We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, unfortunate stay….Stay away during Early/Mid November”
Review of Hotel Playa Negra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Playa Negra
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful resort, unfortunate stay….Stay away during Early/Mid November”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Pros: Beautiful place, cute individual huts. Stayed in Mid-November and luckily had some amazing weather. Beach is beautiful, is fairly rocky right in front of the resort although has sandy regions just a little walk down. Employees speak English which is very helpful!!

Cons: Off Season is a great time to go to Costa Rica although the only downside is many places are closed, only restaurant open in the area was the resort restaurant (fairly expensive). Wi-Fi is very sketchy if this is important to you. BUGS BUGS BUGS, bring your bug spray and keep yourself covered even at night! We happened to be at the resort at the same time as a large group of young families, this usually would be fine although it was quite miserable overall. This group has rented out the entire resort in the past, it seems to be an annual stay for this group. The did not rent out the entire facility this time so there were 4-5 other couples or people staying there at the same time. The group took over the entire resort….the pool, the restaurant/pavilion with no consideration of those around them. Screaming children running around our table when we were trying to have a nice dinner (the only restaurant open in the area), taking over the restaurant for a "talent show", all of the clothing/empty beer bottles/ towels left at the pool all day and over night every day, SCREAMING children…etc. Ruined our experience at what could have been a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieL_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
48
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband grew up surfing and wanted to go to a great surf spot to stay. This place was charming. The birds would sing in the morning We stayed in the higher end style of villas. which had air conditioning and hot showers (this is Costa Rica). The two units shared a kitchen. We had hammocks and an outdoor shower and table. This is a rustic kind of place, without TV and spotty internet, but if you don't mind that..the beaches are lovely. Bring your 4 wheel drive vehicle and your Deet and leave your American expectations for a highly recommended beautiful place with good food and a very romantic sunset on the beach.

Room Tip: The larger huts have AC and hot water in the showers, this is Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A great place to stay by the ocean and relax or surf. Accessible by car. The huts were beautiful and clean. The bar is a great place to eat. There's a pool for kids and it's on the beach. It's quite remote but we ended up staying a whole week even though we had planned on staying only 3 days. I defintiely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1anP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was my favorite place! The hut was clean and comfortable. I loved the outdoor showers and the hammock. Perfect for after a day at the beach. Everyone was very nice. Definitely recommend! The only complaint is the food is nothing special at their restaurant.

Room Tip: Try to get a hut with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessnat90254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked our stay here at the end of our honeymoon hoping to get an earthy, rustic stay on the beach. We were dissapointed, however, by the lack of service and uncleanliness of the room. We weren't expecting much but for the money this place was horrible. Our 2 night stay became a one night stay which was even a difficult night sleep. We made our way up to La Playa Grande where we were impressed by the hospitality and service of Rip Jack Inn:))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The best place ! so well located. You really feel being in Costa Rica. You are not in any other places, you are in Costa Rica, you are in Playa Negra. Thank you so much Lito and his staff for their kindness, simplicity, so nice, so cool. The food is excellent, the bungalows are just amazing... the nature, the swimming pool, the ocean... everything is there to make you happy !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.5 mi away
Cafe Playa Negra
Cafe Playa Negra
#1 of 2 in Playa Negra
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Iguanazul
Hotel Iguanazul
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz
83 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,441 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
#1 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Negra

Property: Hotel Playa Negra
Address: Playa Negra | Paraíso, Santa Cruz 5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Playa Negra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Negra Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing