We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top-of-the-world hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property
The pool at Casa Bambora
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool at Casa Bambora
Waterfall at Casa Bambora Observation deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The pool at Casa Bambora
Waterfall at Casa Bambora
Observation deck
View from Casa Bambora
The outdoor community kitchen/bar
Pool
The bar/outside kitchen
Playa Grande view
View of Playa Langosta
View of San Francisco Estuary from Casa Bambora
pool/waterfall
Play Grande view from observation deck
Casa Bambora's pool with waterfall
The bar/outside kitchen
Casa Bambora
Sunset from Casa Bambora
Casa Bambora studio
Studio at Casa Bambora
Studio at Casa Bambora
Casa Bambora studio
Casa Bambora studio
Bathroom in studio
Private bathroom, Casa Bambora studio
Playa Grande view from observation deck
Grilling up the catch of the day at Casa Bambora
View of Isla Capitan
Outdoor kitchen/bar
Casa Bambora
Raya and Scrappy
The bar
Casa Bambora
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerry M
Sequim, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top-of-the-world hideaway”
Reviewed December 1, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I’m almost hesitant to rave about this place since I don’t want it to be so popular we’ll have a hard time booking when we want to come back. Joey has worked very hard over the years to make Casa Bambora a secluded paradise. It had everything we wanted: amazing views, privacy and ton’s of amenities – studio kitchen, outdoor kitchen with grill and blender, ice, pool, towels, laundry. We walked to the beach every day and took the towels with us, which was a nice perk. I felt like I was living in Tamarindo for a week, not just visiting. An amazing escape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewed October 2, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AB. Canada
Reviewed April 16, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thetoront...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow Casa Bambora incredible trip of a life time”
Reviewed February 1, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
4
people found this review helpful

Howler and Capuchin monkeys moving around throughout the day and night, Humpback whales off in the ocean, giant grasshoppers and butterflies in the evening and sunsets that are truly spectacular. Not to mention the lush greenery and flowers all around and beaches that stretch for miles and miles. And that’s just what you’ll see while at Casa Bambora , truly a paradise worth seeing.

Casa Bambora is more than just a home away from home. After reading all of the wonderful reviews about this beautiful, hilltop retreat in paradise we thought even if it met most of our expectations it would be great.

We were met by our shuttle, which Joe (Vogan, owner of Casa Bambora) arranged for us and had a beautiful and informative ride from the Liberia airport to Tamarindo. Our driver even stopped and helped us get a few groceries for our first night.

What amazed us first and foremost was how clean everything was, no garbage in the ditches, peoples homes and properties were well kept and clean looking, everyone had pride in their country and property.

When we got into Tamarindo it was so refreshing to come into a tourist town and not see the typical American style fast food restaurants with the exception of one Pizza Hut. All of the businesses we passed were unique restaurants, surf shops and nice looking souvenir stores. Again, everything was very clean.

When we arrived at Casa Bambora, on the hilltop we were greeted by Joe, Richard, Torro and Kobe. Joe owns Casa Bambora and Richard is his charming father who will tell a good story or two. Torro and Kobe are Joe’s dogs and they will welcome you with open paws and come and visit your room if you let them.

Our apartment was on the top floor and had a 360 degree view of ocean, town, hillsides, rainforest and the pool with waterfall below. We had a hammock on one of our terraces which was so comfortable and you could just sit there and read while occasionally looking out to the ocean or watching the sunset.

Our apartment was wonderfully big with a comfy bed and super shower. Although it was really hot during our stay, at night we just left the windows and doors open and allowed the breeze to run through rather than use the air conditioner that was available.

The villa also has a wonderful patio by the pool with a full outdoor kitchen and bar-b-que. Joe recommended Don Fernando’s Butcher Shop and it was so nice to cook fabulous steaks, or pork, chicken whenever we felt like it and so cost effective too. A pool, BBQ, Bar, TV what more do you need to watch a little football!

The roof top deck is also an excellent place to watch a beautiful Costa Rican sunset and have a few drinks, listen to the howler monkeys and watch the many birds fly by.

Even a rainy day is nice, from the hilltop you can see all of the lush greenery and listening to the rain while swaying in a hammock is refreshing.

Joe having been there for 19 years was able to tell you where to find great food and even took us for a walk through town our first night showing us around. Amazing places to visit in Tamarindo are the following restaurants: Olga’s Café, Long Boards BBQ, La Esquina, Bueno Appetitio, Nugueys, Eat at Joe’s, Nibbana, and Kahiki! Unfortunately Sharkey’s burned down while we were there, but I’m sure they are going to rebuild and when they do, have the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich – it’s outstanding.

The beach is wonderful and you can walk for miles, the people both local and expats are friendly and engaging. If you have a dog this is the perfect vacation – we’ll be bringing ours on our next visit.

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and now we could easily consider it another home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Reviewed December 20, 2010 for a stay in December 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed November 11, 2010 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SurfingOm...
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true affordable gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Casa Bambora is ideal for budget travelers who appreciate a clean spacious studio appartment with two balconies and a rooftop deck with a 360 * view. We loved the fact that it was away from the nightlife noises and dusty traffic.
Our host Joe , his father, the dogs and the caretakers were all very friendly. We loved coming home to our cozy place after a day of heavy duty vacationing, jumping into the pool or hit the outdoor shower. So many gorgeous beaches all within walking distance.
The only draw back is the steep hill to walk up to from town. Not for the faint of heart. Carrying our groceries and water bottles uphill gave us our daily work out.
We would definitly go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2010
Thank you for your review Sabina.

Casa Bambora is located on a small hilltop so yes there is a bit of uphill walking but it's really not that steep and is only 70 yards. It is well worth it for the views, the breeze and the tranquility that you get up on the hill and there is a refreshing pool to cool you off.
There are also plenty of taxi's to bring you up if you don't feel like walking.

Joey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing