very soon, thank you Fraser , Alex ,Brian we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked on Costa Rica's pristine Playa Langosta, the most exclusive, relaxing and private area of Tamarindo Beach, just steps from the Pacific Ocean, Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas is a tropical oasis just two-and-a-half-miles south of Tamarindo Airport. Every inch of this exquisitely lush resort seems to embody the immortal words of author John Steinbeck "We don't take a trip. A trip takes us." With experiences and adventures that tempt, transport and delight, this one-of-a-kind place welcomes those on a quest for the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing