We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Authentic Costa Rican Experience in Tamarindo!

This 1,500 acre piece of paradise called the Black Stallion Ranch was truly amazing! Alex and his... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
susanferrari
,
Manhasset, New York
Best most authentic Costa Rician experience ever!

From booking to being dropped off, we were treated like friends. The crew at Black Stallion was... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Michelle P
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 345 reviews
  
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
300
17
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
17
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken horseback ride sausage steak the owner bbq dinner zip line salad costa rica laid back pura vida made us feel eco park howler monkeys side dishes well taken care his team
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

This 1,500 acre piece of paradise called the Black Stallion Ranch was truly amazing! Alex and his staff introduced us to all different activities including horseback riding, ATVs, a boat tour on the Tamarindo River, Ziplining and even hosted a private dinner for me and my friends on the ranch! The food was delicious! The staff made sure that our experience was nothing short of fantastic, including timing high tide to get the best experience for the boat tour down the Tamarindo River. If you're looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience in Tamarindo... this is the place! The food was amazing and the staff was terrific. Can't wait to return!

Thank susanferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for the great review. Such fun to have you on the ranch.Happy to read you loved your Tamarindo holiday and our rustic style cooking.We like to BBQ for fun groups.
Stay warm in New York City it must be getting a little chilly,yikes! Thanks Again hope we see u soon.Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Alex and his staff were so fabulous to us on our visit to the ranch. They gave the combo tour we wanted, which was not listed on the site, and later we came back with my parents for a lovely BBQ. The horse back ride though the estate was lovely followed by an awesome zip lining tour. The BBQ was wonderful with so much good food and lovely service. Go visit for a great time with a great staff!!

Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the great review,most appreciated.After all the October rain storms the ranch was a little soggy but the suns out now
so it’s cleaning it up time.
Happy to see you loved the zipping,horse back ride and BBQ.Next time take a dip in the pool.
Big thank you for visiting us.Pura Vida Amigos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From booking to being dropped off, we were treated like friends. The crew at Black Stallion was extremely accommodating and we never wanted to leave!
Traveling during the rainy season can be tricky but thanks to Alex he was honest and helpful about the best time for our horse ride and BBQ. I got the feeling that they typically take bigger parties of people but the intimacy for just me and my husband was stellar. We had a private horseback ride with a really knowledgeable guide, and got to spend time on the property.

The BBQ was MOST DEFINITELY DELICIOUS and the BEST FOOD WE HAVE HAD. Be ready for an adorable kitty to say hello while you are hanging out.

On that note, this experience was very memorable, however if you are not of the CHILL or PURA VIDA lifestyle, you won’t enjoy yourself. You have to be low stress, and happy for what this amazing country and people here have to offer at their own cost.
Americans or whichever country, with a crappy attitude, need not apply.

Amazing work Alex and team, we can not wait to visit again!

Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the great review and a pleasure looking after you.Yes,visiting Costa Rica
is all about relaxing & being nice,making friends and loving life.Being all stressed doesn’t go anywhere here. A good sense of humor works wonders.A fun joke and a good giggle defiantly
goes a long way.
We have great pics of you both,will e mail to you.
Hope Chicago is not to freezing?
hope to see you soon Amigos.Thanks Again.
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

After a soggy start to our week in Costa Rica the weather broke enough for us to venture out to Black Stallion Hills. WOW! The zip lining was incredible and the guides were extremely helpful with a great sense of humor. You felt safe at all times. It was exhilarating and the scenery breathtaking. Forest, mountains and even the ocean. Howler monkeys were audible in the distance.

After zipping, we took horses and rode through some of the property. Again, I cannot say enough about the scenery. The horses were very easy to handle with sweet dispositions.

The animals on location only helped to set the stage for our amazing day.

DINNER!!! Just Amazing. So much food--authentic cooking. The meat was cooked to perfection. The salads and side dishes were beyond delicious and the whole ambiance could not have been any better.

Thank you Alex, Fabio and your amazing staff for making this a night we will never forget and the best part of our trip. We wish you all the best! Your hospitality and good humor will not be forgotten.

Thank cathi626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you very much for the super review.
Yes,October is rainy but fun if u have a good sense of humor & don’t mind getting a little wet & muddy.
The jungle looks it’s best right now,Amazon green and an eye opener when it comes to nature.
Happy to see you love the zipping,horses & our BBQ dinner. A pleasure having you all on the ranch.Hope to see u again Amigos.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Food was amazing, the ambiance was even better. Ziplining was an experience that I will never forget. This is definitely a not miss when you are in Tamarindo. Alex and Fabio a great hosts.

Thank saville2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you so much for review we appreciate it. So great to see that you had a fantastic time on the zip the line we do make it a “one of a kind” experience
for families & Amigos.Next time bring your swim trunks & relax in the pool before the BBQ.
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

My family and I went to enjoy a canopy tour and what we received was one of the best days you could possibly enjoy on vacation or otherwise. Alex and his staff make you feel like family from the time you step foot on the property until the time you leave. The canopy tour was amazing! Going above the trees and through the trees. But what we weren’t expecting is the Amazing meal!!! Chicken, steaks, sausage, pork, pasta, and fresh fruit just to name a few entrees and it was as good as any 5 star restaurant I’ve been to. It was also my daughters birthday and they made her a surprise cake and sang happy birthday to her. What an amazing place with amazing people!!! No trip to this area would be complete without a visit to Black Stallion. My thanks to Alex, Fabio, and the staff for making this a truly special day, meal, and adventure!!!

Thank rdwelch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you ! Thank you ! for the very amazing review we do appreciate it and it was a pleasure doing a birthday party for your daughter.
We are very into doing special evenings or birthday lunch parties. Also,with the new fiesta room we can go big & seat 25-65 people which is exciting! We have a stage & dancing area so we can create a
Party Pura Vida style!
Very happy to see that you loved zipping & the ranch style cooking.
See you soon Amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Thanks Alex and his team to take care of us during the zipline tour. Great instructors, safe and entertaining!

Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

So glad u all loved zipping with us.Thanks for the great review ! what a great family we will see u for BBQ dinner,bring swim trunks & take a dip before dinner. Thanks! Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018

Had a great time riding the horses. This was my first time horseback riding and the guide helped me feel safe and coached me along the process. Friendly, good service, fun, beautiful scenery. Definitely would go back again.

Thank SequoiaRavenMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you very much for the great review.
Pleasure having you all on the ranch.
Next time please stay for the BBQ & enjoy the new pool.Thanks again & Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018

We had a great time at Black Stallion Ranch. We came as a group of 11 and we had a blast. . A nice rustic setting was authentic and felt like dining with family. Alex is a great host and spent plenty of time discussing his property and vision. I'd like to get back and take advantage of the other activities at the ranch.

Thank Calsurfscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thanks for the great review and very happy to read u loved the ranch.We are all about having fun here.We are looking forward to the rainy season, planting more trees,flowers & fruit.Creating new homes and using new recycled materials,always
fresh ideas amigo.Thanks for visiting us.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018

We typically don't like planned tourist activities and were searching for a more relaxed, smaller type of experience for zip lining and a horseback ride. Being a tripadvisor long time member/user, I had read about Black Stallion Ranch and also noted it was rated #1 for all of the restaurants in Tamarindo. We took a drive and stopped here on our way back to town to check it out. From he moment we pulled up we were welcomed by Fabio and shown around the place. It was definitely my kinda place. Laid back, horses, beautiful setting, dogs, puppies, an orange cat, a bar, a pool...uh, can I just move in? We made a reservation for the next day for zip lining, horses and dinner. Unfortunately my daughter (14) got food poisoning (or the flu) the night and morning before our planned day. I waited to see if she would feel better (and be able to keep anything down, poor kid) feeling worried about cancelling last minute if she didnt start feeling better. She was determined to try to go. We decided zip lining probably wasnt a great idea so we just did the ride and dinner. She was so disappointed that she didn't feel well still but rallied and did the ride.
We showed up (had our car but they do provide personal transpo if needed) and were surprisingly the only ones there. They had a very busy week with lots of large parties and groups and were relieved to not have a busy night. They were willing to do whatever we wanted when we wanted. Went for a swim in their nice pool and enjoyed a few beers. Poor kid still wasn't feeling well and laid in the cabana for bit then tried a swim to feel better. Fabio saddled up the horses and took us for a ride. My husband (not a horse rider) was relieved to see that Fabio rode in shorts and flip flops and brought beers along for the ride. I believe his words were "my kinda horse ride". My daughter and I being horse riders here at home at not always thrilled by the typical "nose to butt" type of ride but had a really nice time exploring the ranch on horse back and seeing the beautiful landscape. Fabio didn't mind if we trotted a little bit. Being a horse gal, I always love to see the horses well cared for and especially that they dont use a typical bridle with a bit in the horses mouth, its a simple halter type bridle.
We came back and had dinner at the bar as we were the only ones there (another dinner party had cancelled), daughter still not well had to lay down in the cabana by the pool and couldn't eat dinner :( Nancy was so sweet and packed up a "to go" plate for my daughter. The dinner was excellent with perfectly prepared steak, chicken and sausage and excellent sides (Thanks Nancy and Fabio) oh so good. The little orange ranch cat "Ginger" joined us by taking up one of the stools. Minnie the boxer laid down underneath while her 2 little puppies romped around. Being an animal lover, I was in absolute heaven! We watched an event on tv which apparently is a big Costa Rican pastime of bullriding and a soccer match, very entertaining indeed.
Alex and Fabio joined us for dinner at the bar. This made the whole experience! It was such a pleasure to chat with Alex and hear some of his history (big wave surfer) and how the ranch came to be. Fabio is so funny and we loved hearing about his past and his funny stories. It was like being invited to hangout with new, cool friends on their ranch! Such an amazing experience! I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our time and could go on and on but I'll summarize by saying don't miss this place if you want to do some fun activities in a intimate, personalized setting. Alex, Fabio and Nancy were the best!
This is the perfect place for individual travelers, families, groups, bday parties, weddings, etc. ;)
Summyr, Kurt and Malia
Seattle, WA

Thank smrbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank you for the fabulous review and happy to see you loved the ranch.Yes,we are a laid back real rustic ranch with no stress if possible.Just pura vida vibes.
Like you said,we get very bizzy then slow,its up and down here and directly connected to the school holidays.Its best to e mail us in advanve or book online so we know you are comming,that way we can be ready for your visit & cook u an amazing BBQ meal for you.

We have also opened up a new private events room which is exciting.
This fiesta room has a stage,DJ set up,full drumset,bongo drums,dance floor,kareoke,retro disco lighting,movie screen,large bar plus an outdoor Costa Rican Rustic oven which we just completed,big job :)

So its ready to rock Costa Rican style,a perfect private party room.Please let us know if you would like to organise a fun event in the future.

Thanks again Amigos we hope to see you soon.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews